Roles and Responsibilities

A SEAC

  • May make recommendations to the district school board or school authority respecting matters affecting the establishment, development, and delivery of special education programs and services for exceptional pupils of the board.
  • Is provided with the opportunity to participate in the annual review of the board's Special Education Plan.
  • Participates in the board's annual budget process as it relates to special education.
  • Reviews the financial statements of the board as they relate to special education.

District School Boards and/or School Authorities

  • Establish a SEAC.
  • Provide an opportunity for the SEAC to be heard by the board or a board committee, before the board or committee makes any decisions about recommendations put forward to them by the SEACs.
  • Make available the personnel and facilities that the board considers necessary for the proper functioning of the committee. This includes personnel and facilities needed to hold meetings using electronic means.
  • Provide the SEAC members and their alternates with information and orientation respecting: (a) the role of the committee and the board in relation to special education and (b) ministry and board policies relating to special education. This information should be provided within a reasonable time after a SEAC member is appointed.

Rôles et responsabilités

Le CCED :

  • peut présenter des recommandations au conseil ou à l'administration scolaire sur toute question concernant l'établissement, l'élaboration et la prestation de programmes et de services à l'enfance en difficulté à l'intention des élèves en difficulté qui relèvent du conseil;
  • a l'occasion de participer à la révision annuelle du plan de l'enfance en difficulté du conseil scolaire;
  • participe au processus budgétaire annuel du conseil en ce qui a trait à l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté;
  • examine les états financiers du conseil en ce qui a trait à l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté.

Le conseil scolaire de district ou l'administration scolaire :

  • établit un CCED;
  • donne l'occasion au CCED de se faire entendre auprès du conseil ou d'un comité du conseil avant que ceux-ci ne prennent des décisions relatives aux recommandations présentées à leur intention par le CCED;
  • met à la disposition du CCED le personnel et les installations que le conseil juge nécessaires à son bon fonctionnement, y compris le personnel et les installations nécessaires à la tenue de réunions par l'emploi de moyens électroniques;
  • informe et oriente les membres du CCED et leurs suppléants, dans un délai raisonnable après la constitution du comité, à l'égard de ce qui suit : a) les rôles respectifs du comité et du conseil scolaire en ce qui concerne l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté; b) les politiques du Ministère et du conseil relatives à l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté.