Ontario Education Number (OEN)


Information for Parents and Students

What is the Ontario Education Number (OEN)?

The OEN is a student identification number that will be assigned by the Ministry of Education to elementary and secondary students across the province. The number, which is unique to every student, will be used as the key identifier on a student's school records, and will follow the student through his or her elementary and secondary education. The OEN is nine digits long (eight digits, plus a check digit), randomly assigned, and tied to stable information about the student (name, gender, date of birth).

The OEN will make it easier to keep reliable records on the movement and progress of individual students through elementary and secondary school, while also protecting their privacy. In addition, it will greatly facilitate the collection and analysis of accurate and timely data about education in Ontario. In fact, assigning an OEN to students across Ontario is the first step in implementing a new data-gathering and -management system that will benefit everyone in Ontario who has an interest in education.

Why do students need to have a number?

In a large and diverse education system such as Ontario's, a standard, centrally assigned student number is the best way to identify individual students. Using a number to collect and store data helps avoid the errors and confusion that can arise when names are misspelled, changed, or mistaken for other, similar names. It also helps to protect the identity of individual students.

Most provinces in Canada already provide students with a standard identification number.

How will the OEN be used?

The OEN will be used:

  • on student records. It will appear on the student's Ontario Student Record (OSR) folder and related forms;
  • on applications made by the student for enrolment in an educational program, school, or institution;
  • on assessments, tests, and evaluations of the student's achievement.

Will the Ministry of Education issue OEN identification cards to students?

No.

Why does the government need information on students?

Schools and school boards collect data on such things as student attendance, student achievement, course choices, and special needs. The ministry uses this information to track improvements made to the education system, to identify areas that require further improvement, and to analyse trends and identify future needs. The OEN and the new information-management system will help generate more accurate, more reliable, and more complete statistics, providing a better basis for assessing needs and for developing policies to meet them. The improved quality of information will also result in improved reporting to Ontario taxpayers on the province's education system.

The provincial government distributes funds to school boards based on information that the boards provide. The accuracy of the information gathered is essential to ensuring that funding is allocated appropriately.

Will the privacy of personal information be protected?

Yes. Security is a built-in component of the OEN system and of the number itself.

Because the number is randomly assigned, personal information about the student cannot be inferred from it.

In addition, the "check digit" included in the number will identify it as a legitimate OEN.

Access to the data in the OEN system will be strictly limited, and the database containing personal information will be maintained by the ministry in a fully secure environment, protected by the most up-to-date technology.

The information gathered about students will be used only for educational purposes. The ways in which the data will be used must comply with Ontario's Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, the Privacy Code of the Canadian Standards Association, and the privacy protection guidelines issued by the government's Management Board Secretariat. Upholding the letter and the spirit of these laws and guidelines has been a fundamental principle in the design of the OEN system and the information-gathering and -management system it makes possible.

Can parents and students access the student's personal information?

Yes. The new system will not change the rules governing access to and disclosure of personal information and protection of privacy.

What do schools and school boards think of the new system? Will they benefit from it?

Schools, boards, other partners in education, and various experts have been consulted extensively about, and are active participants in, the design of the new system. When fully implemented, the system will be easy to use and will reduce the administrative demands connected with the collection and reporting of data. Officials responsible for information management in their schools and boards support the introduction of the new system, and have made significant contributions to its development.

How can I find out more?

For further information about the OEN system, contact the Ministry of Education at (416)325-2929 or 1-800-387-5514. For education-related information for each of Ontario's district school boards, see the board profiles posted on the ministry's website.

ISBN 0-7794-4234-2

Numéro d'immatriculation scolaire de l'Ontario (NISO)

Renseignements à l'intention des parents et des élèves

Qu'est-ce que le numéro d'immatriculation scolaire de l'Ontario (NISO)?

Le NISO est un numéro d'identification que le ministère de l'Éducation attribuera aux élèves des paliers élémentaire et secondaire de la province. Chaque élève recevra un numéro qui lui sera propre. Ce numéro constituera le principal identificateur dans les dossiers scolaires de l'élève, et ce numéro l'accompagnera tout au long de ses études aux paliers élémentaire et secondaire. Le NISO est un nombre de neuf chiffres (huit chiffres plus un chiffre de contrôle) attribué au hasard et associé à des renseignements ne changeant pas (nom, sexe et date de naissance de l'élève).

Grâce au NISO, il sera plus facile d'établir des dossiers fiables sur le cheminement des élèves et sur leurs progrès aux paliers élémentaire et secondaire, ce qui sera fait tout en protégeant les renseignements personnels. De plus, le NISO facilitera grandement la collecte et l'analyse de données exactes et à jour sur l'éducation en Ontario. En fait, l'attribution du NISO est la première étape de la mise en œuvre d'un nouveau système de collecte et de gestion de l'information, dont profitera toute personne s'intéressant à l'éducation en Ontario.

Pourquoi faut-il que les élèves aient un numéro?

Dans un système éducatif aussi vaste et diversifié que celui de l'Ontario, un numéro standard, qui est attribué par un organisme central, constitue le meilleur moyen d'établir l'identité de chaque élève.

L'utilisation d'un numéro pour recueillir et entreposer les données permet d'éviter les erreurs et les malentendus qui se produisent lorsque les noms sont mal écrits, lorsqu'ils sont modifiés ou lorsqu'ils sont confondus avec d'autres noms semblables. Cela permet également de protéger l'identité des élèves.

La plupart des provinces canadiennes attribuent un numéro d'immatriculation aux élèves.

Comment utilisera-t-on le NISO?

Le NISO sera utilisé :

  • sur les dossiers de l'élève. Il figurera sur la chemise du dossier scolaire de l'Ontario (DSO) et sur les formulaires connexes;
  • sur les demandes d'admission de l'élève à un programme éducatif, à une école ou à un établissement;
  • sur les évaluations et les examens faits pour déterminer le rendement de l'élève.

Le ministère de l'Éducation remettra-t-il aux élèves une carte d'identité du NISO?

Non.

Pourquoi le gouvernement a-t-il besoin de renseignements sur les élèves?

Les écoles et les conseils scolaires recueillent des données sur des sujets comme l'assiduité, le rendement, les cours choisis et les besoins particuliers. Le Ministère utilise ces renseignements pour assurer un suivi des améliorations apportées au système éducatif, pour repérer les secteurs auxquels il faut apporter d'autres améliorations, pour analyser les tendances et pour déterminer les besoins futurs. Le NISO et le nouveau système de gestion de l'information permettront de produire des statistiques plus exactes, plus fiables et plus complètes, qui fourniront une meilleure base pour évaluer les besoins et pour élaborer les politiques visant à répondre à ces besoins. L'amélioration de la qualité des renseignements se traduira par de meilleurs comptes rendus aux contribuables ontariens concernant le système éducatif.

Le gouvernement provincial finance les conseils scolaires en fonction des renseignements que ces derniers lui fournissent. Il est essentiel que les renseignements recueillis soient exacts afin que les fonds soient alloués de façon appropriée.

La confidentialité des renseignements personnels sera-t-elle respectée?

Oui. Des mesures de sécurité font partie intégrante du système du NISO et du numéro lui-même.

Étant donné que le numéro est attribué au hasard, il est impossible de déduire des renseignements personnels sur l'élève à partir du numéro. De plus, le chiffre de contrôle inclus dans le numéro indiquera qu'il s'agit d'un NISO valide.

L'accès aux données du système du NISO sera strictement limité. Le Ministère établira la base de données contenant les renseignements personnels dans un environnement entièrement sécurisé, qui sera protégé par la technologie la plus moderne.

Les renseignements recueillis sur les élèves serviront uniquement à des fins éducationnelles. Les données seront utilisées conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée de l'Ontario, du code de protection des renseignements personnels de l'Association canadienne de normalisation et des lignes directrices sur la protection de la vie privée élaborées par le Secrétariat du Conseil de gestion du gouvernement. Le respect de la lettre et de l'esprit de cette loi et de ces lignes directrices a constitué un principe fondamental dans la conception du système du NISO et du système de collecte et de gestion de l'information qui en découle.

Les parents et les élèves peuvent-ils avoir accès aux renseignements personnels?

Oui. Le nouveau système ne changera pas les règles régissant l'accès aux renseignements personnels, leur divulgation et leur protection.

Que pensent les écoles et les conseils scolaires du nouveau système? Sera-t-il avantageux pour eux?

On a consulté de façon intensive les écoles, les conseils scolaires, d'autres partenaires en éducation et divers experts sur la conception du nouveau système et ceux-ci participent activement à son élaboration. Quand il sera complètement mis en œuvre, le système sera facile à utiliser et son utilisation réduira les tâches administratives de la collecte et de la communication des données. Les responsables de la gestion de l'information au sein des écoles et des conseils scolaires appuient l'instauration du nouveau système; ils ont largement contribué à son élaboration.

Où puis-je obtenir de plus amples renseignements?

Pour en savoir davantage sur le système du NISO, communiquez avec le ministère de l'Éducation au 416 325-2929 ou au 1 800 387-5514. Si vous désirez des renseignements sur l'éducation en fonction de chacun des conseils scolaires de district de l'Ontario, consultez les profils des conseils affichés sur le site Web du Ministère.

ISBN 0-7794-4236-9