Early Reading Strategy - Help for Children With Reading Difficulties


The Report of the Expert Panel on Early Reading in Ontario, 2003


Help for Children With Reading Difficulties

This report opens with a firm conviction: "A child's success in school and throughout life depends in large part on the ability to read. Educators in Ontario have the profound challenge of making reading a reality for all children."

Many young children experience some kind of difficulty learning to read. For many children, reading difficulties can be identified in Kindergarten or Grade 1 and can be prevented or substantially reduced, but often they are not. Research findings on early reading difficulties are very clear: children who continue to experience difficulties in Grade 3 seldom catch up in later grades. The consequences are well documented. These children are at risk of failing school and dropping out, and they may have limited career opportunities in adulthood. Therefore, it is important to have the conditions and resources – including time, manageable class size, materials, and learning opportunities – that enable teachers to meet the challenges of ensuring that all children learn to read.

The Nature of Reading Difficulties

The foundations of good reading are the same for all children. All readers, regardless of their age, gender, or aptitude, need to develop fluency, comprehension, and the motivation to read in order to become successful readers. Children who experience reading difficulties are no exception. They too must develop the basic foundations for reading, and they require the same types of learning experiences to do so.

Most young children with reading difficulties have problems developing fluency. For these children, identifying words takes a lot of effort. Their reading rate is slow, their word identification is hesitant, and they overrely on contextual cues for word identification. Because most of their cognitive or mental effort is spent trying to identify words, their comprehension suffers. The main prevention and early intervention strategies for these children are effective preparation for literacy and effective classroom instruction.

Preparation for Literacy

Research consistently points to the importance of children beginning their formal reading instruction with the skill and the will that will enable them to learn to read successfully. By the time children begin formal reading instruction, they should have a good understanding of the forms and formats of books and be able to identify and write the letters of the alphabet. They should have basic phonemic awareness, be interested in reading and stories, and see themselves as successful learners en route to reading excellence. Some children enter school with such knowledge and attitudes already well developed, but many do not. Participation in developmentally appropriate preschool programs has been shown to improve children's ability to learn to read, especially children from at-risk groups. Kindergarten preparation in literacy is also strongly related to children's success when learning to read. A major step in preventing early reading difficulties is to ensure that an effective Kindergarten reading program is available to all children in Ontario. Such a program provides opportunities for children to listen to stories, poems, and non-fiction materials for enjoyment and information, respond to a variety of materials that are read aloud to them, retell stories in their own words, and demonstrate awareness of written materials, the features of books, and language patterns.

Early Identification and Intervention

Even with effective classroom instruction, some children will need additional supports or interventions. However, teachers should consider supplemental interventions only when effective and adapted instruction has failed to resolve a child's reading difficulties.

Effective intervention requires that teachers recognize as early as possible those children who are experiencing reading difficulties, tailor instruction to address their needs, and provide for supplementary instruction when necessary. If adequate screening and assessment procedures are in place, early intervention may begin even before formal instruction in reading. Interventions that are begun when children are very young have a much better chance of success than interventions begun later.

Interventions begun at Grade 3 are much less likely to succeed than early interventions. It is essential to identify reading difficulties by Grade 1 and to put appropriate supplemental interventions in place immediately. In this way, reading problems can be tackled before they become entrenched and before repeated failures affect children's motivation and compound their difficulties in learning to read and write.

Implementation Process

By Grade 1, all schools should have in place for children a process that allows for the timely implementation of instruction following diagnostic assessment. Once a teacher recognizes that a child is experiencing reading difficulties, the teacher and the child must have access to diagnostic assessment services, specialized interventions, and appropriate instruction. The intensity or duration of the interventions should be based on comprehensive diagnostic assessment. There should be seamless continuity between regular classroom instruction and interventions, and a high degree of cooperation among qualified staff who are serving the same children. The staff should spend the vast majority of their time planning for and delivering instruction directly to children.

Characteristics of Successful Interventions

No one intervention works for all children with reading difficulties. However, interventions that succeed for many children have several characteristics in common. Typically they involve more instructional time for children, but extra time is not enough. Other characteristics include:

  • carefully planned assessments that allow for continual monitoring of the child's response and lead to modifications of the intervention when indicated

  • teaching methods that are supported by research on how children learn to read and how they should be taught

  • considerable attention to the materials used (e.g., predictable, patterned, easy-to-more-difficult texts), with a focus on interesting and enjoyable texts at appropriate reading levels

  • an array of activities (e.g., word study, reading, rereading, and writing)

Successful interventions generally occur on a daily basis and may occur in focused, short blocks of time, or in longer blocks, with appropriate accommodations in classroom instruction.

Successful interventions are strongly linked with regular classroom instruction, are supported by sound research, reflect an understanding of effective reading instruction (section 3), and are culturally and linguistically appropriate for the individual child. It is critical that interventions be measured against these criteria, and that their effectiveness in helping children with reading difficulties be carefully assessed and monitored.

Children at Risk of Reading Difficulties

Children from certain socio-economic, cultural, or linguistic backgrounds may be more likely statistically to experience reading difficulties. Some researchers refer to these as "at-risk" or "high-risk" groups.

Association with a group that has a statistically higher rate of reading failure has little or nothing to do with a child's ability to learn. There are many reasons why classroom instruction may not be meeting the child's needs. For example, many Aboriginal children in remote areas of the province enter school speaking only their first language, and others in urban areas come speaking an English dialect. Instruction may not adequately build upon the literacy, language, and culture that some children bring to school.

In schools where there is a demonstrated high proportion of children who are at risk of reading difficulties, qualified staff and material resources must be available both in the classroom and through support programs. Resources should be distributed equitably to inner city, rural, and remote areas. Efforts in these schools should first focus on supporting the improvement of existing instructional practices, then on implementing additional interventions. In many cases, school-wide efforts at restructuring that integrate organizational issues with coherent, effective classroom instruction have been shown to be more effective than simply adding on new intervention strategies.

It is important for teachers to realize that, with effective instruction, all children can learn to read. It is the school's responsibility to provide for each child the appropriate level of support to reach his or her potential in reading. There must be clear continuity between regular classroom instruction and any interventions provided by support personnel. Interventions will not differ in kind from effective regular classroom instruction, but will differ in frequency, intensity, and focus.

Literacy Teamwork

The classroom teacher should plan appropriate interventions in consultation with other professionals who have expertise in assessment and intervention in reading and related areas (e.g., literacy specialists, speech and language specialists, and audiologists).

Classroom teachers must be given the resources to match their responsibilities. All schools must have appropriate access to a team with specialized expertise in reading intervention.

For French-language schools in some parts of Ontario, and for schools in remote areas, it can be difficult to provide highly specialized service, because the area to be served is so vast. In these situations, technology can be used to link primary teachers to one another (forming a virtual literacy team) and to deliver specialized expertise across long distances to children and teachers. However, it must be noted that the costs for technology solutions are substantially higher in the north than in southern Ontario.

Research findings are clear that, while volunteers may be helpful in implementing supplemental instruction and supports, professionals with the required expertise are essential for the design and delivery of successful interventions. It is the teacher who should teach children how to read.

Professional Development

All teachers in the primary grades need to be well qualified and have opportunities for ongoing professional learning. Teaching reading to young children requires a highly specialized body of knowledge and expertise. The same knowledge and expertise that a teacher uses to help a child who is progressing well in reading will help a child who is struggling. Teachers who are equipped with the broad repertoire of assessment and instructional strategies described earlier in this report are well positioned to identify children with reading difficulties, focus their instruction on individual children's needs, and identify and plan for children whose reading difficulties are severe enough to require specific instruction and support. To stay abreast of new and emerging literacy developments, teachers can consult with local university-based researchers.

So that effective classroom practices that support early identification and intervention might be encouraged, professional development must be available for teachers in Kindergarten to Grade 3 and beyond, with a focus on:

  • maintaining high expectations for children with reading difficulties
  • understanding the nature of reading difficulties and the impact on achievement
  • understanding and applying interventions and other modifications
  • helping children to capitalize on early gains

Beyond Early Intervention

Effective early identification and intervention will help prevent and significantly decrease reading difficulties for many young children and improve their prospects for school success. However, even exemplary early intervention practices will not guarantee that severe reading difficulties are overcome. Some children will continue to need additional reading instruction and supports to succeed in the later school grades.

As these children grow older and literacy increasingly becomes a vehicle for teaching, learning, and evaluation, instructional and other supports that address their changing needs must be in place.

Stratégie de lecture au primaire

Rapport de la table ronde des experts en lecture, 2003


L'aide aux enfants ayant des difficultés en lecture

Ce rapport commence par une affirmation résolue : « Le succès d'un enfant à l'école tout au long de sa vie dépend largement de ses aptitudes en lecture. L'un des plus importants défis des spécialistes de l'éducation en Ontario consiste à faire en sorte que l'ensemble des élèves de la province sache lire. »

L'acquisition de la lecture présente différents types de difficultés pour certains élèves et, bien souvent, celles-ci auraient pu être identifiées plus tôt. Il serait possible d'y remédier lorsqu'elles se manifestent dès le jardin d'enfants ou en 1re année; cependant, cela se produit rarement. Les conclusions de la recherche sur les difficultés en lecture au primaire sont très claires : parmi les élèves qui ont encore des problèmes de lecture en 3e année;, rares sont ceux ou celles qui arrivent à les surmonter entièrement par la suite. Les conséquences d'un retard en lecture sont bien connues : risque accru d'échec et de décrochage scolaires et perspectives de carrière limitées. Cette constatation souligne toute l'importance de s'assurer que les enseignantes et les enseignants peuvent compter sur des conditions favorables et des ressources suffisantes pour enseigner la lecture à l'ensemble de leurs élèves, que ce soit sur le plan de l'organisation de leur emploi du temps, de la réduction des effectifs des classes, du matériel didactique mis à leur disposition ou encore de leur perfectionnement professionnel.

La nature des difficultés en lecture

L'apprentissage de la lecture repose sur les mêmes bases pour tous les élèves, garçons et filles, quels que soient leur âge ou leurs aptitudes. Il implique toujours l'acquisition d'une certaine habileté, fondée sur des capacités de compréhension et sur une certaine motivation à lire, même pour les élèves auxquels cet apprentissage pose un défi. Il s'agit donc de développer chez l'ensemble des élèves les mêmes connaissances et habiletés fondamentales et de leur proposer à cette fin le même genre d'activités pédagogiques.

Chez les jeunes enfants qui lisent avec difficulté, le problème le plus fréquent est le manque de fluidité. Bon nombre de ces enfants trouvent très difficile d'identifier les mots. Ces enfants lisent lentement, avec hésitation, et s'appuient trop sur des indices contextuels pour deviner le sens des mots. Vu que la quasi-totalité de leurs habiletés cognitives et mentales sont mises à contribution dans cet effort d'identification de mots, leur compréhension du texte s'en ressent. Les meilleures stratégies de prévention et d'intervention précoce pour ces enfants sont une bonne préparation à la littératie et un enseignement de qualité en salle de classe.

La préparation à la littératie

Comme la recherche l'a confirmé maintes et maintes fois, il est de la plus haute importance qu'au moment d'entamer leur apprentissage formel de la lecture les élèves aient envie de lire et qu'ils soient dotés d'un minimum de connaissances et d'habiletés. Ils doivent notamment être familiers avec les concepts associés à l'écrit, à la reconnaissance et au tracé des lettres de l'alphabet. Ils doivent également posséder une base solide en conscience phonémique, avoir le goût de la lecture, et se percevoir eux-mêmes capables d'excellence en lecture et en voie d'atteindre cette excellence. Ces connaissances et attitudes sont déjà bien présentes chez une partie des enfants lors de leur entrée à l'école, mais elles font défaut chez beaucoup d'autres. Les enfants, et à plus forte raison ceux et celles qui font partie de groupes sujets à des difficultés en lecture, ont souvent avantage à participer à des programmes préscolaires adaptés à leur niveau de développement visant à faciliter l'acquisition des bases nécessaires pour apprendre à lire. Les activités de développement des compétences langagières et d'acquisition des habiletés de base en lecture et en écriture prévues au jardin d'enfants contribuent aussi fortement, par la suite, au succès de la littératie, d'où l'impératif de veiller à ce que les enfants de l'Ontario aient accès à ce type d'activités. Dans la classe du jardin d'enfants, l'enseignante ou l'enseignant lit des histoires, des poèmes et d'autres textes pour divertir les enfants, mais aussi pour les informer. Les élèves expriment leurs réactions aux textes lus, racontent les histoires dans leurs propres mots et démontrent leur compréhension des conventions de la langue orale et écrite ainsi que des caractéristiques des livres.

Le dépistage et l'intervention précoces

Même lorsque l'enseignement en classe est de bonne qualité, certains enfants ont besoin d'une aide supplémentaire. Cependant, les enseignantes et les enseignants ne devraient envisager une aide supplémentaire que lorsque l'enseignement efficace et adapté en salle de classe n'a pas donné les résultats escomptés en résolvant les difficultés en lecture d'un élève.

L'important est que les enseignantes et les enseignants repèrent le plus tôt possible les élèves qui ont des difficultés en lecture, adaptent l'enseignement en fonction de leurs besoins d'apprentissage et leur apportent une aide additionnelle, le cas échéant. Si les mécanismes de dépistage et d'évaluation appropriés sont en place, l'intervention précoce peut se faire avant même que les élèves ne soient exposés à un enseignement formel de la lecture. Plus les élèves ayant des difficultés en lecture sont jeunes lorsqu'ils reçoivent un enseignement adapté, plus ces interventions ont la chance de porter fruits.

À partir de la 3e année;, les interventions visant à remédier à des difficultés en lecture ont moins de chance de réussir que les interventions précoces. Il faut repérer avant la fin de la 1re année les élèves pour qui l'acquisition de la lecture pose des difficultés et leur offrir au moment opportun les interventions additionnelles nécessaires, afin d'éviter que leurs difficultés ne s'aggravent et que les échecs répétés en lecture n'affectent leur motivation à apprendre à lire et à écrire.

Le processus de mise en œuvre

Il serait souhaitable que toutes les écoles disposent d'un processus prévoyant la mise en œuvre rapide, dès la 1re année;, d'un enseignement adapté pour les élèves chez lesquels une évaluation diagnostique a révélé des difficultés en lecture. Dès qu'une enseignante ou un enseignant repère un élève ayant des difficultés en lecture, cet élève doit avoir accès à des services d'évaluation diagnostique ainsi qu'à une intervention et à un enseignement adaptés. L'intensité et la durée de l'intervention seront de préférence fondées sur une évaluation diagnostique détaillée. Il s'agit de veiller à une parfaite intégration de l'enseignement en salle de classe et de l'enseignement adapté offert aux élèves en difficulté, de même qu'à une étroite collaboration entre l'enseignante ou l'enseignant et les autres spécialistes de l'éducation qui s'occupent de ces élèves. Ces personnes devraient consacrer ensemble la majeure partie de leur temps à la planification de l'enseignement et à son application directe.

Les clés de la réussite des interventions

Il n'existe pas de remède miracle aux difficultés en lecture. Les interventions qui ont fait leurs preuves auprès d'un grand nombre d'élèves ont toutefois plusieurs points communs. Elles prévoient presque toutes des heures d'enseignement additionnelles pour les élèves en question, mais cela ne saurait suffire. Leurs autres caractéristiques habituelles sont :

  • des évaluations soigneusement planifiées qui permettent un suivi continu des progrès de l'élève et une modification de l'intervention, s'il y a lieu;

  • des méthodes pédagogiques fondées sur la recherche traitant de l'apprentissage chez les enfants et sur l'enseignement qui leur convient;

  • une attention particulière portée à la nature du matériel utilisé (par exemple des textes à structures répétées, des textes dont le dénouement et les péripéties sont prévisibles, des textes à niveaux de difficulté gradués), mais aussi à l'intérêt qu'il présente pour l'élève et au plaisir qu'il pourra en retirer;

  • l'organisation d'activités très diverses (incluant par exemple l'étude des mots, la lecture répétée et l'écriture).

Les interventions réussies sont étroitement liées à l'enseignement en salle de classe; elles se fondent sur des recherches solides, tiennent compte des composantes d'un enseignement efficace de la lecture (voir le chapitre 3) et sont adaptées à chaque élève, tant sur le plan linguistique que culturel. Non seulement les interventions doivent respecter ces critères, mais il importe aussi d'analyser dans quelle mesure elles aident les élèves ayant des difficultés en lecture à les surmonter.

Les enfants qui risquent d'avoir des difficultés en lecture

Les enfants de certains milieux socio-économiques, culturels ou linguistiques sont sans doute plus susceptibles, du point de vue statistique, d'avoir des difficultés en lecture. Certains chercheurs utilisent les termes de groupes à risque ou à risque élevé.

L'appartenance à un groupe qui présente statistiquement un taux d'échec plus élevé en lecture a très peu, si ce n'est pas du tout, d'effet sur l'habileté d'un enfant à apprendre. Plusieurs raisons font en sorte que l'enseignement en classe ne correspond pas aux besoins des élèves. Par exemple, dans les localités les plus isolées de la province, plusieurs enfants autochtones ne parlent que leur langue maternelle lors de leur entrée à l'école, et d'autres qui se trouvent en milieu urbain parlent un dialecte de la langue d'enseignement. Il est fort possible que l'enseignement offert dans les écoles ne se fonde pas suffisamment sur les compétences langagières et la culture qui forment l'acquis de ces enfants.

Les écoles connues comme accueillant une forte proportion d'élèves qui risquent d'avoir des difficultés en lecture doivent mettre à la disposition de ces élèves du matériel et du personnel spécialisé, tant en salle de classe que par l'intermédiaire de programmes de soutien distincts. Il s'agit de distribuer ces ressources de façon équitable entre les écoles des zones urbaines, rurales et éloignées, qui ont toutefois intérêt à se concentrer d'abord sur l'amélioration des méthodes d'enseignement actuelles avant de mettre en œuvre des interventions additionnelles. Bien souvent, des efforts de restructuration à l'échelle de l'école règlent les problèmes organisationnels tout en rendant l'enseignement en salle de classe plus cohérent, ce qui se révèle plus efficace que l'adoption d'une nouvelle méthode d'enseignement adapté.

Il est important que les enseignantes et les enseignants réalisent qu'avec un enseignement efficace tous les enfants peuvent apprendre à lire. L'école est responsable de fournir le niveau d'aide nécessaire à chaque élève, afin que celui-ci puisse atteindre son plein potentiel en lecture. Il doit y avoir de la continuité entre l'enseignement régulier en salle de classe et les interventions du personnel éducatif de soutien. Les interventions seront les mêmes que l'enseignement régulier offert en salle de classe, mais elles différeront de par leur fréquence, leur intensité et leur cible.

La littératie, un travail d'équipe

Pour planifier un enseignement adapté, les enseignantes et les enseignants ont intérêt à consulter d'autres professionnels spécialistes en évaluation du rendement en lecture et en interventions auprès des élèves en difficulté (par exemple orthopédagogues, orthophonistes et audiologistes).

Les enseignantes et les enseignants doivent par ailleurs pouvoir compter sur des ressources correspondant à leurs responsabilités. Toutes les écoles doivent avoir accès à une équipe spécialisée en intervention de soutien à l'acquisition de la lecture. Les écoles de langue française dans certaines régions de la province et les écoles dans les régions les plus éloignées peuvent avoir du mal à obtenir les services d'une équipe hautement spécialisée à cause de leur vaste étendue géographique. Dans de tels cas, la technologie peut servir à la fois de lien entre le personnel enseignant du primaire (formant ainsi une équipe de littératie « virtuelle ») et de mode de prestation à distance de services spécialisés aux élèves et à leurs enseignantes ou enseignants. Il convient toutefois de noter que les coûts associés à ce type de solution technologique sont considérablement plus élevés dans le nord de la province qu'ailleurs.

Enfin, aussi précieux que puisse être l'apport de bénévoles à la mise en œuvre d'un enseignement efficace et d'autres formes d'aide additionnelle, la recherche démontre clairement que l'intervention d'enseignantes et d'enseignants possédant les qualifications professionnelles nécessaires est indispensable à la conception et à la prestation réussies de ce type de services. C'est aux enseignantes et aux enseignants que revient la responsabilité d'enseigner la lecture aux enfants.

Le perfectionnement professionnel

L'ensemble des enseignantes et enseignants du primaire doivent être parfaitement qualifiés pour s'acquitter de leur rôle et avoir la possibilité de se perfectionner tout au long de leur carrière. Enseigner la lecture aux jeunes élèves suppose des connaissances et des compétences hautement spécialisées, que ce soit pour l'élève qui progresse normalement que pour celui qui éprouve certaines difficultés. Grâce au vaste répertoire de méthodes d'évaluation et d'enseignement décrites plus tôt dans ce rapport, les enseignantes et enseignants sont bien placés pour repérer les élèves ayant des difficultés en lecture, axer leur enseignement sur les besoins particuliers de ces élèves et dépister ceux et celles dont les lacunes sont assez graves pour justifier un enseignement correctif et d'autres formes d'aide additionnelle. Pour se tenir au courant des nouveautés en matière d'enseignement de la lecture, les enseignantes et enseignants peuvent consulter les chercheurs dans les universités.

Si l'on veut favoriser un enseignement propice au dépistage et à l'intervention précoces, il faut faire en sorte que les enseignantes et enseignants du jardin d'enfants jusqu'à la 3e année; et au-delà aient accès à des activités de perfectionnement professionnel dont les principaux objectifs sont :

  • le maintien d'attentes élevées pour les élèves ayant des difficultés en lecture;

  • l'analyse de la nature des difficultés en lecture et de leurs répercussions sur le rendement scolaire;

  • l'étude de la nature et de la mise en œuvre des activités d'enseignement correctif et d'autres formes d'aide additionnelle;

  • la façon d'aider les élèves à exploiter leurs acquis.

Après les interventions précoces

Le dépistage et l'intervention précoces peuvent grandement contribuer soit à prévenir, soit à nettement atténuer les difficultés en lecture de beaucoup de jeunes enfants et, par la même occasion, à améliorer leurs chances de réussite scolaire. Toutefois, même les meilleures méthodes d'intervention précoce ne peuvent pas garantir l'élimination des difficultés les plus sérieuses. Il y aura toujours des élèves qui auront besoin d'une aide et de mécanismes de soutien additionnels en lecture au fil des années.

À mesure que ces élèves grandissent et que les écrits gagnent en importance en tant que moyen d'enseignement, d'apprentissage et d'évaluation du rendement scolaire, ils doivent compter sur un appui pédagogique adapté à l'évolution de leurs besoins.