Indigenous Education in Ontario

The Ministry of Education is committed to working with Indigenous and education partners to continue improving Indigenous student achievement and well-being in Ontario, and increasing all students' knowledge and understanding of First Nation, Métis, and Inuit histories, cultures, contributions and perspectives.

Ontario's Indigenous Education Strategy – (formerly known as the Aboriginal Education Strategy)

Ontario's Indigenous Education Strategy sets the foundation for improving achievement among Indigenous students in provincially funded schools. The strategy supports life-long learning beginning in the early years and continuing through postsecondary, training or workplace opportunities. In addition, it raises awareness about First Nation, Métis, and Inuit cultures, histories, perspectives and contributions among all students.

The government is also committed to continuing to build positive relationships with Ontario First Nation, Métis and Inuit partners and working in a spirit of mutual respect through all interactions. Strong partnerships between the ministry, school boards, schools, educators, families, students, community organizations and Indigenous partners are essential.

To reach the goals of the strategy, Ontario has taken important steps in making system-wide changes, including targeted funding, professional development and the integration of First Nation, Métis and Inuit perspectives into the curriculum.

Examples of current initiatives:

  • Board Action Plan: Since 2014-15, school boards, in collaboration with First Nation, Métis, and Inuit parents, community members, organizations and Indigenous Education Advisory Councils, have been developing education programs and initiatives that align with the strategy and meet the needs of their local communities.
  • Indigenous Education Leads: As of fall 2016, each school board in Ontario has a full-time position dedicated to supporting the implementation of the Ontario First Nation, Métis, and Inuit Education Policy Framework. Leads work closely with senior board administration, including the superintendent with responsibility for Indigenous education, staff and Indigenous Education Advisory Councils, to support improved Indigenous student achievement and well-being and enhance the knowledge and awareness of all students about First Nation, Métis and Inuit cultures, histories and perspectives.
  • Indigenous Education Advisory Councils (IEACs): In 2014, through the Ontario First Nation, Métis, and Inuit Education Policy Framework Implementation Plan, the ministry indicated that all school boards would establish formalized processes, such as establishing IEACs to support local implementation of the framework. The IEACs guide school boards and schools in building stronger relationships with their communities, sharing information, identifying promising practices, and enhancing collaborative work to support First Nation, Métis, and Inuit student achievement and well-being.
  • Voluntary and Confidential Indigenous Student Self-Identification: This data is used to enable the ministry, school boards and schools to understand the demographics of First Nation, Métis, and Inuit learners and to implement targeted strategies to build on the strengths and meet the specific needs of those students.
  • Increased Partnerships:
    • In 2009, Ontario and the Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO) entered into a memorandum of understanding, which made a commitment to ongoing collaboration aimed at improving educational outcomes for Métis students in the province. The memorandum supports collaborative relationships between Métis communities, school boards, and education partners; this includes recognizing and preserving the distinct history, identity and culture of the Métis people and their contributions to Ontario. On December 15, 2015, the MNO signed a new memorandum with the Ministry of Education.
    • A memorandum of understanding signed in 2013 between Ontario, Canada and the Nishnawbe Aski Nation made a commitment to working together to improve educational outcomes for First Nation students in First Nation-operated and provincially funded schools. This was the first tripartite education agreement to be signed in Ontario. Key priority areas of the memorandum of understanding include:
      • Student support services
      • Curriculum enhancements
      • Governance and administration
      • Human resources
      • Parental participation.
    • On February 27, 2017, Canada, Ontario, and the Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians signed a memorandum of understanding on First Nation Education – the second tripartite education agreement signed in Ontario – through the Education Partnership Program. The memorandum was designed to enhance:
      • Educational outcomes of students in participating First Nation communities
      • Existing education resources and professional capacity
      • Collaboration of knowledge and practices
      • Awareness of Indigenous knowledge and learning ways.
    • In August 2017, the Minister of Education joined participating First Nations in signing the Master Education Agreement. The historic agreement describes the relationship between the Anishinabek Education System and Ontario's provincially funded education system and sets out commitments between the parties. It also supports:
      • Transition of students between Anishinabek First Nations' schools and schools in the provincially-funded education system
      • Advancement of Anishinabek language and culture, and the knowledge of Anishinabek First Nations' histories, perspectives and contributions within Anishinabek First Nations' schools and provincially funded schools
      • Engagement and participation of students, parents, families and communities t realize the goal of improved student achievement and well-being.
    • As of November 27, 2017, the Ministry of Education has formalized its working relationship with Tungasuvvingat Inuit (TI) through a memorandum of understanding – the first of its kind between the province and the Inuit community. The memorandum supports:
      • Collaborative relationships between Inuit communities, school boards and education partners to promote student success
      • The inclusion of Inuit culture, values and traditions in the development of provincial education initiatives.

Truth and Reconciliation Commission

On May 30, 2016, Ontario released The Journey Together – Ontario's Commitment to Reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples. As part of Ontario's response to the Truth and Reconciliation Report, the province made the following new commitments:

Classification of First Nation Schools within the Education Act

Ontario will explore the possibility of creating a new classification for First Nation/federally operated schools. This could enhance collaboration between the provincially funded education system and First Nation schools to help build greater capacity (e.g. professional development and learning resources) in First Nation schools.

Support for Indigenous Languages

Language is the foundation of culture. Indigenous peoples have a strong tradition of oral histories that must be supported by a new respect for, and understanding of, Indigenous languages.

From May 29 to June 1, 2017, the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development co-hosted the Gidinwewininaanan, No Lang Indigenous Languages Symposium with Indigenous partners and education stakeholders. The symposium was an opportunity to review current programs, determine gaps, and identify community priorities and supports needed to promote Indigenous languages.

The Gidinwewininaanan, No Lang Indigenous Languages Symposium was the first step in a multiyear, ongoing strategy to engage, co-develop and co-implement Ontario's plan to support the revitalization of Indigenous languages.

In response to needs identified at the symposium, the Learning Ministries issued the Indigenous Languages Fund call for proposals in December 2017 to support short-term, community-led language projects. Available funding is $10 million over two years. The call for proposals closed on January 22, 2018. Projects were evaluated by a committee comprised of ministry representatives and Indigenous partners. The province is funding over 40 successful projects that will support the promotion and revitalization of Indigenous languages.

The Indigenous Languages Fund is designed to support a wide range of language activities and priorities, as identified by our partners. These activities include research, community engagement and long-term planning, the development of tools and resources to support language acquisition, and making sure that we are increasing access to language programming across the province for people of all ages.

Curriculum

The province continues to work in collaboration with Indigenous partners to enhance the Ontario curriculum in order to support mandatory learning of residential schools, treaties, the legacy of colonialism, and the rights and responsibilities we all have to each other as treaty people.

Curriculum revisions occurred in the summer of 2016 and the winter of 2017. These revisions were guided by residential school survivors, First Nations, Métis and Inuit partners as well as education stakeholders. The revised curriculum includes: Social Studies (Grades 4 to 6) and History (Grades 7, 8 and 10). This revised curriculum will be implemented in all schools in September 2018.

Ontario has also committed to continue to work in collaboration with Indigenous partners to revise Social Studies (Grades 1 to 3), Geography (Grade 9), Civics and Citizenship (Grade 10) and select senior courses from the Canadian and World Studies (Grades 11 to 12), along with Social Sciences and Humanities (Grades 11 to 12).

In June 2017, a call for resource proposals was sent out to ensure that across the province, teachers and students have access to authentic, quality resources to support a greater understanding of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit individuals, communities, and nations in Ontario. The Ministry of Education was seeking resources that:

  • Are consistent with the intentions of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action
  • Represent the diversity of Indigenous peoples across Ontario
  • Provide locally and regionally specific content
  • Indigenous people are authentically and directly involved in the development of the resource, including engagement with relevant communities, leaders, and elders
  • Are grade-level appropriate and support delivery of the revised curriculum in Ontario classrooms.

These resources will be available for educators and students in fall 2018.

The First Nations, Métis and Inuit Studies curriculum has been revised in order to strengthen content relating to contemporary and traditional First Nations, Métis, and Inuit cultures, histories, perspectives, and worldviews. This includes the legacy of the residential school system, treaties, legislation, and policies that directly impacts First Nations, Métis, and Inuit individuals, communities, and nations. These revisions were conducted in collaboration with Indigenous teachers, Elders, Knowledge Keepers, senators, Indigenous community representatives, and residential school survivors. The revised Indigenous Studies curriculum is expected to be released in spring 2018.

In 2014, Ontario sent First Nations and Treaties maps to every elementary and secondary school in the province to help raise awareness about treaties. These maps and the accompanying teaching resources are helping students to learn about the significance of the treaties and the shared history of First Nations and non-Indigenous Ontarians. Our province has also designated the first week of November as Treaties Recognition Week to promote public education and awareness about treaties and treaty relationships.

Early Years

The Ministry of Education is investing up to $93.5M in new funding over the next two years to support early years commitments in urban and rural settings, as well as on-reserve:

  • Up to $70M over the next two years (including capital investments) will help expand access to culturally relevant child care and child and family programs delivered by Indigenous-led organizations through 58 projects in urban and rural communities.
  • Ontario is expanding on-reserve child and family programs for more than 1800 children and their families in over 40 First Nation communities across the province. Child and family programs provide culturally relevant support, advice and personal connections, as well as a network of resources and play- and inquiry-based programs for young children and families.

L'éducation autochtone en Ontario

Le ministère de l'Éducation s'est engagé à travailler avec des partenaires des communautés autochtones et du secteur de l'éducation pour continuer d'améliorer le rendement et le bien-être des élèves autochtones en Ontario, et pour accroître chez tous les élèves la connaissance et la compréhension des histoires, des cultures, des contributions et des perspectives des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits.

Stratégie d'éducation autochtone de l'Ontario

La Stratégie d'éducation autochtone de l'Ontario établit les bases qui permettront d'améliorer le rendement des élèves autochtones fréquentant les écoles financées par les fonds publics de la province. La stratégie favorise un apprentissage continu qui commence dès la petite enfance et se poursuit pendant les études postsecondaires, puis avec les occasions de formation et d'apprentissage en milieu de travail. Elle contribue également à sensibiliser les élèves aux histoires, aux cultures, aux perspectives et aux contributions des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits.

Le gouvernement souhaite continuer de forger des relations positives avec des partenaires des communautés des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits de l'Ontario, et faire en sorte que chaque interaction se déroule dans un climat de respect mutuel. Il est donc crucial de créer de solides partenariats entre le Ministère, les conseils scolaires, les écoles, les éducatrices et les éducateurs, les familles, les élèves, les organismes communautaires et les partenaires autochtones.

Pour atteindre les objectifs de la stratégie, l'Ontario a pris des mesures importantes en apportant des changements à l'échelle du système, notamment en matière de financement ciblé, de perfectionnement professionnel et d'intégration des perspectives des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits dans le curriculum.

Exemples d'initiatives en cours :

  • Plan d'action du conseil scolaire : Depuis 2014-2015, les conseils scolaires, en collaboration avec les parents, les membres et les organismes des communautés des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits, ainsi que les conseils consultatifs de l'éducation autochtone, élaborent des programmes et des initiatives d'éducation qui concordent avec la stratégie et répondent aux besoins de leurs collectivités respectives.
  • Leaders pour l'éducation autochtone : Depuis l'automne 2016, dans chaque conseil scolaire de l'Ontario, une personne travaille à temps plein à la mise en œuvre du Cadre d'élaboration des politiques de l'Ontario en éducation des Premières nations, des Métis et des Inuits. Les leaders pour l'éducation travaillent en étroite collaboration avec les directions des conseils scolaires, y compris les surintendantes et surintendants de l'éducation autochtone, le personnel et les conseils consultatifs de l'éducation autochtone, afin d'améliorer le rendement et le bien-être des élèves autochtones et d'accroître leur connaissance et leur compréhension des histoires, des cultures et des perspectives des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits.
  • Conseils consultatifs de l'éducation autochtone (CCEA) : En 2014, dans son Plan de mise en œuvre du Cadre d'élaboration des politiques de l'Ontario en éducation des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits, le Ministère a indiqué que tous les conseils scolaires devraient se doter d'un processus formel, comme l'établissement d'un conseil consultatif de l'éducation autochtone (CCEA), pour soutenir la mise en œuvre locale du Cadre. Les CCEA aident les conseils scolaires et les écoles à forger des liens plus solides avec leurs collectivités, à échanger de l'information, à recenser les pratiques prometteuses et à intensifier la collaboration afin de favoriser le rendement et le bien-être des élèves des communautés des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits.
  • Auto-identification volontaire et confidentielle des élèves autochtones : Ces données permettent au Ministère, aux conseils scolaires et aux écoles de comprendre la démographie des apprenants métis, inuits et des Premières Nations et de mettre en œuvre des stratégies ciblées qui exploitent les forces de ces élèves et répondent à leurs besoins particuliers.
  • Accroissement des partenariats :
    • En 2009, l'Ontario et la Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO) ont signé un protocole d'entente dans lequel ils s'engageaient à collaborer de façon permanente en vue d'améliorer les résultats des élèves métis de la province. Le protocole favorise l'établissement de liens de collaboration entre les communautés métisses, les conseils scolaires et les partenaires du secteur de l'éducation. Cette démarche comprend la reconnaissance et la préservation de l'histoire, de l'identité et de la culture du peuple métis et de sa contribution à l'Ontario. Le 15 décembre 2015, la MNO a signé un nouveau protocole d'entente avec le ministère de l'Éducation de l'Ontario.
    • Dans un protocole d'entente signé en 2013, l'Ontario, le Canada et la Nation nishnawbe-aski se sont engagés à collaborer en vue d'améliorer les résultats scolaires des élèves des Premières Nations dans les écoles administrées par les Premières Nations et financées par les fonds publics de l'Ontario. Il s'agit de la première entente tripartite en éducation signée en Ontario. Les priorités d'action du protocole sont :
      • les services d'appui aux élèves;
      • l'amélioration du curriculum;
      • la gouvernance et l'administration;
      • les ressources humaines;
      • la participation des parents.
    • Le 27 février 2017, le Canada, l'Ontario et l'Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians ont signé un protocole d'entente sur l'éducation des Premières Nations – la deuxième entente tripartite en éducation signée en Ontario – dans le cadre du Programme des partenariats en éducation. Le protocole a pour but d'améliorer :
      • les résultats scolaires des élèves provenant des collectivités des Premières Nations participantes;
      • les ressources éducatives existantes et la capacité professionnelle;
      • les connaissances et les pratiques exemplaires;
      • la sensibilisation au savoir autochtone et aux méthodes d'apprentissage des Premières Nations.
    • En août 2017, le ministère de l'Éducation a signé avec les Premières Nations participantes l'Entente-cadre sur l'éducation. Cette entente historique décrit les liens entre le système d'éducation Anishinabek et le système d'éducation financé par les fonds publics de la province, ainsi que les engagements pris par les parties. L'entente soutient également :
      • la transition des élèves entre les écoles des Premières Nations Anishinabek et celles du système d'éducation financé par les fonds publics de la province;
      • la promotion de la langue et de la culture Anishinabek et la sensibilisation à l'histoire, aux perspectives et aux contributions des Premières Nations Anishinabek dans les écoles des Premières Nations Anishinabek et les écoles financées par les fonds publics de la province;
      • l'engagement et la participation des élèves, des parents, des familles et des collectivités dans l'atteinte de l'objectif d'améliorer le rendement et le bien-être des élèves.
    • Le 27 novembre 2017, le ministère de l'Éducation a officialisé sa relation de travail avec Tungasuvvingat Inuit (TI) en signant un protocole d'entente – le premier protocole du genre signé entre la province et la communauté inuite. Ce protocole appuie :
      • les liens de collaboration entre les communautés inuites, les conseils scolaires et les partenaires du secteur de l'éducation, afin de favoriser la réussite des élèves;
      • l'intégration de la culture, des valeurs et des traditions du peuple inuit dans l'élaboration d'initiatives d'éducation provinciales.

Commission de vérité et réconciliation

Le 30 mai 2016, l'Ontario a publié Cheminer ensemble : l'engagement de l'Ontario envers la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones. Dans sa réponse au rapport de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation, l'Ontario a pris les nouveaux engagements suivants :

Classification des écoles des Premières Nations dans la Loi sur l'éducation

L'Ontario étudiera la possibilité de créer une classification pour les écoles des Premières Nations administrées par le gouvernement fédéral. Cette mesure pourrait renforcer la collaboration entre le système d'éducation financé par les fonds publics de la province et les écoles des Premières Nations, et contribuer à accroître la capacité (p. ex., perfectionnement professionnel et ressources d'apprentissage) dans les écoles des Premières Nations.

Soutien aux langues autochtones

La langue est le fondement de la culture. Les peuples autochtones possèdent une forte tradition de récits oraux qui doit être appuyée par un nouveau respect des langues autochtones et une meilleure compréhension de ces langues.

Du 29 mai au 1er juin 2017, le ministère de l'Éducation et le ministère de l'Enseignement supérieur et de la Formation professionnelle ont organisé ensemble le symposium sur les langues autochtones Gidinwewininaanan, No Lang avec des partenaires autochtones et des intervenantes et intervenants du secteur de l'éducation. Ce symposium a été l'occasion de revoir les programmes en place, de cerner les lacunes et de déterminer les priorités de la communauté et les ressources nécessaires à la promotion des langues autochtones.

Le symposium sur les langues autochtones Gidinwewininaanan, No Lang constituait la première étape d'une stratégie pluriannuelle et concertée de développement et de mise en œuvre du plan de l'Ontario visant à soutenir la revitalisation des langues autochtones.

En réponse aux besoins recensés pendant le symposium, les ministères de l'Éducation et de l'Enseignement supérieur et de la Formation professionnelle ont lancé, en décembre 2017, un appel de propositions dans le cadre de la création du Fonds pour les langues autochtones, afin de soutenir les projets communautaires à court terme visant à revitaliser les langues autochtones. Un montant de 10 millions de dollars sera disponible sur une période de deux ans.

L'appel de propositions a pris fin le 22 janvier 2018. Les projets ont été évalués par un comité composé de représentants des ministères et de partenaires autochtones. La province finance plus de 40 projets visant à soutenir la promotion et la revitalisation des langues autochtones.

Le Fonds pour les langues autochtones a pour but de soutenir un large éventail d'activités et de priorités en matière de langues recensées par nos partenaires. Ces activités comprennent la recherche, l'engagement communautaire et la planification communautaire à long terme, et la création d'outils et de ressources visant à soutenir l'apprentissage des langues et à assurer un meilleur accès aux cours de langues pour les personnes de tous âges dans la province.

Curriculum

La province continue de collaborer avec des partenaires autochtones pour améliorer le curriculum de l'Ontario, afin d'intégrer l'apprentissage obligatoire sur les pensionnats indiens, les traités, les séquelles du colonialisme et les droits et les responsabilités que nous avons tous les uns envers les autres en tant que personnes visées par les traités.

Le curriculum a été révisé à l'été 2016 et à l'hiver 2017. Ces révisions tenaient compte des commentaires des survivantes et des survivants des pensionnats indiens, des partenaires métis, inuits et des Premières Nations et des intervenants du secteur de l'éducation. Des révisions ont notamment été apportées aux programmes-cadres d'études sociales (4e à 6e année) et d'histoire (7e, 8e et 10e année). Le curriculum révisé sera mis en œuvre dans toutes les écoles en septembre 2018.

L'Ontario s'est également engagé à poursuivre sa collaboration avec ses partenaires autochtones pour réviser les programmes-cadres d'études sociales (1re à 3e année), de géographie (9e année) et de civisme et citoyenneté (10e année), ainsi que certains cours du programme-cadre d'études canadiennes et mondiales (11e et 12e année) et du programme-cadre de sciences humaines et sociales (11e et 12e année).

En juin 2017, un appel de propositions de ressources a été lancé afin d'assurer que partout dans la province le personnel enseignant et les élèves ont accès à des ressources authentiques et de qualité, et de favoriser ainsi une meilleure compréhension des membres et des communautés des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits de l'Ontario. Le ministère de l'Éducation était à la recherche de ressources qui :

  • respectent l'intention des appels à l'action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation;
  • représentent la diversité des peuples autochtones de l'Ontario;
  • proposent un contenu propre aux localités et aux régions;
  • sont développées grâce à une participation authentique et directe des peuples autochtones, y compris des communautés pertinentes, des chefs et des Aînées et Aînés;
  • sont appropriées pour l'année d'études et appuient le déploiement du curriculum révisé dans les classes de l'Ontario.

Les éducatrices et éducateurs et les élèves auront accès à ces ressources à l'automne 2018.

Les programmes d'études des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits ont été révisés pour renforcer le contenu relatif aux aspects contemporain et traditionnel des cultures, des histoires, des perspectives et de la vision mondiale des peuples autochtones. Cela comprend les séquelles des pensionnats indiens, les traités, la législation et les politiques ayant une incidence directe sur les membres et les communautés des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits. Ces révisions ont été réalisées en collaboration avec des enseignantes et des enseignants autochtones, des Aînées et des Aînés, des gardiennes et des gardiens du savoir, des sénatrices et des sénateurs métis, des représentantes et des représentants des communautés autochtones et des survivantes et des survivants des pensionnats indiens. Le programme-cadre d'Études autochtones révisé devrait être lancé au printemps 2018.

En 2014, l'Ontario a envoyé une carte des Premières Nations et une carte des traités à toutes les écoles élémentaires et secondaires de la province afin d'accroître la sensibilisation aux traités. La carte et les ressources pédagogiques qui l'accompagnent permettent d'enseigner aux élèves l'importance des traités ainsi que l'histoire commune des peuples des Premières Nations et des Ontariennes et Ontariens non autochtones. Par ailleurs, l'Ontario a proclamé la première semaine de novembre comme Semaine de reconnaissance des traités afin de sensibiliser le grand public au sujet des traités et des relations qui en découlent.

Petite enfance

Le ministère de l'Éducation investira jusqu'à 93,5 millions de dollars au cours des deux prochaines années pour favoriser les engagements dès la petite enfance dans les milieux urbains et ruraux, ainsi que dans les réserves :

  • Un montant pouvant atteindre 70 millions de dollars au cours des deux prochaines années (incluant les investissements en immobilisations) permettra d'étendre l'accès à des services de garde d'enfants et des programmes pour l'enfance et la famille offerts par des organismes dirigés par des Autochtones, grâce à 58 projets qui seront réalisés dans des collectivités urbaines et rurales.
  • L'Ontario veut élargir les programmes pour l'enfant et la famille à plus de 1 800 enfants et leurs familles vivant dans plus de 40 communautés des Premières Nations dans la province. Les programmes pour l'enfant et la famille offrent une aide, des conseils et des liens personnels adaptés à la culture, ainsi qu'un réseau de ressources et de programmes d'apprentissage par le jeu et l'enquête aux jeunes enfants et à leurs familles.