Access To Information And Privacy Protection

The Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (the Act) provides individuals with a right of access to records, subject to limited exemptions, and to personal information in the custody or control of the Ministry of Education.

The Act also provides for the protection of an individual's privacy with respect to the collection, use, disclosure, retention and disposal of personal information held by the Ministry.

How to Access Information

Requests under the Act must be made in writing. An application fee of $5, payable to the Minister of Finance, is required at the time a request is submitted. Individuals should be as detailed as possible about the records they wish to access.

Requests should be sent to:

The Information and Privacy Coordinator
Ministry of Education
21st Floor, Mowat Block
900 Bay Street
Toronto ON M7A 1L2
Telephone: (416) 325-0070

The Ministry will respond to access requests within 30 calendar days, unless additional fees or time extensions permitted under the Act are warranted.

Privacy Protection

The Ministry only collects personal information in accordance with the Education Act in order to administer its programs. Examples of personal information collected by the Ministry include name, address, telephone number, educational history and where necessary, social insurance number.

The Ministry of Education is committed to respecting privacy and protecting personal information. Ministry staff only collect, use and disclose personal information where it is necessary to perform their job duties. Personal information held by the Ministry is maintained in a secure manner.

For Additional information

Accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée (la loi) donne aux citoyens le droit d'accéder aux dossiers, sauf pour quelques exceptions, et à l'information personnelle conservés ou contrôlés par le ministère de l'Éducation ainsi que ses organismes.

La loi contient également des dispositions relatives à la protection de la vie privée concernant la collecte, l'utilisation, la divulgation, la conservation et l'élimination de l'information personnelle par le ministère.

Comment faire une demande

Les demandes formulées en vertu de la loi doivent être faites par écrit. Un droit de demande de 5 $ à l'ordre du ministère des Finances est requis au dépôt de votre demande. Les citoyens doivent donner autant de détails que possible sur les dossiers qu'ils veulent consulter.

Il faut envoyer les demandes à l'adresse suivante :

Coordonnateur ou coordonnatrice de l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée
Ministère de l'Éducation
Édifice Mowat, 21e étage
900, rue Bay
Toronto ON M7A 1L2
Téléphone : 416 325-0070

Le ministère répondra aux demandes dans les 30 jours suivants, à moins qu'il doive exiger des frais supplémentaires ou plus de temps, comme prévu dans la loi.

Protection de la vie privée

Le ministère recueille de l'information personnelle qui doive être effectuée conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée afin d'administrer ses programmes. L'information demandée comprend entre autres le nom de la personne, son adresse, son numéro de téléphone, les détails sur son éducation et si nécessaire, le numéro d'assurance sociale.

Le ministère de l'Éducation s'engage à respecter la vie privée et à protéger l'information personnelle. Les employés du ministère ne font que recueillir, utiliser et divulguer l'information personnelle dans le cadre de leur travail. L'information personnelle contrôlée par le ministère est conservée en toute sécurité.

Pour plus de renseignements