Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) Provincial Conference,
May 2, 2015



Transcript

On May 2, 2015, the Ministry of Education held a Provincial Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) Conference. The networking day brought together over 300 representatives from district school board SEACs across Ontario, including SEAC chairs, new and returning SEAC members, trustees, and superintendents responsible for special education.

The conference began with opening video remarks from Minister Liz Sandals (above), who reinforced the important work of SEACs, while acknowledging the 35th anniversary of Bill 82. The passage of Bill 82 established the vital function that SEACs fulfil in providing for boards, and ensured that for the first time, all children, regardless of disabilities, were to be provided with the opportunity for a publicly funded education, and that school boards in Ontario were required to ensure special education programs and services were provided to exceptional pupils.

Following remarks from Special Education Policy & Programs Branch Director, Barry Finlay, and Joe Trovato, chair of the Minister’s Advisory Council on Special Education (MACSE), a panel discussion explored questions about current themes of the day.

Participants then discussed these themes in workshops with district school boards, provincial associations and the Ministry of Education, which were repeated twice throughout the day. Key themes/workshops included SEAC orientation and training, parent engagement, SEAC best practices, and a session on how to effectively provide advice and influence others. Presentations were also given by the Provincial Parent Association Advisory Committee on Special Education Advisory Committees (PAAC on SEAC).

Throughout the day, SEAC members were given opportunities to network and discuss their future goals, as well as strategies for building capacity, engaging parents, and overcoming some of the regular challenges SEACs may encounter as they perform their vital function.

In the words of the participants:

– “What a refreshing conference where the whole province could get a quick look at what is going on in other boards. Great network and idea sharing. Our students will benefit with the knowledge we got to share.”
– “The conference was well-organized and the atmosphere was great! Appreciated the opportunity to network with representatives from across the province.”
– “Thank you to the Ministry of Education for organizing and hosting this very informative conference. It was an important component in the process of collaboration across the province when considering the current and future prospects of our students in special education.”

Congrès provincial des comités consultatifs pour l'enfance en difficulté (CCED),
le 2 mai 2015


Transcription

Le 2 mai 2015, le ministère de l’Éducation tenait le Congrès provincial des comités consultatifs pour l'enfance en difficulté (CCED). Cette journée de réseautage a réuni plus de 300 représentants des CCED des conseils scolaires de district de tout l’Ontario, notamment des présidentes et présidents, de nouveaux membres et des membres réélus des comités, ainsi que des conseillères et conseillers scolaires et des surintendantes et surintendants responsables de l’éducation de l’enfance en difficulté.

Le congrès a débuté par une allocution sur vidéo de la ministre Liz Sandals (ci-dessus), qui a souligné l’importance du travail réalisé par les CCED ainsi que le 35e anniversaire de l’adoption du projet de loi 82. En plus d’établir la fonction consultative cruciale que les CCED exercent auprès des conseils scolaires, l’entrée en vigueur de cette loi a fait en sorte que, pour la première fois, tous les enfants, qu’ils aient ou non un handicap, puissent fréquenter une école financée par les fonds publics, et que les conseils scolaires de l’Ontario soient tenus d’offrir des programmes et des services d’éducation spécialisée à tous les élèves en difficulté.

Une discussion en table ronde sur les thèmes actuels de la journée a fait suite aux allocutions du directeur des politiques et des programmes de l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté, Barry Finlay, et du président du Conseil consultatif ministériel de l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté (CCMEED), Joe Trovato.
Les participants ont ensuite discuté ces thèmes dans le cadre d’ateliers avec des conseils scolaires de district, des associations provinciales et le ministère de l’Éducation, répétés deux fois au cours de la journée. Les thèmes principaux et sujets des ateliers incluaient l’orientation et la formation des membres des CCED, les meilleures pratiques des CCED, et les méthodes efficaces à employer pour conseiller et influencer les autres. Le Parent Association Advisory Committee on Special Education Advisory Committees (PAAC on SEAC) a également présenté des exposés.

Tout au long de la journée, les membres des CCED ont eu l’occasion de faire du réseautage et de discuter de leurs futurs objectifs ainsi que des stratégies à adopter pour renforcer les capacités, assurer la participation des parents et surmonter certains défis que les CCED rencontrent couramment dans l’exercice de leur fonction cruciale.

Quelques commentaires de participants :

– « Congrès des plus instructifs où des participants de toutes les régions de la province pouvaient rapidement se faire une idée de ce qui se passe dans les autres conseils. Excellent réseau pour l’échange d’idées. Nos élèves bénéficieront des connaissances que nous avons mises en commun. »
– « Le congrès était bien organisé et l’atmosphère était excellente! J’ai apprécié de pouvoir échanger des idées avec des représentants venus des quatre coins de la province. »  

– « Merci au ministère de l’Éducation d’avoir organisé et tenu ce congrès très intéressant. C’est un élément important du processus de collaboration à l’échelle provinciale pour l’examen des perspectives actuelles et futures de nos élèves en difficulté. »