Ministry of Education

Accessibility Plan, 2003-2004


Table of Contents

PDF version (164 KB)

Introduction

In 2001, there were an estimated 1.5 million people in Ontario with self-disclosed disabilities. This number is expected to increase as the population ages.

In December 2001, the Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2001 (ODA) was passed into law. Its purpose is to improve opportunities for people with disabilities and to provide for their involvement in the identification, removal and prevention of barriers to their full participation in the life of the province.

One of the requirements under the ODA is that Ontario government ministries, municipalities, hospitals, school boards, colleges, universities, and public transportation organizations develop annual accessibility plans to make programs, services and buildings more accessible to people with disabilities. The plans must be made available to the public.

In the Speech from the Throne, delivered on November 20, 2003, the Ontario Government confirmed its commitment to working with Ontarians with disabilities on meaningful legislation that will allow them to fully participate in building a stronger province.

This document is the first annual accessibility plan for the Ministry of Education. The plan describes improvements to accessibility that the ministry has made to date and its commitments for the balance of the 2003-2004 fiscal year.


Report on Achievements

The Ministry of Education has a long history of accommodating the general public, employees and others with a range of disabilities by providing appropriate accommodation and ensuring equitable access to employment opportunities.

Policies and procedures have long been in place to ensure that ministry staff, job applicants and others with a range of disabilities receive the accommodation required. Ergonomic assessments are provided to staff, upon request, as are electronic and alternate format versions of human resources and learning materials. Members of the public have multiple ways to access ministry information, products and services through the ministry website, Teletypewriter (TTY) and Web Phone. Ministry publications are provided in accessible formats, such as Braille, upon request.

Through its Provincial and Demonstration Schools, the ministry has adopted very high accessibility standards and is leading by example. The eight schools provide educational services to deaf, blind and deaf-blind students, as well as to students with severe learning disabilities, in both day and residential settings. Pre-school in-home services to families of deaf-blind and deaf children are also provided.

All of the Provincial and Demonstration Schools are accessible to students and staff. Some best practices include:

  • accessibility to people using scooters, power wheelchairs and attendants;
  • automatic doors, accessible fountains, hallways, doorways and sidewalks;
  • international and universal symbols for accessibility and large font, and other special format materials for information and way finding;
  • accessible parking spots at front and other entrances;
  • evacuation plans to ensure the safe evacuation of people with disabilities, which are reviewed annually;
  • consideration of accessibility in meeting planning;
  • provision of American Sign Language (ASL) or langage des signes québécois (LSQ) interpreters and interveners;
  • preparation of special format materials;
  • information on accessibility in public event marketing;
  • extensive use of TTYs and other tools, with staff trained in their use; and
  • provision of learning and information materials in alternative formats, upon request.

Over the past year, the ministry has continued to build on measures already taken to improve accessibility and opportunities to people with a range of disabilities. It has also undertaken several new initiatives to improve accessibility for its employees and the public.

A Ministry Accessibility Planning Team was established to plan, monitor, evaluate and report on progress in enhancing and improving accessibility for people with disabilities to services provided directly by the ministry. Ministry managers and supervisors completed training on how to fulfill the government’s obligations to accommodate the accessibility needs of its employees and job applicants who have disabilities.

As well, ministry websites were made accessible to people with disabilities, as required under Section 6 of the ODA, with the sites now meeting the Web Accessibility Guidelines of the World Wide Web Consortium. In addition, all new web pages are now reviewed for accessibility by the ministry before posting.


Commitments and Strategies for 2003-2004

Over the next year, the ministry will build on efforts already taken to improve opportunities and accessibility to people with disabilities. It will use its first year of accessibility planning to build a strong base for preventing barriers in the future. This includes putting in place mechanisms to ensure that the impact on accessibility is considered in key ministry processes, including policy and program development, business planning, communications and event planning. As well, the ministry will take measures to ensure that staff is increasingly aware of disability issues and has the knowledge and skills required to provide good customer service to people with disabilities.

A central part of the ministry’s work will be to continue to ensure that the ministry’s website is fully accessible to people with a range of disabilities. As well, the ministry will continue to broaden the multiple ways its information, products and services can be accessed through such tools as Web Phone, TTY, Braille and other alternate formats, making sure that staff are trained in the use of these technologies that often provide primary access to government for people with disabilities.

Methods to be taken to prevent new barriers

During the 2003-04 fiscal year, the ministry will undertake a number of activities to ensure that its proposals for new acts, regulations, policies, programs and services are assessed for their potential effect on people with disabilities. These activities include:

  • establishing a process to assess progress made on its Annual Accessibility Plan;
  • developing mechanisms to review all new policies, programs and communications initiatives to ensure accessibility;
  • monitoring the ministry’s web site to ensure it continues to be fully accessible; and
  • building on measures already taken to increase the accessibility of the ministry’s internal internet site for employees.

Business areas to be reviewed

Acts and Regulations

The ministry is committed to ensuring that its acts and regulations do not create barriers for people with disabilities. In 2003-04, the ministry will review various regulations that have previously been identified as including out-of-date and inappropriate language, such as “trainable retarded”, and will replace such terms with current and acceptable language.

The following regulations will be reviewed:

  • Education Act – Revised Regulation of Ontario 1990
    Regulations 285, 298, 306
  • Ontario College of Teachers Act, 1996
    Ontario Regulation 184/97

Policies and Programs

The ministry will build on its current practices to ensure that the impact on accessibility is considered in all new and ongoing policy and program development. Tools, questions and checklists on disability considerations will be developed to aid policy and program staff in their work.

  • Human Resources
    The ministry will review its Orientation Program for employees to ensure information on staff rights to accommodation, the managers’ responsibility to accommodate and any associated mandatory training is developed and included in all new packages. This will also involve a review of the ministry’s internal Internet site to ensure that information on employee accommodation is clear and current.

    As well, the ministry will review its youth marketing initiative, for the recruitment of young people into the Ontario Public Service, to identify and remove any barriers to accessibility in materials, presentations and locations.

  • Field Offices
    All ministry field offices will be reviewed to identify communications barriers to staff and the public, and a plan will be developed, with implementation to begin in 2004-2005, to remove any barriers identified.

  • Internal Information Technology (IT) Services
    The ministry will review its IT advisory services to ensure that accessibility is considered in the procurement of software and applications for ministry branches. As well, it will review its IT Help Desk for services to staff with disabilities and provide training as necessary.

  • Internal Communications
    The ministry will ensure accessibility is considered in the development of a new ministry E-Mail Guide.

Practices and Services

The ministry will build on its current services to the public by ensuring that all front-line and telecommunications staff have the necessary knowledge and skills to provide good customer service to people with a broad range of disabilities, including physical, mental and learning disabilities.

Services to the Public

The ministry will conduct focus groups with reception, frontline, public inquiry and hotline staff to assess their level of knowledge about accessibility issues, the use of various alternate communication tools and the skills needed to provide good customer service to people with disabilities. A plan will be developed by the ministry to respond to any identified training needs, with implementation to begin in 2004-2005.

Actions to be taken

Improved staff awareness of disability issues

Over the next two years, a Staff Awareness and Education Campaign will be developed to raise overall knowledge of disability issues and how to remove barriers for the public and for staff.

This will include the development of a Ministry Accessibility Awareness internal Internet site where staff can access information on disabilities such as fact sheets, quick tips, resource lists and other information links, as well as new guidelines on procurement and accessibility and how to respond to requests for publications in accessible formats.

As well, “Lunch N Learn” sessions will be provided to staff on disability issues and disability awareness will be incorporated in the Deputy Minister’s all staff meetings. Articles on disability will be developed for the ministry’s Gazette newsletter.

Improved accessibility in facilities

The ministry will build on existing procedures already in place to continue to improve emergency evacuation processes for people with disabilities in ministry buildings.

Improved accessibility in technology

The ministry will purchase new software as part of its ongoing work to ensure that its public web pages are accessible to people with disabilities. It will also develop a new, accessible template for the ministry internal Internet site.

The following actions will also be taken:

  • support and advice will be provided to branches in their implementation of the new accessible internal Internet template;
  • updates and information on accessibility issues will be provided to staff involved in internal Internet development;
  • the Ministry Guide to Web Publishing will be updated to include information on accessibility to internal Internet developers;
  • all new web pages will continue to be reviewed for accessibility by the ministry’s website co-ordinator before posting; and
  • an accessibility checklist will be developed for general software and applications to ensure that all new information technology (IT) purchases support the widest accessibility.

For more information

Questions of comments about the ministry’s accessibility plan are always welcome. Please phone:

General inquiry number: 416-325-2929 or 1-800-387-5514
TTY number: 1-800-268-7095
E-mail: info@edu.gov.on.ca
Ministry website address: www.edu.gov.on.ca

Visit the Ministry of Community and Social Services Accessibility Directorate of Ontario's Accessibility Ontario web portal. The site promotes accessibility and provides information and resources on how to make Ontario a barrier-free province.

Alternate formats of this document are available free upon request from:

Publications Ontario
880 Bay Street, Toronto, ON M7A 1N8. Tel: (416) 326-5300
Out of town customers except Ottawa call: 1-800-668-9938
In Ottawa, call (613) 238-3630 or toll free 1-800-268-8758
TTY Service 1-800-268-7095

 

ISSN 1708-4601

Plan d'accessibilité, 2003-2004

Table des matières

PDF version (163 Ko)

Introduction

En 2001, environ 1,5 million d'Ontariennes et d'Ontariens disaient avoir un handicap. On s'attend à ce que ce nombre augmente, compte tenu du vieillissement de la population.

En décembre 2001, la Loi de 2001 sur les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario (LPHO) a été adoptée. Cette loi vise à offrir davantage de possibilités aux personnes handicapées et à obtenir leur concours pour déterminer, éliminer et prévenir les obstacles qui les empêchent de participer pleinement à la vie de la province.

La LPHO exige entre autres que les ministères du gouvernement de l'Ontario, les municipalités, les hôpitaux, les conseils scolaires, les collèges et universités et les organisations de transport en commun élaborent tous les ans des plans d'accessibilité pour rendre leurs programmes, services et édifices plus accessibles aux personnes handicapées. Ces plans doivent être mis à la disposition du public.

Dans le Discours du Trône du 20 novembre 2003, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a réitéré son engagement de collaborer avec les personnes handicapées de la province afin d'élaborer une loi importante qui leur permettra de participer pleinement à l'édification d'un Ontario plus fort.

Le présent document est le premier plan d'accessibilité annuel du ministère de l'Éducation. Il décrit les mesures que le Ministère a prises jusqu'à maintenant pour améliorer l'accessibilité et ses engagements pour le reste de l'exercice 2003-2004.


Rapport sur les réalisations

Depuis longtemps déjà, le ministère de l'Éducation s'efforce de répondre aux besoins des membres du grand public, des employés et des autres personnes qui ont divers handicaps, en leur fournissant les adaptations nécessaires et en assurant l'équité en matière d'emploi.

Des politiques et des modalités sont de longue date en vigueur au Ministère pour que ses employés, les demandeurs d'emploi et d'autres personnes qui ont une forme de handicap obtiennent les adaptations dont ils ont besoin. Le Ministère fournit sur demande à ses employés des évaluations ergonomiques ainsi que des versions électroniques et sur support de substitution du matériel relatif aux ressources humaines et à l'apprentissage. Les membres du public, pour leur part, ont accès à l'information, aux produits et aux services du Ministère au moyen de son site Web, d'ATS et d'un téléphone Web. Les publications du Ministère sont aussi disponibles, sur demande, sur des supports de substitution comme le braille.

Le Ministère donne l'exemple, en adoptant des normes très élevées en matière d'accessibilité dans ses écoles provinciales et d'application. Huit écoles, tant des écoles de jour que des internats, offrent des services pédagogiques aux élèves qui sont atteints de surdité, de cécité ou de surdi-cécité ainsi qu'aux élèves ayant des troubles d'apprentissage graves. Des services préscolaires à domicile sont aussi offerts aux familles comptant des enfants atteints de surdité ou de surdi-cécité.

Toutes les écoles provinciales et d'application sont accessibles aux élèves et aux employés. Voici certaines des pratiques exemplaires mises en place :

  • accessibilité des installations pour les personnes utilisant des triporteurs ou des fauteuils roulants électriques et pour les personnes qui ont recours à l'aide d'un accompagnateur;
  • accessibilité des portes automatiques, des fontaines, des couloirs, des seuils de portes et des trottoirs;
  • utilisation de symboles internationaux et universels pour indiquer l'accessibilité des services, et recours à de gros caractères et divers supports de substitution pour l'information et l'orientation dans les locaux;
  • accessibilité des emplacements de stationnement aux entrées avant et autres;
  • révision annuelle des plans d'évacuation pour assurer l'évacuation sans risque des personnes handicapées;
  • prise en compte de l'accessibilité lors de la planification des réunions;
  • disponibilité d'interprètes et d'intervenants spécialistes du langage gestuel américain (ASL) ou du langage des signes québécois (LSQ);
  • préparation de matériel sur supports de substitution;
  • diffusion de l'information sur l'accessibilité lors de la promotion d'activités;
  • utilisation courante d'ATS et autres outils, et formation du personnel à leur maniement;
  • fourniture sur demande de matériel d'apprentissage et d'information sur supports de substitution.

Au cours de la dernière année, le Ministère a encore amélioré les mesures déjà prises pour accroître l'accessibilité et les possibilités des personnes ayant divers types de handicaps. Il a aussi lancé plusieurs nouvelles initiatives en vue d'améliorer l'accessibilité pour son personnel et pour les membres du grand public.

Une équipe ministérielle de planification de l'accessibilité a également été constituée pour planifier, surveiller et évaluer les progrès réalisés en matière d'accessibilité aux services fournis directement par le Ministère, et pour en rendre compte. Les gestionnaires et les superviseurs du Ministère ont suivi une formation sur la façon de respecter l'obligation qu'a le gouvernement de répondre aux besoins d'accessibilité de ses employés et des demandeurs d'emploi qui ont un handicap.

En outre, le Ministère a rendu ses sites Web accessibles aux personnes handicapées conformément à l'article 6 de la LPHO. Ces sites sont maintenant conformes aux lignes directrices sur l'accessibilité du World Wide Web Consortium. Toute nouvelle page Web devant être affichée fait dorénavant l'objet d'un examen préalable destiné à en établir l'accessibilité.


Engagements et stratégies en 2003-2004

Au cours de la prochaine année, le Ministère poursuivra les efforts déjà déployés pour améliorer les chances et l'accessibilité des personnes handicapées. Il emploiera cette première année de planification de l'accessibilité à bâtir une base solide lui permettant d'empêcher que tout nouvel obstacle ne se produise. À cette fin, il mettra notamment en place des mécanismes pour veiller à ce que l'incidence sur l'accessibilité soit prise en compte lors des principaux processus du Ministère, dont l'élaboration des politiques et des programmes, la planification des activités, les communications et la planification des événements. En outre, il prendra des mesures pour que le personnel soit de plus en plus sensibilisé aux questions d'accessibilité et possède les connaissances et les compétences requises pour fournir aux personnes handicapées un service de qualité.

Une partie importante du travail du Ministère consistera à veiller à ce que son site Web soit pleinement accessible aux personnes ayant divers types de handicaps. En outre, le Ministère continuera à élargir les modes d'accès à son information, à ses produits et à ses services, au moyen d'outils comme le téléphone Web, l'ATS, le braille et d'autres supports de substitution; il fera en sorte que le personnel soit formé à l'utilisation de ces technologies, qui représentent souvent pour les personnes handicapées la principale façon de joindre le gouvernement.

Mesures à adopter pour éviter tout nouvel obstacle

Au cours de l'exercice financier 2003?2004, le Ministère adoptera un certain nombre de mesures pour que soit évaluée l'incidence sur les personnes handicapées qu'auraient ses projets de lois, de règlements, de politiques, de programmes et de services. Ces mesures comprendront ce qui suit :

  • créer un processus en vue d'évaluer les progrès réalisés dans la mise en œuvre de son plan annuel d'accessibilité;
  • concevoir des mécanismes permettant d'examiner les politiques, les programmes et les initiatives de communication proposés afin d'assurer l'accessibilité;
  • surveiller le site Web du Ministère pour s'assurer qu'il continue d'être pleinement accessible;
  • tirer parti des mesures déjà prises pour accroître l'accessibilité du site intranet du Ministère pour ses employés.

Secteurs d'activité à étudier

Lois et règlements

Le Ministère est déterminé à veiller à ce que ses lois et règlements ne créent pas d'obstacles pour les personnes handicapées. En 2003?2004, il examinera divers règlements dont on sait déjà qu'il faudra revoir les termes désuets ou inappropriés, pour les remplacer par des termes plus actuels et plus appropriés.

Les règlements suivants seront revus :

  • Loi sur l'éducation
    Règlements refondus de l'Ontario 1990, Règlements 285, 298, 306

  • Loi de 1996 sur l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario
    Règlement de l'Ontario 184/97

Politiques et programmes

Le Ministère se fondera sur les pratiques courantes pour veiller à ce que soit pris en compte l'impact sur l'accessibilité dans toute élaboration nouvelle ou continue de programmes et de politiques. Des outils, des questions et des listes de contrôle pertinents seront élaborés afin d'aider le personnel chargé des politiques et des programmes.

  • Ressources humaines
    Le Ministère examinera son programme d'orientation des employés pour s'assurer qu'il comporte de l'information sur le droit des employés à obtenir des adaptations, sur la charge qu'ont les gestionnaires de répondre aux besoins des employés à cet égard ainsi que sur toute formation obligatoire qui s'y rapporte. Dans le cadre de cet examen, le Ministère veillera notamment à ce que l'information sur les adaptations qui figure sur son site intranet soit claire et à jour.

    Le Ministère examinera aussi son initiative de promotion auprès des jeunes, dont le but est de favoriser le recrutement de jeunes travailleuses et travailleurs pour la fonction publique de l'Ontario, pour repérer et éliminer tout obstacle à l'accessibilité dans la documentation, les présentations et les installations.

  • Bureaux régionaux
    Tous les bureaux régionaux du Ministère feront l'objet d'un examen pour repérer les obstacles à la communication avec le personnel et le public. Un plan sera élaboré en vue d'éliminer tout obstacle décelé, et sa mise en œuvre commencera en 2004-2005.

  • Services internes de technologie de l'information (TI)
    Le Ministère examinera ses services consultatifs en matière de TI pour veiller à ce que l'accessibilité soit prise en compte dans l'achat de logiciels et de programmes pour les diverses directions. En outre, il étudiera ses services de dépannage pour voir s'ils répondent aux besoins des personnes handicapées, et fournira une formation au besoin.

  • Communications internes
    Le Ministère fera en sorte que l'accessibilité soit prise en considération dans l'élaboration d'un nouveau guide sur le courriel.

Pratiques et services

Le Ministère se fondera sur les services qu'il offre actuellement au public pour veiller à ce que tout le personnel de première ligne et des télécommunications possède les connaissances et les compétences requises pour offrir un service de qualité aux personnes ayant divers types de handicaps, qu'ils soient physiques, mentaux ou liés à l'apprentissage.

Services destinés au public

Le Ministère tiendra des entrevues de groupe avec le personnel d'accueil, les employés de première ligne et le personnel des renseignements au public, pour évaluer leur connaissance des questions liées à l'accessibilité, l'utilisation d'outils de communication de rechange et les compétences nécessaires pour offrir un service de qualité aux personnes handicapées. Le Ministère élaborera un plan en vue de satisfaire tout besoin de formation ainsi cerné et le mettra en œuvre dès 2004-2005.

Mesures à prendre

Sensibilisation accrue du personnel aux questions liées à l'accessibilité

Au cours des deux prochaines années, une campagne de sensibilisation et d'éducation des employés sera élaborée pour mieux faire connaître les questions liées à l'accessibilité et la façon d'éliminer les obstacles à l'accessibilité pour le public ainsi que le personnel.

Le Ministère créera notamment un site intranet où les employés pourront consulter des fiches, des conseils, des listes de ressources et des liens pour obtenir de l'information sur les handicaps, ainsi que de nouvelles lignes directrices sur les achats et sur la façon de répondre aux demandes de publications sur support de substitution.

Le Ministère organisera aussi à l'intention des employés des déjeuners de formation qui porteront sur les questions liées à l'accessibilité. La sensibilisation aux handicaps sera intégrée à toutes les réunions de la sous-ministre avec le personnel. Des articles sur les personnes handicapées paraîtront dans le bulletin d'information du Ministère.

Amélioration de l'accessibilité aux locaux

Le Ministère se fondera sur les modalités déjà en place pour continuer à améliorer les processus d'évacuation d'urgence des personnes handicapées qui se trouvent dans ses immeubles.

Amélioration de l'accessibilité en matière de technologie

Le Ministère achètera de nouveaux logiciels dans le cadre de ses efforts continus pour rendre ses pages Web publiques accessibles aux personnes handicapées. Il élaborera aussi un nouveau modèle accessible pour son site intranet.

Il prendra également les mesures suivantes :

  • fournir un soutien et des conseils aux directions relativement à la mise en œuvre du nouveau modèle de site intranet accessible;
  • fournir aux employés chargés de la conception du site intranet des mises à jour et de l'information sur les questions liées à l'accessibilité;
  • actualiser le guide du Ministère sur la publication sur le Web pour y inclure de l'information sur l'accessibilité;
  • continuer de faire revoir au coordonnateur du site Web toutes les nouvelles pages avant leur affichage pour s'assurer qu'elles sont accessibles;
  • élaborer une liste de vérification des logiciels et des programmes pour veiller à ce que tous les nouveaux achats en matière de technologie de l'information (TI) favorisent une pleine accessibilité.

Renseignements

Les questions et les commentaires sur le plan d'accessibilité du Ministère sont toujours les bienvenus.

Renseignements généraux : 416 325-2929 ou 1 800 387-5514
Numéro ATS : 1 800 268-7095
Courriel : info@edu.gov.on.ca
Site Web du Ministère : www.edu.gov.on.ca

Visitez le portail Accessibilité Ontario du ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires. Ce site fait la promotion de l'accessibilité et offre des renseignements et des ressources sur la façon de faire de l'Ontario une province sans barrières.

Le présent document est disponible gratuitement sur d'autres supports auprès de :

Publications Ontario
880, rue Bay, Toronto (Ontario) M7A 1N8
Téléphone : 416 326-5300
Clients d'autres régions, sauf Ottawa, composer sans frais le 1 800 668-9938
À Ottawa, composer le (613) 238-3630 ou, sans frais, le 1 800 268-8758
ATS : 1 800 268-7095

 

ISSN 1708-4628