Aboriginal Education Strategy

logo

Urban Aboriginal Education Pilot Project

One of the ministry's commitments in the First Nation, Métis and Inuit Education Policy Framework was to work collaboratively with school boards, First Nation, Métis and Inuit communities and organizations, to develop innovative approaches to meet the needs of First Nation, Métis and Inuit students living in urban centres.

Urban school boards need to find effective ways to reach out to Aboriginal families, communities and other service delivery organizations, in order to build partnerships and strategies that support student achievement.

In November 2007, the Ministry of Education's Aboriginal Education Office (AEO) launched a pilot project to help develop three urban Aboriginal education models for First Nation, Métis and Inuit student/family/community engagement that can be applied in different urban settings based on varying geographical and demographic circumstances.

These models are being developed as a result of in-depth inter-jurisdictional research and pilot projects being carried out in Simcoe County District School Board, Lakehead District School Board, and Toronto District School Board.

The project is overseen by a 30-member steering committee consisting of representation from school boards, Aboriginal organizations, and other key education stakeholders.

For further information please go to the Council of Ontario Directors of Education (CODE)'s website.

Stratégie d'éducation autochtone

logo

Projet pilote pour les jeunes autochtones en milieu urbain

L'un des objectifs du Ministère énoncés dans le Cadre stratégique pour l'éducation postsecondaire et la formation des Autochtones est de collaborer avec les conseils scolaires et les collectivités des Premières nations, métis et inuites, pour concevoir des approches innovantes afin de répondre aux besoins des élèves des Premières nations, métis et inuits qui vivent en milieu urbain.

Les conseils scolaires en milieu urbain ont besoin de trouver des moyens efficaces d'atteindre les familles, les collectivités et d'autres organismes autochtones de prestation de services, afin de nouer des partenariats et d'élaborer des stratégies visant à favoriser la réussite des élèves.

En novembre 2007, le Bureau de l'éducation autochtone du ministère de l'Éducation a lancé un projet pilote pour créer trois modèles d'éducation des jeunes autochtones en milieu urbain ayant pour but de faire participer les élèves, les familles et les collectivités des Premières nations, métis et inuits et pouvant être appliqués dans différents milieux urbains aux caractéristiques géographiques et démographiques diverses.

Ces modèles sont mis sur pied pour donner suite à des projets pilotes et de recherche poussés entrepris de façon concertée au Simcoe County District School Board, au Lakehead District School Board et au Toronto District School Board.

Le projet est supervisé par un comité directeur dont les 30 membres représentent des conseils scolaires, des organismes autochtones et d'autres intervenants clés du monde de l'éducation.

Pour plus de détails, consulter le site Web du Council of Ontario Directors of Education (CODE).