Healthy Schools: Foundations for a Healthy School

Promoting well-being is part of Ontario's Achieving Excellence vision

A companion resource to the K-12 School Effectiveness Framework

The Foundations for a Healthy School resource is designed to help contribute to a learning environment that promotes and supports child and student well-being – one of four core goals in Ontario's renewed vision for education. This goal emphasizes the need to focus not just on academic success but also on the whole child and student – their cognitive, emotional, social, and physical development.

The research is clear: healthy students are better prepared to learn, and education is a key determinant of health. Elevating well-being as a goal for education in Ontario recognizes its fundamental importance to our learners and their futures.

The completely revised Foundations for a Healthy School resource supports the integration of healthy schools policies, programs and initiatives into school and school board planning and implementation processes. The resource aligns with the K–12 School Effectiveness Framework (K-12 SEF) by including five interconnected areas that relate closely with the components of the K-12 SEF:

  1. Curriculum, Teaching and Learning
  2. School and Classroom Leadership
  3. Student Engagement
  4. Social and Physical Environments
  5. Home, School and Community Partnerships

Taking all of these five, interconnected areas into account will help schools, school boards, parents and community partners to work together to develop a comprehensive approach to healthy schools policies, programs and initiatives.
This graphic provides an at-a-glance overview of the Foundations for a Healthy School.

Foundations for a Healthy School
image description

The full Foundations for a Healthy School resource has more information including sample strategies and suggested activities that can be used at the school, in the classroom or among students.

Watch this page for updates and additional supports related to the new Foundations for a Healthy School.

Écoles saines : Fondements d'une école saine

Promouvoir le bien-être fait partie de la vision Atteindre l'excellence de l'éducation en Ontario

Pendant de la ressource Cadre d'efficacité pour la réussite de chaque élève à l'école de langue française (M-12)

La ressource Les fondements d'une école saine est conçue pour contribuer à un milieu d'apprentissage qui favorise et soutient le bien-être des enfants et des élèves, l'un des quatre objectifs fondamentaux de la vision renouvelée de l'éducation en Ontario. Cet objectif souligne le besoin non seulement de se concentrer sur les résultats scolaires, mais aussi de considérer l'enfant et l'élève dans leur ensemble – leur développement cognitif, émotionnel, social et physique.

Les résultats des recherches sont clairs : les élèves en santé sont plus aptes à apprendre, et l'éducation est un déterminant clé de la santé. Avoir le bien-être comme objectif en éducation dans notre province, c'est reconnaître son importance fondamentale pour nos apprenantes et apprenants ainsi que pour leur avenir.

Entièrement actualisée, la ressource Les fondements d'une école saine favorise l'intégration des politiques, programmes et initiatives en matière d'écoles saines aux processus de planification et de mise en œuvre des écoles et des conseils scolaires. Elle s'aligne sur le Cadre d'efficacité pour la réussite de chaque élève à l'école de langue française (M-12), grâce aux cinq volets interdépendants étroitement liés aux composantes de ce dernier :

  1. Curriculum, enseignement et apprentissage
  2. Leadership au sein de l'école et de la salle de classe
  3. Engagement des élèves
  4. Milieux social et physique
  5. Partenariats entre famille, école et communauté

En tenant compte de ces cinq sujets, les écoles, les conseils scolaires, les parents et les partenaires communautaires pourront collaborer à l'élaboration d'une approche complète des politiques, programmes et initiatives d'écoles saines.
Cette illustration donne un aperçu des Fondements d'une école saine.

Fondements d'une école saine
description de l'image

Le document Les fondements d'une école saine dans sa version complète renferme de plus amples renseignements, dont des suggestions de stratégies et d'activités pouvant servir à l'école, à la salle de classe et parmi les élèves.

Revenez souvent à cette page pour des mises à jour et des soutiens supplémentaires aux Fondements d'une école saine.