Private Elementary and Secondary Schools

Frequently Asked Questions:

  1. What role does the Ministry of Education have with respect to private schools?
    In Ontario, private schools operate as businesses or non-profit organizations, independent of the Ministry of Education. Private schools set their own policies and procedures. The ministry accepts the annual Notice of Intention to Operate a Private School (NOI), and only inspects private secondary schools that seek authority to grant credits towards the Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD). The purpose of the inspection is to determine whether the standard of instruction in courses leading to the OSSD is being delivered in compliance with ministry requirements.
  2. Does the Ministry of Education vouch for the schools listed on its website?
    The ministry provides a list of private elementary and secondary schools that operate in Ontario, including general information about each school such as religious affiliation, the availability of residential facilities, and if the school offers credits toward the OSSD. It is important to note that private schools operate independently from the ministry, and listing the school on the ministry’s website does not mean the ministry endorses that school.
  3. What is the definition of a ‘private school’?
    Under subsection 1(1) of the Education Act, a private school is defined as:

    “an institution at which instruction is provided at any time between the hours of 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. on any school day for five or more pupils who are of or over compulsory school age in any of the subjects of the elementary or secondary school courses of study and that is not a school as defined in this section”.
  4. What gives the Ministry of Education the authority to inspect private schools and decide which schools are authorized to offer credits toward the OSSD?
    Section 16(7) of the Education Act states that “The Minister may, on request of any person operating a private school, provide for inspection of the school in respect of the standard of instruction in the subjects leading to the Ontario Secondary School Diploma, the secondary school graduation diploma and to secondary school honour graduation diploma, and may determine and charge a fee for such inspection.”
  5. There has been media attention recently about “credit mills” – how can I be sure that a private school I choose is legitimate?
    In response to concerns regarding credit integrity, the ministry has introduced an enhanced inspection training program, and ensures that marginally and non-compliant private schools are re-visited to ensure that instruction in credit courses is being delivered in compliance with ministry requirements.

    Inspections are conducted on a regular basis, generally every two years. The frequency of inspections, however, depends on the outcome of the inspection reports; the ministry staff may recommend that a school be inspected in two years, the next school year, or within the same school year, as circumstances warrant.

    There may also be times when there is a need to inspect a private school without notice, for example where there are concerns or complaints related to the standard of instruction and/or credit integrity. Inspections are based on evidence gathered through review of the School Course Calendar and the Outlines of Courses of Study for all the OSSD credit courses that will be taught in the school, as well as onsite reviews of materials and thorough discussions with the principal and other staff. Information is also gathered through observations during classroom visits, review of students' work, teacher assessment and evaluation of students' work, school policies/procedures, and the examination of school records.

    New schools will be inspected as early as possible during their first year of operation.
  6. How does a private school obtain authority to grant credits towards the Ontario Secondary School Diploma?
    Secondary private schools wishing to offer credits towards the OSSD must request an inspection on their annual Notice of Intention to Operate a Private School (NOI). The purpose of the ministry's inspection of private schools is to determine whether the instruction in secondary school courses is in compliance with ministry requirements. Based on the results of the inspection, the ministry may choose to authorize the principal to grant credits toward the OSSD.

    The ministry approaches the inspection with rigor and identifies measures to improve the standard of instruction in schools which are found to be lacking. If an inspected private school is seriously deficient, the ministry will remove its credit-granting authority. It is essential that the integrity of the OSSD be maintained in inspected private schools.

    The ministry inspects only the standard of instruction to ensure that credit courses are based on the ministry's curriculum guidelines. It does not inspect or approve items such as the school premises, health and safety practices or matters relating to staffing. Private secondary schools are authorized to grant credits only after a ministry inspection, and this authority may be revoked following an inspection. The credit-granting status of a school is noted on the website.
  7. How often are private schools inspected?
    Schools offering credits toward the OSSD are inspected by ministry staff on a cyclical basis to ascertain whether the school continues to meet ministry requirements including curriculum, assessment and evaluation policies. The frequency of inspections depends on the outcome of the inspection reports; the ministry staff may recommend that a school be inspected in two years, the next school year, or within the same school year, as circumstances warrant.
    Private elementary schools and private secondary schools not granting credits toward the OSSD are not inspected.
  8. Can a student be refused entrance into a private school, or be suspended/expelled?
    Private schools set their own policies and procedures and are not obliged to follow policies and procedures that are released to school boards, including those related to entrance requirements and student discipline.
  9. Are private schools required to follow the Ontario curriculum?
    Only those private schools seeking authority to grant credits toward the OSSD are inspected. They must submit outlines of credit courses that will be taught in the first year of operation, and a school course calendar, to the ministry for approval at least two months prior to the start of instruction. A similar procedure is required of established schools before subsequent inspections. These schools are inspected by the ministry on a cyclical basis to determine whether the school continues to meet OSSD requirements, including curriculum, assessment and evaluation policies.
  10. How many hours of instruction are required for a credit course offered by a private school?
    Private schools are required to provide 110 hours of scheduled instructional time per credit course.
  11. Are private schools required to follow the provincial Code of Conduct under the Safe Schools Act?
    No. Private schools are subject to the requirements set out in Section 16 of the Education Act. Private schools operate as businesses or non-profit organizations, independently of the ministry, and therefore set their own policies and procedures related to safety and behaviour. They are not obliged to follow policies and procedures that are released to school boards.
  12. Are private schools required to follow policies/procedures similar to District School Boards, such as forming Parent Involvement Committees or creating Special Education policies?
    No. Private schools are subject to the requirements set out in Section 16 of the Education Act. Private schools set their own policies and procedures and are not obliged to follow policies and procedures that are released to school boards, such as establishing a Parent Involvement Committee or Special Education policies.
  13. Are private schools required to implement special education provisions, such as Individual Education Plans (IEPs)?
    No. Private schools are not bound by the ministry regulation 181, “Identification and Placement of Exceptional Pupils”. If a private school chooses to create an IEP they may do so as a component of their individualized student programming.
  14. Can a private school complete a course that a student has begun in a publicly-funded school and subsequently grant the credit?
    No. The ministry inspects private schools regarding the delivery of full-credit courses or half-credit courses, as per curriculum policies. An inspector of a private school has no authority to review work that may have been started in a publicly-funded school.

Écoles privées élémentaires et secondaires

Foire aux questions :

  1. Quel est le rôle du ministère de l'Éducation à l'égard des écoles privées?
    En Ontario, les écoles privées fonctionnent comme des entreprises ou des organismes sans but lucratif, indépendamment du ministère de l'Éducation. Les écoles privées établissent leurs propres politiques et procédures. Chaque année, le Ministère accepte les Avis d'intention de faire fonctionner une école privée (AVI), et inspecte uniquement les écoles secondaires privées qui demandent l'autorisation d'accorder des crédits conduisant à l'obtention du diplôme d'études secondaires de l'Ontario (DESO). L'inspection a pour but de déterminer si les normes de l'enseignement dispensé dans les matières menant au DESO sont conformes aux exigences du Ministère.
  2. Le ministère de l'Éducation se porte-t-il garant des écoles qui figurent sur son site Web?
    Le Ministère fournit une liste des écoles élémentaires et secondaires privées qui fonctionnent en Ontario, ainsi que certains renseignements généraux sur chaque école, tels que l'appartenance religieuse, la disponibilité d'établissements de logement, et le fait que l'école est autorisée ou non à accorder des crédits menant au DESO. Il convient de garder à l'esprit que les écoles privées fonctionnent indépendamment du Ministère; le fait qu'une école soit incluse sur le site Web du Ministère ne signifie donc pas qu'elle bénéficie de l'aval du Ministère.
  3. Quelle est la définition d'« école privée »?
    Le paragraphe 1(1) de la Loi sur l'Éducation donne la définition suivante d'« école privée » :

    « Établissement qui, entre 9 h et 16 h un jour de classe, dispense à cinq élèves ou plus qui ont atteint ou dépassé l'âge de scolarité obligatoire un enseignement portant sur toute matière du programme d'études du niveau élémentaire ou secondaire et qui n'est pas une école au sens du présent article. »
  4. Qu'est-ce qui confère au ministère de l'Éducation le pouvoir d'inspecter les écoles privées et de décider quelles sont les écoles autorisées à accorder des crédits menant au DESO?
    Le paragraphe 16(7) de la Loi sur l'Éducation stipule que « Le ministre peut, à la demande d'une personne responsable d'une école privée, prévoir l'inspection de cette école en ce qui concerne les normes d'enseignement relatives aux matières qui conduisent à l'obtention du diplôme d'études secondaires de l'Ontario, du diplôme d'études secondaires et du diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures. Il peut fixer et imposer un droit pour une telle inspection. »
  5. Dernièrement, un certain questionnement sur l'obtention légitime de crédits a attiré l'attention des médias. Comment puis-je m'assurer du sérieux de l'école privée que je choisis?
    En réponse aux inquiétudes concernant l'intégrité des crédits accordés, le Ministère a mis en place un programme de formation en inspection amélioré, et veille à ce que les écoles privées tout juste conformes ou non conformes reçoivent une nouvelle visite d'inspection pour s'assurer que l'enseignement dispensé dans les cours menant à des crédits est conforme aux exigences du Ministère.

    Les inspections sont effectuées à échéance régulière, en général tous les deux ans. Toutefois, la fréquence des inspections dépend des conclusions des rapports d'inspection; le personnel du Ministère peut recommander qu'une école soit inspectée deux ans plus tard, au cours de la prochaine année scolaire ou durant l'année scolaire en cours, selon les circonstances.

    Il se peut aussi qu'il soit nécessaire d'inspecter une école privée sans préavis, par exemple en cas d'inquiétudes ou de plaintes relatives aux normes d'enseignement et/ou à l'intégrité des crédits accordés. Les inspections sont fondées sur les données probantes recueillies grâce à l'examen du calendrier scolaire et des plans de tous les cours ouvrant droit à un crédit que l'école compte dispenser et, sur place, grâce à l'examen des documents et aux discussions approfondies avec la direction et d'autres membres du personnel de l'école. Les observations faites lors des visites en salle de classe, l'examen du travail des élèves, l'évaluation du personnel enseignant et l'évaluation du travail des élèves, les procédures et politiques de l'école et l'étude des dossiers scolaires permettent de compléter les renseignements recueillis.

    Les nouvelles écoles seront inspectées aussi tôt que possible au cours de leur première année de fonctionnement.
  6. Que doit faire une école privée pour obtenir l'autorisation d'accorder des crédits menant au diplôme d'études secondaires de l'Ontario?
    Les écoles secondaires privées qui souhaitent offrir des crédits menant au DESO doivent faire une demande d'inspection par le biais de l'Avis d'intention de faire fonctionner une école privée (AVI) annuel. Le but de l'inspection des écoles privées par le Ministère est de déterminer si l'enseignement du programme d'études du niveau secondaire est conforme aux exigences du Ministère. Selon les conclusions de l'inspection, le Ministère peut décider d'autoriser la direction de l'école à accorder des crédits menant au DESO.

    Le Ministère aborde les inspections avec la plus grande rigueur et détermine les mesures à prendre en vue d'améliorer les normes d'enseignement dans les écoles où ces normes font défaut. Si les résultats de l'inspection d'une école privée sont jugés nettement insuffisants, le Ministère retirera à l'école son autorisation d'accorder des crédits. Il est essentiel de maintenir l'intégrité du DESO dans les écoles privées inspectées.

    Le Ministère inspecte uniquement les normes d'enseignement pour s'assurer que les cours menant à des crédits sont fondés sur le curriculum du Ministère. Les locaux, les pratiques de santé et de sécurité ou les questions liées à la dotation en personnel ne font pas l'objet d'inspection ou d'approbation. Les écoles secondaires privées ne sont autorisées à accorder des crédits qu'après une inspection par le Ministère, et cette autorisation peut être retirée à la suite d'une inspection. L'habilitation d'une école à accorder des crédits est indiquée sur le site Web.
  7. Quelle est la fréquence des visites d'inspection des écoles privées?
    Le Ministère inspecte les écoles qui offrent des crédits menant au DESO à échéance régulière pour s'assurer que l'école visitée continue de satisfaire aux exigences du Ministère, notamment en matière de curriculum et de politiques d'évaluation. La fréquence des inspections dépend des conclusions des rapports d'inspection; le personnel du Ministère peut recommander qu'une école soit inspectée deux ans plus tard, au cours de la prochaine année scolaire ou durant l'année scolaire en cours, selon les circonstances.
    Le Ministère n'inspecte ni les écoles élémentaires privées ni les écoles secondaires privées qui ne souhaitent pas offrir de crédits menant au DESO.
  8. Une école privée peut-elle refuser d'admettre – ou suspendre ou renvoyer – une ou un élève?
    Les écoles privées établissent leurs propres politiques et procédures et ne sont pas tenues de suivre les politiques et procédures communiquées aux conseils scolaires, y compris celles qui concernent les exigences d'admission et les mesures disciplinaires.
  9. Les écoles privées sont-elles tenues de suivre le curriculum de l'Ontario?
    Seules les écoles privées qui souhaitent être autorisées à accorder des crédits menant au DESO font l'objet d'une inspection. Elles doivent soumettre au Ministère, pour approbation, des plans des cours menant à un crédit qui seront dispensés durant la première année de fonctionnement, ainsi qu'un calendrier des cours, deux mois au moins avant le début des cours. Les écoles établies doivent également suivre une procédure similaire avant les inspections à venir. Le Ministère inspecte ces écoles à échéance régulière pour s'assurer que l'école visitée continue de satisfaire aux exigences du Ministère, notamment en matière de curriculum et de politiques d'évaluation.
  10. Quel est le nombre d'heures d'enseignement exigé pour un cours ouvrant droit à un crédit et dispensé dans une école privée?
    Les écoles privées doivent fournir 110 heures d'enseignement par cours ouvrant droit à un crédit.
  11. Les écoles privées sont-elles tenues de suivre le Code de conduite provincial en vertu de la Loi sur la sécurité des écoles?
    Non. Les écoles privées sont soumises aux exigences énoncées dans l'article 16 de la Loi sur l'éducation. Les écoles privées fonctionnent comme des entreprises ou des organismes sans but lucratif, indépendamment du Ministère. Par conséquent, elles établissent leurs propres politiques et procédures en matière de sécurité et de comportement. Elles ne sont pas tenues de suivre les politiques et procédures communiquées aux conseils scolaires.
  12. Les écoles privées sont-elles tenues de suivre des politiques et procédures similaires à celles adoptées par les conseils scolaires de district, par exemple à l'égard de la formation d'un comité de participation des parents ou de l'élaboration de politiques relatives à l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté?
    Non. Les écoles privées sont soumises aux exigences énoncées dans l'article 16 de la Loi sur l'éducation. Elles établissent leurs propres politiques et procédures et ne sont pas tenues de suivre les politiques et procédures communiquées aux conseils scolaires, par exemple à l'égard de la formation d'un comité de participation des parents ou de l'élaboration de politiques relatives à l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté.
  13. Les écoles privées sont-elles tenues de mettre en œuvre des dispositions relatives à l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté, comme des plans d'enseignement individualisé (PEI)?
    Non. Les écoles privées ne sont pas soumises au Règlement 181 du Ministère, « Identification et placement des élèves en difficulté ». Si une école privée choisit de créer un PEI, elle peut le faire dans le cadre de ses programmes d'études personnalisés.
  14. Une école privée peut-elle compléter un cours commencé par l'élève dans une école financée par les fonds publics, puis accorder un crédit à l'élève pour ce cours?
    Non. Le Ministère inspecte les écoles privées quant à la prestation de cours ouvrant droit à un crédit ou à un demi-crédit, conformément aux politiques relatives au curriculum. La personne qui inspecte une école privée n'est pas habilitée à examiner le travail commencé dans une école financée par les fonds publics.