Policy/Program Memorandum No. 152

Date of Issue: February 12, 2010
Effective: Until revoked or modified
Subject: TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF EMPLOYMENT OF PRINCIPALS AND VICE-PRINCIPALS

Application: Directors of Education
Secretary-Treasurers and Supervisory Officers of School Authorities


INTRODUCTION

Ontario's publicly funded education system supports and reflects the democratic values of fairness, equity, and respect for all. Recognizing the importance of education, the Ontario government has established the following three core priorities:

  • high levels of student achievement
  • reduced gaps in student achievement
  • increased public confidence in publicly funded education

In Reach Every Student: Energizing Ontario Education, 2008, the government reaffirmed its support for the role of the principal with a commitment to develop a more comprehensive leadership strategy. In September 2008, the Premier launched the Ontario Leadership Strategy, the goals of which are to attract the right people to become principals and to help them develop into the best possible instructional leaders. Key components of the Ontario Leadership Strategy include mentoring for all newly appointed principals and vice-principals in their first two years of practice, performance appraisal of principals and vice-principals, and promotion of the Leadership Framework, as well as succession planning and talent development to ensure the best possible leadership in the years ahead.

The Ontario Leadership Strategy also focuses on establishing terms and conditions of employment for principals and vice-principals that are consistent across the province. In 2005, the government first introduced the idea of consistent terms and conditions in the discussion paper entitled Leading Education: New Supports for Principals and Vice-principals in Ontario Publicly Funded Schools. To support the government’s commitment to establishing province-wide terms and conditions and to determine effective practices, the ministry facilitated joint meetings of associations of principals, supervisory officers, and directors of education from November 2008 to April 2009. As a result, in April 2009, the document entitled Effective Practices Guide for Principal/Vice-principal Terms and Conditions of Employment was released.

School culture is a significant determining factor in student learning, and the principal, as instructional leader, is critical to establishing this culture. Leadership and its impact on student achievement and well-being in a school board1 is the shared responsibility of the management team, and each member of that team plays a significant role. As part of the management team, principals2 and vice-principals are the link at the school level between the board, teachers, support staff, students, and parents,3 all of whom are focused on student achievement and well-being. The development of clear terms and conditions of employment is an integral component of good succession planning and is seen as a factor to help attract potential school leaders.

PURPOSE

The purpose of this memorandum is to set out provincial standards of practice to assist school boards in establishing terms and conditions of employment of principals and vice-principals that are consistent province-wide.

REQUIREMENTS FOR BOARDS

All boards will implement this memorandum by March 31, 2011. School boards with existing terms and conditions for the employment of principals and vice-principals will review their document to ensure that it is in accordance with the requirements outlined in this memorandum. School boards without existing terms and conditions will develop a document that is in accordance with these requirements.

STANDARDS OF PRACTICE FOR ESTABLISHING TERMS AND CONDITIONS

The Negotiation Process

When negotiating terms and conditions of employment, the local parties shall use the following process:

  • The board of trustees may set the negotiation parameters for school board management.
  • The director of education or his or her designate(s) shall be responsible for the development, negotiation, and implementation of the terms and conditions on behalf of the board.
  • Principals and vice-principals shall have the right to representation by their local principal and vice-principal association.
  • Prior to negotiations, all parties must agree on a process for resolving impasses in negotiations and disputes in the development of the terms and conditions.
  • The parties must negotiate in good faith. Such negotiation requires the following:
    • meaningful dialogue with the purpose of reaching agreement
    • presentation of views and objectives in the context of a negotiation process that respects the interests of both parties and is aimed at finding resolutions to differences
    • recognition of the right of the employee to choose his or her spokesperson (e.g., a representative of the local principal and vice-principal association)
    • sharing of relevant information
    • a process free from reprisals and intimidation
  • Upon agreeing to the terms and conditions, the director of education, or his or her designate(s), and the representative(s) of the local principal and vice-principal association shall sign the resulting document.
  • The signed terms-and-conditions document shall be the terms and conditions for all principals and vice-principals in the board.
  • The signed terms-and-conditions document shall be made available to all principals and vice-principals in the board and to all principal and vice-principal applicants.
  • The parties shall meet as needed to discuss material issues related to the terms-and-conditions document.

Negotiated Provisions

All terms and conditions of employment for principals and vice-principals shall contain the following locally negotiated provisions:

  • the specific roles of the board and of the local principal and vice-principal association
  • a dispute-resolution process regarding the negotiations process and the interpretation and application of the contents of the document
  • procedures for discipline, demotion, suspension, and termination for just cause, including procedures for representation, appeals, and third-party assistance
  • a consultative process regarding assignments, which would include a consideration of section B1, “Transfer Provisions”, of Effective Practices Guide for Principal/Vice-principal Terms and Conditions of Employment
  • redundancy procedures, which would include a consideration of section B2, “Redundancy and Reassignment”, of Effective Practices Guide for Principal/Vice-principal Terms and Conditions of Employment
  • indemnification
  • the term of the agreement

The documents Effective Practices Guide for Principal/Vice-principal Terms and Conditions of Employment and “Questions and Answers: Terms and Conditions of Employment of Principals and Vice-principals, 2010” are provided with this memorandum to assist boards in the development of the provisions of their terms and conditions.


1. In this memorandum, school board(s) and board(s) refer to district school boards and school authorities.

2. See section 11, “Duties of Principals”, of Regulation 298, made under the Education Act.

3. In this memorandum, parent(s) refers to parent(s) and guardian(s).

Politique/Programmes Note nº 152

Date d'émission : Le 12 février 2010
En vigueur : Jusqu'à abrogation ou modification
Objet : CONDITIONS GÉNÉRALES D'EMPLOI DES DIRECTRICES ET DIRECTEURS D'ÉCOLE ET DES DIRECTRICES ADJOINTES ET DIRECTEURS ADJOINTS

À l'attention des : Directrices et directeurs de l'éducation


INTRODUCTION

Le système ontarien d'éducation financé par les fonds publics appuie et reflète les valeurs démocratiques que sont l'impartialité, l'équité et le respect pour tous. Le gouvernement de l'Ontario, en reconnaissance de l'importance que revêt l'éducation, a déterminé les trois priorités fondamentales suivantes :

  • de hauts niveaux de rendement des élèves;
  • la réduction des écarts en matière de rendement des élèves;
  • l'accroissement de la confiance du public dans l'éducation publique.

Dans le document intitulé Appuyer chaque élève : Tonifier l'éducation en Ontario, 2008, le gouvernement renouvelle son soutien aux directions d'école et aux directions adjointes en s'engageant à établir une stratégie de leadership plus complète. En septembre 2008, le premier ministre a lancé la Stratégie ontarienne en matière de leadership, qui a pour objectif d'attirer les personnes compétentes aux postes de direction d'école et de les encadrer de façon à ce qu'elles deviennent les meilleurs leaders pédagogiques possibles. Parmi les principaux aspects de la Stratégie, mentionnons le mentorat pour les leaders scolaires nouvellement nommés offert au cours de leurs deux premières années en poste, l'évaluation de leur rendement, la promotion du Cadre de leadership de l'Ontario, ainsi que la planification de la relève et le développement de talents afin d'assurer le meilleur leadership possible pour les années à venir.

La Stratégie ontarienne en matière de leadership a aussi pour objectif d'établir des conditions d'emploi pour les directions d'école et les directions adjointes qui sont cohérentes dans l'ensemble de la province. En 2005, le gouvernement avait déjà avancé cette idée dans le document de travail intitulé Diriger l'éducation : nouveaux mécanismes de soutien aux directrices, aux directeurs, aux directrices adjointes et aux directeurs adjoints des écoles de l'Ontario financées par les deniers publics. Pour appuyer l'engagement du gouvernement à cet égard et pour relever les pratiques réussies, le Ministère a facilité des rencontres entre les représentantes et les représentants des associations de directions d'école et de directions adjointes, d'agentes et d'agents de supervision et de directions de l'éducation de novembre 2008 à avril 2009. À la suite de quoi, il a publié en avril 2009 le document intitulé Guide des pratiques réussies relatives aux conditions d'emploi des directions d'école et des directions adjointes.

La culture de l'école est un facteur déterminant dans l'apprentissage des élèves et la direction d'école, en tant que leader pédagogique, joue un rôle essentiel dans l'établissement de cette culture. Le leadership au sein d'un conseil scolaire1 et son incidence sur le rendement et le bien-être des élèves relève de tous les membres de l'équipe de gestion, et chacun d'entre eux joue un rôle important. Ainsi, les directions d'école2 et les directions adjointes, en tant que membres de l'équipe de gestion, constituent le lien, au niveau de l'école, entre le conseil scolaire, le personnel enseignant, le personnel de soutien, les élèves et les parents3, tous ayant comme objectif commun d'assurer le rendement des élèves et leur bien-être. Ainsi, l'élaboration de conditions d'emploi claires fait partie intégrante d'une bonne planification de la relève et est perçue comme un facteur qui contribue à attirer des leaders scolaires potentiels.

OBJECTIF

La présente note vise à établir les normes de pratiques provinciales sur lesquelles les conseils scolaires se baseront afin d'assurer la cohérence du processus d'élaboration des conditions d'emploi des directions d'école et des directions adjointes dans l'ensemble de la province.

EXIGENCES POUR LES CONSEILS SCOLAIRES

Tous les conseils doivent mettre en œuvre la présente note d'ici le 31 mars 2011. Les conseils ayant déjà des conditions d'emploi pour les postes de direction d'école et de direction adjointe devront s'assurer que celles-ci sont conformes aux exigences énoncées dans la présente note, et ceux n'en ayant pas devront se servir de ces exigences pour créer des conditions d'emploi.

NORMES DE PRATIQUES POUR L'ÉTABLISSEMENT DES CONDITIONS D'EMPLOI

Processus de négociations

Voici la démarche à suivre par les parties régionales pour négocier les conditions d'emploi :

  • Les conseillères et conseillers scolaires peuvent établir les paramètres de négociation pour l'équipe de gestion du conseil scolaire.
  • Il incombe à la direction de l'éducation ou à son mandataire (ou ses mandataires) d'assurer l'établissement, la négociation et la mise en œuvre des conditions d'emploi au nom du conseil.
  • Les directions d'école et les directions adjointes auront le droit d'être représentées par leur association régionale.
  • Avant d'amorcer les négociations, toutes les parties doivent convenir d'une méthodologie pour la résolution de différends en cas d'impasse au cours des négociations des conditions d'emploi.
  • Les parties doivent négocier en toute bonne foi, ce qui implique :
  • des échanges constructifs ayant pour objectif l'entente des interlocuteurs;
  • la présentation des points de vue et des objectifs dans le cadre d'un processus de négociations respectueux des intérêts des deux parties et visant la résolution des différends;
  • la reconnaissance du droit de l'employé de choisir sa représentante ou son représentant (p. ex., représentation de l'association des directions d'école et des directions adjointes de sa région);
  • la communication des renseignements pertinents;
  • une démarche sans représailles ni intimidation.
  • Après avoir convenu des conditions d'emploi, la direction de l'éducation ou son mandataire (ou ses mandataires) et un ou plusieurs représentants de l'association des directions d'école et des directions adjointes de la région paraphent le document.
  • Ces conditions d'emploi une fois ratifiées s'appliqueront à toutes les directions d'école et directions adjointes du conseil scolaire.
  • Ces conditions d'emploi ratifiées doivent pouvoir être consultées par toutes les directions d'école et directions adjointes du conseil scolaire et par toutes les candidates et tous les candidats à ces postes.
  • Les parties doivent se réunir, si nécessaire, pour discuter des questions pertinentes se rapportant aux conditions d'emploi.

Clauses négociées

L'ensemble des conditions d'emploi s'appliquant aux directions d'école et aux directions adjointes doit comprendre les clauses suivantes négociées régionalement :

  • Les rôles précis du conseil scolaire et de l'association régionale de directions d'école et de directions adjointes;
  • Un processus de résolution des différends concernant le processus de négociations, et son interprétation et son application;
  • Les procédures disciplinaires et les procédures de rétrogradation, de suspension et de licenciement pour motif valable, ce qui comprend les démarches de représentation, d'appel ou d'intervention d'un tiers;
  • Un processus consultatif concernant les tâches, qui tient compte de la section B.1. « Dispositions relatives au transfert » du Guide des pratiques réussies relatives aux conditions d'emploi des directions d'école et des directions adjointes;
  • Les procédures relatives à l'excédent de personnel qui tiennent compte de la section B.2. « Excédent de personnel et réaffectation » du Guide des pratiques réussies relatives aux conditions d'emploi des directions d'école et des directions adjointes;
  • L'indemnisation;
  • La durée de l'accord.

Le Guide des pratiques réussies relatives aux conditions d'emploi des directions d'école et des directions adjointes et la « Foire aux questions : Conditions d'emploi des directions d'école et des directions adjointes, 2010 » sont jointes à cette note pour aider les conseils scolaires à élaborer leurs conditions d'emploi.


1. Dans la présente note, les termes conseil scolaire et conseil s'entendent des conseils scolaires de district.

2. Article 11 du Règlement 298 : « Fonctions du directeur d'école » de la Loi sur l'éducation de l'Ontario.

3. Dans la présente note, le terme parent s'entend du père, de la mère, des tuteurs et tutrices.