Safe Schools Action Team Reference Groups

As you are aware, on December 14, Education Minister Gerard Kennedy announced that a special Safe Schools Action Team had been appointed to implement the government's comprehensive plan to actively lead and study the improvement of preventative practices, policies, programs and physical environments to ensure that every student is safe and feels safe at school and on school grounds.

The Safe Schools Action Team is led by Liz Sandals, Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services. Other members include: Stu Auty, the founding director of the Canadian Safe School Network, Ray Hughes, the National Education Coordinator at the Centre for Prevention Science (CAMH) and Dr. Debra Pepler, a Professor of Psychology at York University and a Psychologist at the Hospital for Sick Children.

The Action Team has been drawing on the knowledge of Ontario's school boards and experts in the areas of safe schools and bullying at every stage of its work. One of the first projects undertaken by the team was to create a robust safe schools audit to help schools and communities assess both the physical safety and the social climate of their schools.

Safe Schools Audit

The audit has three key goals. Firstly, it will assist principals, school councils, educators, students and parents to assess the safety of their schools. It will also increase awareness of safety issues within the school and the community. Secondly, the audit will provide schools, school boards, the ministry of education and the Action Team with up-to-date information on the safety programs and conditions in our schools. Finally, the results of the audit will be useful for school boards as they plan their school renewal efforts, which are supported by the government's recent $4 billion Good Places to Learn initiative.

The Action Team is finalizing the audit in advance of it going out to schools and it is now available for your review. The Ministry will provide the audit to school principals, on behalf of their school councils in March. The Action Team will work with school boards to determine a process for analyzing and delivering the results.

Anti-Bullying Initiatives

The Action Team will create a provincewide anti-bullying hotline based on examples of successful hotlines from across the province and the country. Members of the team will be working with students, parents and educators to ensure that the hotline meets the needs of Ontario's students and families.

The Action Team will also be forming a reference group to support their work on anti-bullying. Members will identify effective anti-bullying initiatives across Ontario, creating a set of key provincewide criteria that boards and schools will use to establish effective anti-bullying programs in every school.

This spring, the Action Team will also host consultations on the issues arising from both the Robins Report's recommendations and the implementation of the Safe Schools Act.

Working Together

Your continued commitment and contribution are vital to ensuring that Ontario's schools are safe places for students, teachers and education workers. If you are interested in submitting your name for consideration for one of the reference groups, please fill out an Ontario Provincial Education Network (OPEN) form and identify your interest in the space under the Safe Schools check box. OPEN, our email network, will also keep you up to date on important education developments, policies, and events in the coming months. It also serves as a vehicle to exchange ideas and provide the Minister with your insight.

Your feedback is welcome and solicited. It should be directed to:

Laurel Broten, Minister of Education
900 Bay Street, Toronto, ON, M7A 1L2

Groupes de référence de l'Équipe d'action pour la sécurité dans les écoles

Comme vous le savez, M. Gerard Kennedy, ministre de l'Éducation, a annoncé le 14 décembre dernier la création d'une Équipe d'action pour la sécurité dans les écoles chargée de mettre en œuvre le plan complet du gouvernement en vue de diriger et d'étudier l'amélioration des mesures préventives, des politiques, des programmes et des installations pour que chaque élève puisse être et se sentir en sécurité à l'école et sur les lieux scolaires.

L'Équipe d'action pour la sécurité dans les écoles est dirigée par Liz Sandals, adjointe parlementaire au ministre de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels. Les autres membres sont Stu Auty, directeur fondateur du Canadian Safe School Network, Ray Hughes, coordonnateur national de l'éducation, Centre for Prevention Science (CAMH) et Debra Pepler, professeure de psychologie à l'Université York et psychologue au Hospital for Sick Children.

Dans l'ensemble de ses travaux, l'Équipe d'action s'appuie sur l'expertise des conseils scolaires de l'Ontario et de spécialistes de la sécurité dans les écoles et de l'intimidation. L'un de ses premiers projets a consisté à créer un mécanisme solide de vérification de la sécurité dans les écoles afin d'aider les écoles et les collectivités à évaluer à la fois la sécurité physique et le climat social des écoles.

Vérification de la sécurité dans les écoles

L'objectif de cette vérification est triple. Premièrement, elle aidera la direction des écoles, les conseils d'école, les éducatrices et éducateurs, les élèves et les parents à déterminer la sécurité des écoles et à mieux sensibiliser le milieu scolaire et la collectivité aux questions de sécurité. Deuxièmement, cette vérification procurera aux écoles, aux conseils scolaires, au ministère de l'Éducation et à l'Équipe d'action des renseignements à jour sur les programmes de sécurité et la situation des écoles. Enfin, les résultats de cette vérification se révéleront utiles aux conseils scolaires pour planifier la réfection des écoles, avec l'aide de l'initiative Lieux propices à l'apprentissage que le gouvernement a annoncée récemment et qui est dotée d'un budget de 4 milliards de dollars.

L'Équipe d'action met actuellement au point le mécanisme de vérification avant de le fournir aux écoles, et vous pouvez maintenant l'examiner. En mars, le Ministère le remettra aux directrices et directeurs d'école à l'intention des conseils d'école. L'Équipe d'action collaborera avec les conseils scolaires pour établir un processus d'analyse des résultats et de suivi.

Initiatives de lutte contre l'intimidation

L'Équipe d'action créera un service provincial d'assistance téléphonique en cas d'intimidation en s'inspirant de services semblables qui se sont révélés fructueux dans la province et le reste du pays. Les membres de l'équipe collaboreront avec les élèves, les parents et les éducatrices et éducateurs pour que ce service réponde aux besoins des élèves et des familles de l'Ontario.

Par ailleurs, l'Équipe d'action constituera un groupe de référence qui l'appuiera dans ses travaux de lutte contre l'intimidation. Les membres se chargeront de répertorier les initiatives anti-intimidation dans toute la province en vue d'établir un ensemble de critères provinciaux sur lesquels se fonderont les conseils scolaires et les écoles pour établir des programmes efficaces de lutte contre l'intimidation dans chaque école.

Ce printemps, l'Équipe d'action tiendra également des consultations sur les questions touchant l'application des recommandations du rapport Robins et de la Loi sur la sécurité dans les écoles.

Collaboration

Nous comptons sur votre détermination et sur votre participation pour faire en sorte que les écoles de l'Ontario soient des milieux sûrs pour les élèves, le personnel enseignant et les autres travailleuses et travailleurs de l'éducation. Pour proposer votre candidature comme membre de l'un des groupes de référence, veuillez remplir le formulaire du Réseau provincial de l'éducation en Ontario (RPEO) et inscrire votre demande dans l'espace sous la case « écoles sécuritaires ». Le RPEO, notre réseau de communication par courriel, vous tiendra également au courant des nouvelles, politiques et événements importants du domaine de l'éducation au cours des prochains mois. Il vous permet aussi d'échanger des idées et de communiquer votre point de vue au ministre.

Nous vous serions reconnaissants de nous faire part de vos observations. Veuillez les adresser à:

Laurel Broten, ministre de l'Éducation
900, rue Bay, Toronto ON M7A 1L2
minister@edu.gov.on.ca