How to Request a Notice of Intention to Operate a Private School (NOI) Form


New School Operators

The 2017-18 NOI form is now available. If you are establishing a private school in Ontario, you need to submit the forms below with payment by September 1, 2017. If the NOI is not received by the Ministry on or before September 1, your school will not be able to operate in the upcoming school year.

In your first year of operation, you must submit a completed and signed hard copy of the NOI to the ministry, along with the one-time, non-refundable fee of $300, payable to the Minister of Finance. Private schools seeking authority to grant credits toward the Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD) must submit additional pre-inspection materials, described below.

After your first year of operation, you must submit the NOI electronically through a secure, web-enabled system called the Ontario School Information System (OnSIS). Only those schools with no access to such technology can continue submitting hard copy NOI forms.

Two versions of the NOI package are available for download: one for inspected private schools that are seeking authority to grant credits toward the OSSD, and one for non-inspected private schools that will not be granting credits.

Both files contain English and French versions of the 2017-18 NOI, along with English and French versions of the Private Schools Policy and Procedures Manual, September 2013. The manual offers private school owners, principals and teachers information about the policies, procedures and legislative requirements of the Ministry of Education around operating private schools in Ontario.

These pre-inspection materials must be submitted at least two months prior to the start of credit courses being offered.

  • For credit courses starting in September, the materials must be submitted by June 30, 2017.
  • For credit courses starting in February, the materials must be submitted by December 1, 2017.
  • For credit courses starting in July, the materials must be submitted by May 1, 2018.

Please note that the authority to grant credits is given to the principal of the school and may only be exercised with respect to students of that school.

Select a package to download

NOI package for non-inspected private schools:
NOI 2017-18 (PDF, 1.35 Mb)
Policy and Procedures Manual (PDF, 1.8 Mb)

NOI package for inspected private schools seeking authority to grant OSSD credits:
NOI 2017-18 (PDF, 1.35 Mb)
Policy and Procedures Manual (PDF, 1,8 Mb)
Pre-Inspection Report (PDF, 582 Kb)
Checklist for School Course Calendar (PDF, 291 Kb)
Outlines of Courses of Study (PDF, 180 Kb)
Pre-Inspection Materials Overview (PDF, 120 Kb)
Time Table Template and Example (PDF, 134 Kb)
Appendix F – Teacher Prep for Classroom Visit (PDF, 153 Kb)
Appendix G – Checklist for Online Schools (PDF, 350 Kb)

Existing School Operators

The electronic 2017-18 NOI will be available through OnSIS May 15, 2017.

Comment faire une demande d’Avis d’intention de faire fonctionner une école privée (AVI)


Nouveaux exploitants d’écoles

Le formulaire d'AVI 2017‑18 est désormais disponible. Pour établir une école privée en Ontario, vous devez soumettre les formulaires ci-dessous et le paiement avant le 1er septembre 2017. Si le ministère n’a pas reçu l’AVI au plus tard le 1er septembre, votre école ne pourra ouvrir ses portes à la prochaine année scolaire.

Au cours de la première année d’activité, vous devez soumettre au ministère une copie papier dûment remplie et signée de l’AVI, de même que payer les droits ponctuels et non remboursables de 300 $ au ministre des Finances. Les écoles privées qui souhaitent avoir le droit d’accorder des crédits menant au diplôme d’études secondaires de l’Ontario (DESO) doivent soumettre d’autres documents préalables à l’inspection dont il est question ci-dessous.

Après la première année d’activité, vous devez présenter un AVI par voie électronique, par l’intermédiaire d’une application Web sécurisée appelée Système d’information scolaire de l’Ontario (SISOn). Seules les écoles n’ayant pas accès à cette technologie peuvent continuer d’envoyer des AVI sur papier.

Deux versions des documents de l’AVI peuvent être téléchargées : une version pour les écoles privées ayant fait l’objet d’une inspection et qui souhaitent avoir le droit d’accorder des crédits menant au DESO, et une version pour les écoles privées n’ayant pas fait l’objet d’une inspection et qui n’accorderont pas de crédits.

Les deux dossiers contiennent des versions en anglais et en français de l'AVI 2017‑18, de même que des versions en anglais et en français du Manuel des politiques et procédures à l’intention des écoles privées, septembre 2013. Le manuel offre aux propriétaires, à la direction et au personnel enseignant des écoles privées de l’information à propos des politiques, des procédures et des exigences législatives du ministère de l’Éducation concernant l’exploitation d’écoles privées en Ontario.

Ces documents préalables à l’inspection doivent être soumis au moins deux mois avant le début des cours.

  • Pour les cours donnant des crédits commençant en septembre, les documents doivent être remis au plus tard le 30 juin 2017.
  • Pour les cours donnant des crédits commençant en février, les documents doivent être remis au plus tard le 1er décembre 2017.
  • Pour les cours donnant des crédits commençant en juillet, les documents doivent être remis au plus tard le 1er mai 2018.

Il importe de souligner que le pouvoir d’accorder des crédits est délégué à la direction de l’école et ne peut être exercé qu’à l’endroit des élèves de l’école à laquelle la direction est rattachée.

Sélectionner des documents à télécharger

Documents de l’AVI pour les écoles privées n’ayant pas fait l’objet d’une inspection :
AVI 2017‑18 (PDF, 1,35 mo)
Manuel des politiques et procédures à l’intention des écoles privées (PDF, 2 mo)

Documents de l’AVI pour les écoles privées ayant fait l’objet d’une inspection et qui souhaitent avoir le droit d’accorder des crédits menant au DESO :
AVI 2017‑18 (PDF, 1,35 mo)
Manuel des politiques et procédures à l’intention des écoles privées (PDF, 2 mo)
Rapport préalable à l'inspection (PDF, 544 ko)
Liste de contrôle pour le prospectus de l’école (PDF, 237 ko)
Horaire (PDF, 139 ko)
Aperçu des documents préalables à l'inspection (PDF, 111 ko)
Résumés de plans de cours (PDF, 231 ko)
Annexe F – Préparation du personnel enseignant aux visites d’inspection (PDF, 129 ko)
Annexe G – Liste de contrôle pour les écoles en ligne (PDF, 348 ko)

Exploitants d’écoles existants

La version électronique de l'AVI 2017‑2018 est désormais disponible sur le SISOn, le 15 mai 2017.