Aboriginal Education Strategy

Curriculum: Native Studies and Native Languages

Ontario’s Native Studies and Native Languages curriculum offers Aboriginal students the opportunity to study their own languages and culture, and enables all students to broaden their awareness and knowledge of Aboriginal peoples, their cultures, histories, contributions and perspectives.

The First Nations, Métis and Inuit Education Supplement

The First Nations, Métis and Inuit Education Supplement provides increased funding for Native Languages programs offered in any of the seven Native Languages recognized in the Ontario curriculum. In addition, it provides increased support to boards offering any of the ten Native Studies courses, and additional funding to support programs that assist Aboriginal students.

Native Studies

Native studies provides students in Ontario schools with a broad range of knowledge related to Aboriginal peoples to help them better understand Aboriginal issues of public interest discussed at the local, regional, and national levels. Through their involvement in Native studies, students will increase their awareness and understanding of the histories, cultures, world views, and contributions of Aboriginal peoples in Canada.  The Secondary Native Studies curriculum can be found on this website.

Native Languages

The Ontario curriculum offers studies in seven Native Languages. Language carries with it the spirit, culture, history, and philosophy of a people, and is the principal means by which culture is preserved and transmitted. Ontario’s Native Language curriculum is available to all students who want to learn a Native language and develop a better understanding of the culture of which that language forms a part. The elementary Native Languages and secondary Native Languages curricula can be found on this website.

Stratégie d'éducation autochtone

Curriculum : Études autochtones et Langues autochtones

Le curriculum des Études autochtones et des Langues autochtones de l’Ontario offre aux élèves autochtones la possibilité d’étudier leurs propres langues et cultures, et à tous les élèves de mieux prendre conscience des peuples autochtones, de leurs cultures, histoires, contributions et perspectives et d’améliorer leurs connaissances en ce domaine.

Supplément pour l’éducation des Premières nations, des Métis et des Inuits

Le Supplément pour l’éducation des Premières nations, des Métis et des Inuits accroît le financement des programmes de langues autochtones offerts dans n’importe laquelle des sept langues autochtones incluses dans le curriculum de l’Ontario. En outre, il améliore le soutien aux conseils qui offrent n’importe lesquels des dix cours en études autochtones et apporte des fonds supplémentaires aux programmes qui aident les élèves autochtones.

Études autochtones

Les études autochtones fournissent aux élèves des écoles de l’Ontario un vaste éventail de connaissances sur les peuples autochtones et les aident ainsi à mieux comprendre les questions autochtones d’intérêt public discuté aux niveaux local, régional et national. Au cours de ces études, les élèves prennent non seulement mieux conscience des histoires, des cultures, des perspectives sur le monde et des contributions des peuples autochtones au Canada mais les comprennent davantage. Le curriculum des Études autochtones au secondaire se trouve sur ce site Web.

Langues autochtones

Le curriculum de l’Ontario offre des études dans sept langues autochtones. La langue est empreinte de l’esprit, de la culture, de l’histoire et de la philosophie d’un peuple et est le principal moyen de préserver et de transmettre la culture. Le curriculum des langues autochtones de l’Ontario est offert à tous les élèves qui désirent apprendre une de ces langues et mieux comprendre la culture dont elle fait partie. Le curriculum des Langues autochtones à l’élémentaire et des Langues autochtones au secondaire se trouve sur ce site Web.