Policy/Program Memorandum No. 153

Date of Issue: May 25, 2010
Effective: May 25, 2010, until revoked or modified

Subject: APPLICATIONS FOR TEMPORARY LETTERS OF APPROVAL

Application: Directors of Education
Secretary-Treasurers and Supervisory Officers of School Authorities

Reference: Regulation 298, “Operation of Schools – General”


INTRODUCTION

Amendments to Regulation 298, “Operation of Schools – General”, made under the Education Act, came into force on May 20, 2010. The revised Regulation 298 includes the requirements for school boards1 regarding applications for Temporary Letters of Approval. These requirements were previously set out in Ontario Regulation 184/97, “Teachers Qualifications”, made under the Ontario College of Teachers Act, 1996.

The purpose of this memorandum is to provide school boards with information on requirements for submitting an application for a Temporary Letter of Approval to the Ministry of Education, a description of the application process, and the application form.

LEGISLATIVE AUTHORITY

The Minister of Education has the authority under the Education Act to grant a Temporary Letter of Approval, for a period of up to one year, authorizing a school board to assign or appoint a teacher2 to teach a subject, to teach in a division, or to hold a position, where the teacher does not have the required qualifications. The Minister also has the authority, subject to the approval of the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, to make regulations governing the granting of Temporary Letters of Approval.

The Minister has delegated authority to grant Temporary Letters of Approval to the managers of the regional offices of the ministry.

The revised Regulation 298 sets out the criteria governing the granting of a Temporary Letter of Approval, as well as the application requirements. The regulation can be found on the Ontario government website, at www.e-laws.gov.on.ca.

The following requirements apply to school boards that submit applications for Temporary Letters of Approval on or after May 25, 2010.

REQUIREMENTS FOR SCHOOL BOARDS

If a school board finds it necessary to assign or appoint a teacher to teach a subject, to teach in a division, or to hold a position for which he or she does not have the required qualifications, the board may request a Temporary Letter of Approval. A Temporary Letter of Approval is commonly required to:

  • allow a teacher who does not have a qualification in a division to be assigned to teach in the primary or junior division or to teach a general education3 subject in the intermediate or senior division;
  • allow a teacher who does not have a qualification in technological education4 to be assigned to teach a technological education subject;
  • allow a teacher who does not have a qualification in French as a second language (FSL) to be assigned to teach French as a second language;
  • allow a teacher who does not have French-language qualifications in a division to be assigned to teach in the primary or junior division where French is the language of instruction;
  • allow a teacher who does not have English-language qualifications in a division to be assigned to teach in the primary or junior division where English is the language of instruction;
  • allow a teacher who does not have a qualification in special education to be assigned to teach or be placed in charge of a special education program or class;
  • allow a teacher who does not have a qualification in teaching students who are deaf or hard of hearing or students who are blind or who have limited vision to be assigned to teach these students;
  • allow a teacher who does not have principal's qualifications to be assigned to hold a position as a principal or vice-principal.

Before submitting an application for a Temporary Letter of Approval, the school board must be satisfied that the teacher is competent to teach the subject, to teach in the division, or to hold the position, and must also ensure that the teacher has agreed to the assignment or appointment. The board should therefore assess the teacher's teaching experience and formal education credentials (including teaching qualifications), and take into consideration any other information that may be relevant. First and foremost, the school board must give consideration to providing the best possible program and ensuring the safety and well-being of the students.

Application Process for a Temporary Letter of Approval

The director of education, or other school board official authorized by the board to make the application, may submit a request for a Temporary Letter of Approval on behalf of the school board. The school board official should submit a completed Application for a Temporary Letter of Approval to the appropriate regional office of the ministry (see form at end of this memorandum).

Every Application for a Temporary Letter of Approval must include a signed declaration from the director of education, or other school board official authorized to make the application, stating that the following requirements of Regulation 298 have been met:

  • The board finds it necessary to assign a teacher to teach a subject, to teach in a division, or to hold a position for which he or she does not have the qualifications required.
  • The teacher holds a Certificate of Qualification and Registration in good standing with the Ontario College of Teachers.
  • The teacher is competent to teach the subject, to teach in the division, or to hold the position.
  • The teacher has agreed to the assignment or appointment.

The school board must be able to provide evidence that it has complied with these requirements, if asked to do so by the ministry.

Starting Date and Duration of Assignment

School boards should ensure that the anticipated starting date for the assignment for which they are requesting a Temporary Letter of Approval is later than the date of submission of the application. If a Temporary Letter of Approval is granted, it is effective as of the starting date of the assignment.

School boards must ensure that the duration of the teacher's assignment for which they are requesting a Temporary Letter of Approval does not exceed the limit of one year (that is, twelve months) that is set out in the Education Act. Subject to this limit, a Temporary Letter of Approval may be granted for a period that extends beyond the end of a school year, but ends before the beginning of the next school year, if the assignment does not conform to the regular school-year calendar.

Subsequent Requests for a Temporary Letter of Approval

A Temporary Letter of Approval may be granted for a teacher to teach a subject, to teach in a division, or to be assigned to a position for a subsequent school year. In such cases, a school board must submit a new Application for a Temporary Letter of Approval for the teacher. Each time an application is submitted, the director of education, or other board official who is authorized by the board to make the application, must certify that the board finds it necessary to assign a teacher to teach a subject, to teach in a division, or to hold a position for which he or she does not have the required qualifications.

School boards are expected to encourage teachers assigned under a Temporary Letter of Approval to make reasonable efforts to complete qualifications for the particular subject area, division, or position to ensure that they are qualified for that particular assignment in subsequent school years.

SCHOOL BOARD REVIEW OF TEMPORARY LETTERS OF APPROVAL

School board staffing committees (or the equivalent) are requested to review and discuss on an annual basis data provided by the ministry on Temporary Letters of Approval.

MINISTRY CONTACT

School board officials who have questions about the revised Temporary Letter of Approval application process should contact their local ministry regional office.

APPLICATION FOR A TEMPORARY LETTER OF APPROVAL

This document is available as a PDF (36 KB)


1. In this memorandum, school board(s) and board(s) refer to district school boards and school authorities.

2. In this memorandum, teacher refers to a certified member of the Ontario College of Teachers in good standing.

3. General education, as defined in section 1 of Regulation 298, refers to the curriculum described in the ministry's secondary curriculum policy documents, with the exception of the technological education curriculum policy documents for Grades 9 to 12.

4. Technological education, as defined in section 1 of Regulation 298, refers to the curriculum described in the ministry's secondary curriculum policy documents entitled The Ontario Curriculum, Grades 9 and 10: Technological Education, 2009 and The Ontario Curriculum, Grades 11 and 12: Technological Education, 2009.

Politique/Programmes Note nº 153

Date d'émission : Le 25 mai 2010
En vigueur : À compter du 25 mai 2010 et jusqu'à abrogation ou modification

Objet : DEMANDE D'APPROBATION TEMPORAIRE

À l'attention des : Directrices et directeurs de l'éducation

Référence : Règlement de l'Ontario 298, Fonctionnement des écoles – Dispositions générales


INTRODUCTION

Des modifications apportées au Règlement de l'Ontario 298, Fonctionnement des écoles – Dispositions générales, pris en application de la Loi sur l'éducation, sont entrées en vigueur le 20 mai 2010. La version révisée du Règlement 298 comprend les exigences pour les conseils scolaires1 concernant les demandes d'approbation temporaire. Ces exigences figuraient auparavant dans le Règlement de l'Ontario 184/97, Teachers Qualifications (qualifications requises pour enseigner), pris en application de la Loi de 1996 sur l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario.

La présente note vise à informer les conseils scolaires concernant les exigences relatives à la présen­tation d'une demande d'approbation temporaire au ministère de l'Éducation, le processus de demande et le formulaire de demande.

AUTORISATION LÉGISLATIVE

Aux termes de la Loi sur l'éducation, la ministre de l'Éducation a le pouvoir d'accorder une approbation temporaire pour une durée d'un an qui autorise un conseil scolaire à affecter une enseignante ou un enseignant2 à l'enseignement d'une matière particulière ou d'un cycle particulier, ou à nommer cette personne à un poste donné, si elle n'a pas les qualifications exigées. La ministre a aussi, sous réserve de l'approbation du lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil, l'autorisation de prendre des règlements régissant l'octroi d'une approbation temporaire.

La ministre a délégué le pouvoir d'accorder une approbation temporaire aux chefs des bureaux régionaux du Ministère.

La version révisée du Règlement 298 prévoit les critères régissant l'octroi d'une approbation temporaire ainsi que les exigences pour la présentation d'une demande. Le règlement peut être consulté sur le site Web du gouvernement de l'Ontario au www.e-laws.gov.on.ca.

Les exigences qui suivent s'appliquent aux conseils scolaires qui présentent une demande d'approbation temporaire à compter du 25 mai 2010.

EXIGENCES S'APPLIQUANT AUX CONSEILS SCOLAIRES

Lorsqu'un conseil scolaire juge nécessaire d'affecter ou de nommer une enseignante ou un enseignant pour enseigner une matière particulière, pour enseigner dans un cycle particulier ou pour occuper un poste pour lesquels cette personne n'a pas les qualifications exigées, le conseil peut demander une approbation temporaire. Une telle demande est généralement nécessaire pour :

  • permettre à l'enseignante ou l'enseignant qui n'a pas les qualifications pour enseigner dans un cycle d'être affecté pour enseigner au cycle primaire ou moyen, ou pour enseigner une matière d'ensei­gnement général3 au cycle intermédiaire ou supérieur;
  • permettre à l'enseignante ou l'enseignant qui n'a pas les qualifications pour enseigner l'éducation technologique4 d'être affecté pour enseigner une matière d'éducation technologique;
  • permettre à l'enseignante ou l'enseignant qui n'a pas les qualifications pour enseigner le français langue seconde (FSL) d'être affecté pour enseigner un tel cours si l'anglais est la langue d'enseignement;
  • permettre à l'enseignante ou l'enseignant qui n'a pas les qualifications pour enseigner en français dans un cycle d'être affecté à enseigner au cycle primaire ou moyen si le français est la langue d'enseignement;
  • permettre à l'enseignante ou l'enseignant qui n'a pas les qualifications pour enseigner en anglais dans un cycle d'être affecté à enseigner au cycle primaire ou moyen si l'anglais est la langue d'enseignement;
  • permettre à l'enseignante ou l'enseignant qui n'a pas les qualifications pour enseigner à des élèves ayant des besoins particuliers d'être affecté à le faire ou d'être responsable d'un programme ou d'une classe pour ces élèves;
  • permettre à l'enseignante ou l'enseignant qui n'a pas les qualifications pour enseigner à des élèves sourds ou malentendants, ou à des élèves aveugles ou ayant une vision partielle d'être affecté à le faire;
  • permettre à l'enseignante ou l'enseignant qui n'a pas les qualifications pour être directrice ou directeur d'école d'être affecté à un tel poste ou au poste de directrice ou directeur adjoint.

Avant de présenter une demande d'approbation temporaire, le conseil scolaire doit s'assurer que l'enseignante ou l'enseignant possède les compétences pour enseigner la matière particulière, pour enseigner dans le cycle particulier ou pour occuper le poste en question, et doit aussi vérifier que la personne consent à l'affectation ou à la nomination. Par conséquent, le conseil doit évaluer l'expérience en enseignement et les titres de compétence (y compris les qualifications en matière d'enseignement) de l'enseignante ou de l'enseignant et tenir compte de tout autre renseignement pertinent. Le conseil scolaire doit, d'abord et avant tout, se préoccuper d'offrir le meilleur programme possible et de s'assurer de la sécurité et du bien-être des élèves.

Processus de demande d'une approbation temporaire

La directrice ou le directeur de l'éducation, ou une autre personne représentant le conseil et autorisée par lui à présenter une demande, peut demander une approbation temporaire au nom du conseil scolaire. Une fois une telle demande remplie, la représentante ou le représentant du conseil doit la présenter au bureau régional compétent du Ministère (consulter le formulaire en fin de note).

Toute demande d'approbation temporaire doit comprendre une déclaration signée par la directrice ou le directeur de l'éducation, ou par une autre personne représentant le conseil, indiquant que les exigences suivantes du Règlement 298 ont été satisfaites :

  • Le conseil juge nécessaire d'affecter ou de nommer une enseignante ou un enseignant pour enseigner une matière particulière, pour enseigner dans un cycle particulier ou pour occuper un poste pour lesquels cette personne n'a pas les qualifications exigées.
  • L'enseignante ou l'enseignant est titulaire d'un certificat de qualification et d'inscription en règle de l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario.
  • L'enseignante ou l'enseignant a les compétences pour enseigner la matière, enseigner dans le cycle ou occuper le poste.
  • L'enseignante ou l'enseignant consent à l'affectation ou à la nomination.

Le conseil scolaire doit être en mesure de fournir les preuves attestant qu'il a respecté ces exigences si le Ministère le demande.

Date du début et durée de l'affectation

Le conseil scolaire doit s'assurer que la date prévue du début de l'affectation pour laquelle il demande une approbation temporaire est postérieure à la date de présentation de la demande. L'approbation temporaire accordée entre en vigueur à compter de la date du début de l'affectation.

Le conseil scolaire doit vérifier que la durée de l'affectation de l'enseignante ou de l'enseignant pour laquelle il demande une approbation temporaire ne dépasse pas le maximum d'un an (douze mois) tel que prévu dans la Loi sur l'éducation. Sous réserve de ce maximum, une approbation temporaire peut être accordée pour une période qui dépasse la fin de l'année scolaire, mais qui se termine avant le début de l'année scolaire suivante si l'affectation ne suit pas le calendrier habituel de l'année scolaire.

Demande d'approbation temporaire suivante

Une approbation temporaire peut être accordée afin qu'une enseignante ou un enseignant enseigne une matière particulière, enseigne dans un cycle particulier ou soit affecté à un poste pendant une année scolaire suivante. Dans ce cas, le conseil scolaire doit présenter une nouvelle demande d'approbation temporaire pour l'enseignante ou l'enseignant. Pour chaque demande, la directrice ou le directeur de l'éducation, ou la personne le représentant, doit certifier que le conseil estime nécessaire d'affecter à un poste, à l'enseignement d'une matière particulière ou à l'enseignement dans un cycle particulier, une enseignante ou un enseignant qui n'a pas les qualifications exigées.

On s'attend à ce que les conseils scolaires encouragent les enseignantes et enseignants affectés aux termes d'une approbation temporaire à faire des efforts raisonnables pour obtenir les qualifications exigées pour la matière, le cycle ou le poste particuliers afin qu'ils soient qualifiés pour cette affectation les années scolaires suivantes.

EXAMEN DES APPROBATIONS TEMPORAIRES PAR LES CONSEILS SCOLAIRES

Les comités de dotation en personnel des conseils scolaires (ou leur équivalent) devraient examiner annuellement les données fournies par le Ministère concernant les approbations temporaires.

PERSONNE-RESSOURCE DU MINISTÈRE

Toute question des représentantes et représentants des conseils scolaires au sujet de la révision du processus de demande des approbations temporaires doit être adressée au bureau régional du Ministère.

DEMANDE D'APPROBATION TEMPORAIRE

Cet annexe est disponible en format PDF (32 Ko).

1. Dans la présente note, les termes conseil scolaire et conseil désignent les conseils scolaires de district.

2. Dans la présente note, les termes enseignante ou enseignant désignent un membre agréé en règle de l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario.

3. Un enseignement général, tel que défini dans l'article 1 du Règlement 298, concerne le curriculum décrit dans les programmes-cadres du palier secondaire du Ministère, à l'exclusion des programmes-cadres d'éducation technologique de la 9e à la 12e année.

4. Une éducation technologique, telle que définie dans l'article 1 du Règlement 298, concerne le curriculum décrit dans les programmes-cadres suivants : Le curriculum de l'Ontario 9e et 10e année, Éducation technologique, 2009 (révisé) et Le curriculum de l'Ontario 11e et 12e année, Éducation technologique, 2009 (révisé).