What People Are Saying About Ontario's New Nutrition Standards

January 15, 2010

Ontario Registered Dietitians see the implementation of nutrition standards for schools as a valuable contribution to the health and well-being of Ontario students. Healthy food choices available at schools that reinforce a healthy eating classroom education is a significant achievement that has the potential to have a broader influence in achieving a healthier population.
Linda Dietrich, MEd, RD, Dietitians of Canada, Regional Executive Director, Central and Southern Ontario

The School Food and Beverage Policy is a significant move toward creating healthier schools. We look forward to the collaborations between school boards and Boards of Health and public health professionals to implement the nutrition standards.
Cindy Scythes, MSc, Registered Dietitian, Manager, Nutrition Resource Centre

The School Food and Beverage Policy is as a positive step toward creating healthy school environments and improving the nutritional health of Ontario students.  Our members look forward to supporting school boards with implementation of the policy.
Kathy Page, Registered Dietitian, Co-chair, Ontario Society of Nutrition Professionals in Public Health

Schools have an important role to play in creating supportive environments for health. We applaud the Ministry of Education's School Food and Beverage Policy with its emphasis on nutrition standards, and look forward to its comprehensive roll-out involving public health and other partners. The policy holds potential in ensuring that the food and beverages sold in schools contribute to students' health.
Erica Di Ruggiero, Registered Dietitian, Past Chair, Ontario Collaborative Group on Healthy Eating and Physical Activity

ARAMARK Canada Ltd. embraces the provincial government's commitment to supporting healthy school environments and is excited to continue to be an active partner in improving the nutritional quality of foods sold in Ontario schools. As a leading provider of food services, we are dedicated to fostering healthy eating habits and well balanced lifestyles within our school communities each and everyday.
Tina Horsley, MHSc, Registered Dietitian, Director of Wellness & Sustainability, ARAMARK Canada

The School Food and Beverage Policy is bold and straightforward. If you want to create a healthier food environment at school, first define the healthier options that support this goal and then provide the resources and support needed to make this change sustainable. We applaud the Ministry of Education for mandating policies that contribute to a healthier future for the children of Ontario.
Ruthie Burd, President and Founder, The Lunch Lady Group Inc.

Real Food for Real Kids views this policy as an excellent framework on which we will build a healthier future for our children. Well done!
David Farnell, CEO, Real Food for Real Kids Inc

Quelques commentaires sur les nouvelles normes d'alimentation de l'Ontario

Le 15 janvier 2010

Pour les diététistes professionnels de l'Ontario, l'application de ces normes constitue une contribution importante à la santé et au bien-être des élèves ontariens. Les choix alimentaires sains dans les écoles, qui renforcent les leçons apprises en classe sur la bonne alimentation sont un grand accomplissement qui pourrait avoir une influence plus vaste sur la santé de la population.
Linda Dietrich, M.Ed., Dt.P., Diététistes du Canada, directrice régionale, Centre et Sud de l'Ontario

La Politique concernant les aliments et les boissons dans les écoles constitue un pas important pour créer des écoles plus saines. Nous nous réjouissons de la collaboration entre les conseils scolaires, les conseils de santé et les professionnels de la santé publique en vue de mettre en œuvre les normes d'alimentation.
Cindy Scythes, M.Sc., Dt.P., directrice, Nutrition Resource Centre

La Politique concernant les aliments et les boissons dans les écoles est une étape positive pour créer des milieux scolaires plus sains et améliorer la santé nutritionnelle des élèves ontariens. Nos membres appuieront avec plaisir les conseils scolaires dans l'application de cette politique.
Kathy Page, Dt.P., co-présidente de la Société ontarienne des professionnel(le)s de nutrition en santé publique

Les écoles ont un rôle important à jouer dans la création d'un environnement sain. Nous applaudissons la Politique concernant les aliments et les boissons dans les écoles, que le ministère de l'Éducation vient d'adopter et qui met les normes d'alimentation au premier plan. Nous attendons avec intérêt son application à grande échelle avec la participation des partenaires de la santé publique et d'autres intervenants. Cette politique permettra de garantir que les aliments et boissons vendus dans les écoles contribuent à la santé des élèves.
Erica Di Ruggiero, Dt.P., ancienne présidente de l'Ontario Collaborative Group on Healthy Eating and Physical Activity

ARAMARK Canada Ltd. appuie fermement l'engagement pris par le gouvernement provincial de favoriser les milieux scolaires sains, et c'est avec grand enthousiasme que notre société souhaite poursuivre son partenariat actif en vue d'améliorer la qualité nutritionnelle des aliments vendus dans les écoles de l'Ontario. Un des fournisseurs principaux du secteur des services alimentaires, nous sommes résolus à promouvoir des habitudes alimentaires saines et un style de vie bien équilibré au sein de nos communautés scolaires, tous les jours sans exception.
Tina Horsley,  Dt.P., M.Sc.S., directrice, Bien-être et durabilité, ARAMARK Canada

La Politique concernant les aliments et les boissons dans les écoles est audacieuse et directe. Pour améliorer l'alimentation des élèves à l'école, il faut d'abord définir les options saines qui permettront d'atteindre cet objectif, puis fournir les ressources et le soutien nécessaires pour rendre ce changement durable. Nous félicitons le ministère de l'Éducation pour ces politiques obligatoires qui contribuent à donner aux enfants ontariens un avenir plus sain.
Ruthie Burd, présidente et fondatrice, The Lunch Lady Group, Inc.

Selon Real Food for Real Kids, cette politique est un excellent cadre sur lequel nous pouvons bâtir un avenir plus sain pour nos enfants. Félicitations!
David Farnell, PDG, Real Food for Real Kids