Aboriginal Perspectives: A Guide To The Teacher's Toolkit

Teaching Resources and Strategies for Elementary and Secondary Classrooms

The Teacher's Toolkit is a new collection of electronic resources from the Ministry of Education to help elementary and secondary teachers bring Aboriginal perspectives into their classrooms.

This document is available in PDF format. (237 KB)

Ontario's revised curriculum has provided teachers with many new opportunities to enrich teaching and learning in Ontario schools through the introduction of Aboriginal themes, topics and perspectives.

The Teacher's Toolkit has been developed to provide Ontario teachers with the support they need to bring Aboriginal perspectives to life in the classroom. Here's how:

Part I: Great ideas for teaching and learning

As part of the curriculum review process, expectations are being incorporated into many areas of the elementary and secondary curriculum to help teachers bring First Nation, Métis and Inuit histories, cultures and perspectives into the classroom. These documents provide teachers with a handy reference to those expectations contained in revised curricula released as of November, 2007.

Part II: Practical teaching strategies

This series provides teachers with professionally developed teaching strategies created by experts from across Ontario. Each strategy is designed to address one or more curriculum expectations, and many incorporate effective cross-curricular connections. Learn more, and download these resources here:

Perspectives autochtones : Guide de la boîte à outils

Ressources et stratégies d'enseignement pour les classes de l'élémentaire et du secondaire

La Boîte à outils est une nouvelle collection de ressources pédagogiques en ligne du ministère de l'Éducation; elle vise à aider le personnel enseignant de l'élémentaire et du secondaire à introduire les perspectives autochtones en classe.

Cette publication est disponible en format PDF. (217 Ko)


Le curriculum révisé de l'Ontario offre au personnel enseignant de nombreuses nouvelles possibilités d'enrichir l'enseignement et l'apprentissage dans les écoles de l'Ontario en introduisant des thèmes, des sujets et des perspectives autochtones.

La Trousse du personnel enseignant a pour but d'apporter au personnel enseignant de l'Ontario le soutien dont il a besoin pour donner vie aux perspectives autochtones dans la salle de classe. Voici comment :

Partie I : Excellentes idées pour l'enseignement et l'apprentissage

Dans le cadre du processus d'examen du curriculum, des attentes ont été incluses dans de nombreux domaines du curriculum de l'élémentaire et du secondaire afin d'aider le personnel enseignant à apporter des histoires, des cultures et des perspectives des Premières nations, des Métis et des Inuits dans la salle de classe. Ces documents fournissent un point de référence pratique pour les attentes contenues dans les curriculums révisés publiés en novembre 2007.

Partie II : Stratégies d'enseignement pratique

Cette série fournit des stratégies pédagogiques élaborées par des experts de tout l'Ontario. Chacune est conçue pour aborder une ou plusieurs attentes du curriculum, et beaucoup incorporent des liens efficaces avec d'autres éléments du curriculum. Renseignez-vous davantage et téléchargez ces ressources ici :