Questions And Answers: Students With Autism Spectrum Disorders

My child is ready to start school in the publicly funded school system. What can I expect?

As part of a team, teachers, other educators and community agencies will work with you to plan for your child's successful transition into school.

They will also develop an Individual Education Plan (IEP) for your child. The IEP outlines the programs and services, including ABA (applied behaviour analysis) methods if appropriate, to help your child reach his or her full potential. Principals will ensure that the plan is developed for your child within 30 school days of starting school.

The Ministry of Education resource, Planning Entry to School, has more information about starting school.

If your child is receiving IBI (intensive behavioural intervention) services through the Autism Intervention Program (AIP) (funded by Ministry of Children and Youth Services), ask your child's AIP provider about the Connections for Students model. (Please see question below about Connections for Students for more information).

Back to top

What is an Individual Education Plan? Will my child have one?

Yes, teachers and other educators will work with you and community agencies to develop an Individual Education Plan (IEP) for your child. An IEP is a written plan that describes the special education program and/or services needed by your child. It will be updated periodically. Principals must ensure that you are involved in the development and review of your child's IEP.

Back to top

My child is transitioning from IBI to school. What should I expect?

As of spring 2010, all school boards will implement the Connections for Students model. This will help your child move from IBI services delivered through the Autism Intervention Plan to ABA instructional methods in a publicly funded school.

Back to top

What is the difference between applied behaviour analysis (ABA) and intensive behavioural intervention (IBI)?

ABA (applied behaviour analysis) is a teaching method used by educators for children with autism, while IBI (intensive behavioural intervention) is a therapeutic approach delivered by a qualified therapist.

School boards must deliver programs using ABA instructional methods for students with autism, where appropriate. ABA is effective for understanding and changing behaviour and teaching new skills.

IBI is an intensive application of ABA delivered by a qualified therapist, typically involving between 20 and 40 hours of therapy per week.

Back to top

What is Connections for Students and how can it help my child?

If your child is school-aged, Connections for Students can help your child move from IBI therapy services delivered through the Autism Intervention Program to ABA instructional methods in a publicly funded school.

About six months before your child is ready to move from the Autism Intervention Program to a publicly funded school, a team will be created to help you and your child prepare for this transition

This team will involve you, school staff and community agencies. You will work together to develop a transition plan tailored to your child's needs. The team will also provide support for at least six months after your child starts school.

All school boards are expected to implement the Connections for Students transition teams no later than spring 2010.

Back to top

Who makes decisions about the education my child receives?

Teachers and other educators work with community agencies to develop your child's Individual Education Plan including whether programs using ABA methods are appropriate. You have valuable information that you can share about your child. They will also consult with you to ensure your child receives the best education possible. Your child's principal is responsible for approving the plan.

Back to top

What does school staff know about autism and applied behaviour analysis (ABA)?

The Ministry of Education and Ministry of Children and Youth Services have been working together to provide supportive environments for students with autism and their families. This includes building capacity in schools to help improve the learning environment for these students.

Since 2006, more than 13,000 educators, including school principals, teachers, teachers' assistants, and other educators, have received training to support ABA instructional methods in the publicly funded school system.

Back to top

What support is available for classroom teachers?

School boards are hiring ABA expertise to support principals, teachers and transition teams. They provide training and resources to educators and help service providers and schools work together.

The ministry also has a resource guide for teachers called Effective Educational Practices for Students with Autism Spectrum Disorders.

Back to top

Who do I contact if I have questions about my child's education or services and supports for my child?

Your child's teacher has the most information about your child's education.  You may also speak with the principal of your child's school. The principal can also help guide you to other school board resources.

The Ministry of Children and Youth Services website also has valuable information about programs and services for children with autism.

Back to top

How will my child be prepared when it is time to move to a new classroom, or grade, or school?

Planning for changes is part of your child's Individual Education Plan. You, along with educators and relevant community agencies are involved in the planning for transitions.

These transitions may include: 

  • entering school
  • changing between activities and settings or classrooms
  • transitioning between grades
  • moving from school to school or from an agency to a school
  • moving from elementary to secondary school
  • transitioning from secondary school to postsecondary destinations and/or the workplace.

Questions et réponses : Les élèves atteints de troubles du spectre autistique


Mon enfant commencera l'école dans le système scolaire public de l'Ontario. À quoi puis-je m'attendre?

Faisant équipe, personnel enseignant, autres éducateurs et organismes communautaires travailleront avec vous pour planifier la transition réussie de votre enfant à l'école.

Ils élaboreront aussi un plan d'enseignement individualisé (PEI) pour votre enfant. Le PEI décrit les programmes et les services, y compris, au besoin, des méthodes d'analyse appliquée du comportement (AAC), destinés à aider votre enfant à réaliser son plein potentiel. La direction d'école s'assurera que le plan est élaboré dans les 30 jours de classe suivant l'entrée à l'école.

Le Guide de planification de l'entrée à l'école produit par le ministère de l'Éducation renferme des renseignements supplémentaires.

Si votre enfant reçoit des services d'intervention comportementale intensive (ICI) dans le cadre du Programme d'intervention en autisme (PIA) financé par le ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse, demandez au fournisseur de services PIA de votre enfant de vous parler du modèle Connexions pour les élèves (voir ci-dessous pour plus de renseignements à ce sujet).

Haut de la page

Qu'est-ce que le plan d'enseignement individualisé? Est-ce qu'un plan sera élaboré pour mon enfant?

Oui. Des enseignantes et enseignants et d'autres éducatrices et éducateurs travailleront avec vous et des organismes communautaires à élaborer un plan d'enseignement individualité (PEI) pour votre enfant. Il s'agit d'un plan écrit qui décrit les programmes et les services d'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté dont votre enfant a besoin. Ce plan sera révisé périodiquement. La directrice ou le directeur d'école devra s'assurer que vous participez à l'élaboration et à l'examen du PEI de votre enfant.

Haut de la page

Mon enfant fait la transition de l'ICI à l'école. À quoi devrais-je m'attendre?

À partir du printemps 2010, tous les conseils scolaires mettront en place le modèle Connexions pour les élèves, ce qui aidera votre enfant à passer des services d'ICI du Programme d'intervention en autisme aux méthodes pédagogiques d'AAC en milieu scolaire public.

Haut de la page

Quelle est la différence entre l'analyse appliquée du comportement (AAC) et l'intervention comportementale intensive (ICI)?

L'AAC est une méthode d'enseignement utilisée par des éducatrices et éducateurs pour des enfants autistes, alors que l'ICI est une approche thérapeutique utilisée par des thérapeutes qualifiés.

Les conseils scolaires sont tenus d'offrir des programmes utilisant les méthodes pédagogiques d'AAC pour les élèves autistes, le cas échéant. L'AAC est utile pour comprendre et modifier le comportement et pour enseigner à l'enfant de nouvelles habiletés.

L'ICI est une application intensive de l'AAC par un thérapeute qualifié, nécessitant habituellement entre 20 et 40 heures de thérapie par semaine.

Haut de la page

Qu'est-ce que le programme Connexions pour les élèves? Comment peut-il aider mon enfant?

Si votre enfant est d'âge scolaire, le programme Connexions pour les élèves peut l'aider à faire la transition des services d'ICI offerts dans le cadre du Programme d'intervention en autisme aux méthodes pédagogiques d'AAC en milieu scolaire public.

Environ six mois avant le passage de votre enfant du Programme d'intervention en autisme à une école financée par les fonds publics, une équipe sera formée pour vous aider, vous et votre enfant, à vous préparer pour cette transition.

Cette équipe sera composée de membres du personnel de l'école et d'organismes communautaires, ainsi que de vous-même. Ensemble, vous travaillerez à l'élaboration d'un plan de transition adapté aux besoins de votre enfant. Une fois l'école commencée, l'équipe continuera d'appuyer votre enfant pendant au moins six mois.

Tous les conseils scolaires devraient mettre en place des équipes de transition Connexions pour les élèves avant le printemps 2010.

Haut de la page

Qui prend les décisions touchant l'éducation que reçoit mon enfant?

Des enseignants et d'autres éducateurs travaillent avec des organismes communautaires pour élaborer le plan d'enseignement individualisé de votre enfant et déterminer si des programmes utilisant des méthodes d'AAC sont appropriés. Vous avez de précieux renseignements concernant votre enfant que vous pourrez transmettre aux autres. Vous serez également consulté pour que votre enfant reçoive la meilleure éducation possible. La directrice ou le directeur d'école de votre enfant est responsable de l'approbation du plan.

Haut de la page

Quelle connaissance le personnel scolaire a-t-il de l'autisme et de l'analyse appliquée du comportement (AAC)?

Le ministère de l'Éducation et le ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse travaillent ensemble pour offrir des milieux de soutien aux élèves autistes et à leur famille. Ces efforts se traduisent entre autres par le renforcement des capacités dans les écoles dans le but d'améliorer le milieu d'apprentissage de ces élèves.

Depuis 2006, plus de 13 000 éducatrices et éducateurs, dont des directrices et directeurs d'école, des enseignantes et enseignants, des aides-enseignantes et aides-enseignants, ont reçu une formation pour appuyer les méthodes pédagogiques d'AAC dans le système scolaire financé par les deniers publics.

Haut de la page

Quel soutien est offert aux titulaires de classe?

Les conseils scolaires embauchent des spécialistes en AAC qui apportent un soutien aux directions d'école, au personnel enseignant et aux équipes de transition. Ils fournissent une formation et des ressources aux éducateurs et aident les fournisseurs de services et les écoles à travailler de concert.

Le ministère de l'Éducation a également produit un guide pour le personnel enseignant intitulé Pratiques pédagogiques efficaces pour les élèves atteints de troubles du spectre autistique.

Haut de la page

J'ai des questions au sujet de l'éducation de mon enfant ou des services et soutiens offerts. À qui devrais-je les poser?

L'enseignante ou l'enseignant de votre enfant est la personne la mieux informée au sujet de l'éducation de votre enfant. Vous pouvez également vous adresser à la directrice ou au directeur d'école, qui pourra de plus vous diriger vers d'autres ressources du conseil scolaire.

Le site Web du ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse contient également des renseignements précieux à propos des programmes et des services pour les enfants autistes.

Haut de la page

Comment mon enfant sera-t-il préparé à changer de classe, d'année d'études ou d'école?

La planification des changements fait partie du plan d'enseignement individualisé de votre enfant. Vous ainsi que des éducateurs et des organismes communautaires participerez à la planification des transitions.

Il peut s'agir, notamment : 

  • de l'entrée à l'école,
  • d'un changement d'activités, de milieu ou de salle de classe,
  • du passage d'une année d'études à une autre,
  • d'un changement d'école ou du passage d'un organisme à une école,
  • du passage de l'école élémentaire à l'école secondaire,
  • du passage de l'école secondaire à un établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire ou au milieu de travail.