Policy/Program Memorandum No. 150


Date of Issue: October 4, 2010
Effective: Until revoked or modified
Subject: SCHOOL FOOD AND BEVERAGE POLICY

Application: Directors of Education
Supervisory Officers and Secretary-Treasurers of School Authorities
Principals of Elementary Schools
Principals of Secondary Schools
Principals of Provincial and Demonstration Schools

Reference: This memorandum replaces Policy/Program Memorandum No. 150, January 15, 2010.


INTRODUCTION

The Ontario government is committed to making schools healthier places for students in order to establish the conditions needed to realize the potential of all students. A healthy school environment enhances student learning and success, and enhances students' social and emotional well-being. Schools have an important role to play in helping students lead healthier lives, including teaching students the skills to make healthy choices and reinforcing those lessons through school practices.

The purpose of this memorandum is to set out nutrition standards for food and beverages sold in publicly funded elementary and secondary schools in Ontario.

APPLICATION

School boards1 are required to ensure that all food and beverages sold on school premises for school purposes meet the requirements of this memorandum, including the nutrition standards set out in the Appendix to this memorandum, by September 1, 2011. The nutrition standards apply to all food and beverages sold in all venues (e.g., cafeterias, vending machines, tuck shops), through all programs (e.g., catered lunch programs), and at all events (e.g., bake sales, sports events).

The standards do not apply to food and beverages that are:

  • offered in schools to students at no cost;
  • brought from home or purchased off school premises and are not for resale in schools;
  • available for purchase during field trips off school premises;
  • sold in schools for non-school purposes (e.g., sold by an outside organization that is using the gymnasium after school hours for a non-school–related event);
  • sold for fundraising activities that occur off school premises;
  • sold in staff rooms.

LEGISLATIVE AUTHORITY

Paragraphs 29.3 and 29.4 of subsection 8(1) of the Education Act provide the Minister of Education with the authority to establish a policy with respect to nutrition standards for food and beverages and for any ingredient contained in food and beverages provided on school premises or in connection with a school-related activity, and to require school boards to comply with the policy.

RATIONALE FOR A SCHOOL FOOD AND BEVERAGE POLICY

The school food and beverage policy contributes to improved education and health outcomes for all students. Research shows that "health and education success are intertwined: schools cannot achieve their primary mission of education if students are not healthy"2 and that "healthy eating patterns in childhood and adolescence promote optimal childhood health, growth, and intellectual development".3

The school environment profoundly influences students' attitudes, preferences, and behaviours. Research also shows that when nutritionally inadequate food and beverages are available and promoted at school every day, even along with healthier food and beverages, it becomes increasingly difficult for students to have a healthy diet.4

The implementation of the school food and beverage policy in Ontario's publicly funded schools will contribute to reducing students' risk of developing serious, chronic diseases, such as heart disease, type 2 diabetes, and certain types of cancer.

The school food and beverage policy constitutes a comprehensive approach to the sale of food and beverages in schools province-wide. The implementation of this policy is another important step in creating healthier schools in Ontario.5 It also reinforces the knowledge, skills, and attitudes regarding healthy eating that are developed through the various subjects and disciplines in the Ontario curriculum.

NUTRITION STANDARDS

The nutrition standards embody the principles of healthy eating outlined in Canada's Food Guide, and are intended to ensure that the food and beverages sold in schools contribute to students' healthy growth and development. The nutrition standards for food and beverages are set out within the following two sections:

Nutrition Standards for Food. Food is divided into "Vegetables and Fruit", "Grain Products", "Milk and Alternatives", and "Meat and Alternatives", following Canada's Food Guide. There are also "Mixed Dishes", for products that contain more than one major ingredient (e.g., pizza, pasta, soup, salads, and sandwiches), and "Miscellaneous Items", for items that are to be used in limited amounts (e.g., condiments, sauces, dips, oils, dressings) and for confectionery, which is not permitted for sale (e.g., candy, chocolate).

Nutrition Standards for Beverages. Standards for beverages are provided separately for elementary schools and secondary schools.

The above two sections outline nutrition criteria6 that food and beverages must meet in order to be sold in schools. The nutrition criteria are provided in the following categories:

Sell Most (≥ 80%). Products in this category are the healthiest options and generally have higher levels of essential nutrients and lower amounts of fat, sugar, and/or sodium. They must make up at least 80 per cent of all food choices7 that are available for sale in all venues, through all programs, and at all events. The same requirement applies to beverage choices.8

Sell Less (≤ 20%). Products in this category may have slightly higher amounts of fat, sugar, and/or sodium than food and beverages in the "Sell Most" category. They must make up no more than 20 per cent of all food choices that are available for sale in all venues, through all programs, and at all events. The same requirement applies to beverage choices.

Not Permitted for Sale. Products in this category generally contain few or no essential nutrients and/or contain high amounts of fat, sugar, and/or sodium (e.g., deep-fried and other fried foods, confectionery). Food and beverages in this category may not be sold in schools.

Often a type of food or beverage (e.g., bread, meat, cheese) will fit in all three of the above categories, depending on its nutritional value. To determine whether a specific product may be sold in schools, it is necessary to read the information on the food label – particularly the Nutrition Facts table and the ingredient list – and compare this information with the nutrition criteria.

Food should always be prepared in a healthy way – that is, using cooking methods that require little or no added fat or sodium, such as baking, barbequing, boiling, broiling, grilling, microwaving, poaching, roasting, steaming, or stir-frying.

EXEMPTION FOR SPECIAL-EVENT DAYS

The school principal may designate up to ten days (or fewer, as determined by the school board) during the school year as special-event days on which food and beverages sold in schools would be exempt from the nutrition standards outlined in this memorandum. The school principal must consult with the school council prior to designating a day as a special-event day. School principals are encouraged to consult with their students in making these decisions.

Notwithstanding this exemption, on special-event days, schools are encouraged to sell food and beverages that meet the nutrition standards set out in this memorandum.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

The following requirements must also be met:

  • School boards must comply with Ontario Regulation 200/08, "Trans Fat Standards", and any other applicable regulations made under the Education Act.
  • Principals must take into consideration strategies developed under the school board's policy on anaphylaxis to reduce the risk of exposure to anaphylactic causative agents.
  • Food and beverages must be prepared, served, and stored in accordance with Regulation 562, "Food Premises", as amended, made under the Health Protection and Promotion Act.
  • School boards must ensure that students have access to drinking water during the school day.
  • The diversity of students and staff must be taken into consideration in order to accommodate religious and/or cultural needs.

PRACTICES FOR CONSIDERATION

Boards and schools should take into consideration the following when food or beverages are sold or provided in schools:

  • Offer, when available and where possible, food and beverages that are produced in Ontario.
  • Be environmentally aware (e.g., reduce food waste, reuse containers, recycle food scraps).
  • Avoid offering food or beverages as a reward or an incentive for good behaviour, achievement, or participation.

IMPLEMENTATION AND MONITORING

Any existing school board policies or guidelines related to food and beverages sold in schools must be in accordance with this memorandum. The ministry recognizes that there may be differences in approaches and implementation at the local level. School boards and schools are encouraged to continue to work with students, parents, school staff, community members, public health professionals, and food service providers to ensure that appropriate strategies are in place to implement this memorandum.

School boards are encouraged to consult with their board of health to implement the nutrition standards. Under Ontario Public Health Standards, 2008, boards of health have a mandate to work with school boards and schools on healthy eating in schools.

School boards are responsible for monitoring the implementation of this memorandum.

At the end of the 2010-11 school year, school boards will be required to attest that they will be in full compliance with this memorandum on September 1, 2011.

For more information on support that is available to assist with implementation, see www.ontario.ca/healthyschools.

1. In this memorandum, school board(s) and board(s) refer to district school boards and school authorities.

2. M. M. Storey, M. S. Nanney, and M. B. Schwartz, "Schools and Obesity Prevention: Creating School Environments and Policies to Promote Healthy Eating and Physical Activity", The Milbank Quarterly, 87(1), (2009), p. 72.

3. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Guidelines for School Health Programs to Promote Lifelong Healthy Eating, MMWR 1996;45 (No. RR-9), p. 1.

4. Dietitians of Canada, "School Food and Nutrition Recommendations for Ontario Ministry of Education Regarding Snacks and Beverages Dispensed by Vending Machines", p. 3, published with Ontario Ministry of Education, Policy/Program Memorandum No. 135, "Healthy Foods and Beverages in Elementary School Vending Machines", October 20, 2004.

5. For further information, see Foundations for a Healthy School.

6. The nutrition criteria are based on scientific research, on the Canadian Food Inspection Agency's Guide to Labelling and Advertising, on a cross-jurisdiction scan, and on market research on available food and beverage products.

7. The following are examples of food choices: a bran muffin is one food choice and a banana muffin is another food choice; an apple is one food choice and an orange is another food choice.

8. The following are examples of beverage choices: plain milk is one beverage choice and chocolate milk is another beverage choice; orange juice is one beverage choice and apple juice is another beverage choice.

Appendix: Nutrition Standards For Ontario Schools

Politique/Programmes Note n° 150

Date d'émission : Le 4 octobre 2010
En vigueur : Jusqu'à abrogation ou modification
Objet : POLITIQUE CONCERNANT LES ALIMENTS ET LES BOISSONS DANS LES ÉCOLES

À l'attention des : Directrices et directeurs de l'éducation
Directrices et directeurs des écoles élémentaires
Directrices et directeurs des écoles secondaires
Directrices et directeurs des écoles provinciales et des écoles d'application
Surintendante du Centre Jules-Léger

Référence : Cette note remplace la note Politique/programmes n° 150, datée du 15 janvier 2010.


INTRODUCTION

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario s'engage à faire des écoles des lieux plus sains pour les élèves afin de leur offrir les conditions nécessaires à la réalisation de leur plein potentiel. Un milieu scolaire sain est un milieu qui favorise l'apprentissage et la réussite des élèves, et contribue à leur bien-être social et affectif. Les écoles ont un important rôle à jouer pour aider les élèves à mener une vie plus saine, notamment en enseignant aux élèves les habiletés nécessaires pour faire des choix sains et en renforçant ces habiletés par une mise en pratique en milieu scolaire.

La présente note a pour but d'établir des normes d'alimentation concernant la vente d'aliments et de boissons dans les écoles élémentaires et secondaires financées par les fonds publics en Ontario.

APPLICATION

Les conseils scolaires1 doivent veiller à ce que tous les aliments et boissons en vente dans les lieux scolaires dans le cadre d'activités scolaires soient conformes d'ici le 1er septembre 2011 aux exigences de cette note, y compris aux normes d'alimentation établies dans l'annexe de cette note. Les normes d'alimentation ainsi établies s'appliquent à tous les aliments et boissons en vente, quels que soient l'endroit (p. ex. cafétérias, distributeurs automatiques, kiosques à confiseries), le programme (p. ex. programme de repas préparés) et l'occasion (p. ex. vente de pâtisseries, événement sportif).

Ces normes ne s'appliquent pas aux aliments ni aux boissons qui :

  • sont offerts gratuitement aux élèves dans les écoles;
  • sont apportés de la maison ou achetés en dehors des lieux scolaires et ne sont pas destinés à la revente à l'école;
  • peuvent être achetés à l'occasion de sorties scolaires, en dehors des lieux scolaires;
  • sont en vente dans les écoles à des fins non scolaires (p. ex. mis en vente par un organisme extérieur qui se sert du gymnase après les heures d'école pour une activité non scolaire);
  • sont vendus pour des levées de fonds en dehors des lieux scolaires;
  • sont vendus dans les salles du personnel.

AUTORISATION LÉGISLATIVE

En vertu des dispositions 29.3 et 29.4 du paragraphe 8 (1)de la Loi sur l'éducation, la ministre de l'Éducation a l'autorité nécessaire pour établir une politique concernant les normes d'alimentation applicables aux aliments et aux boissons, et à tout ingrédient que contiennent les aliments et les boissons qui sont offerts sur les lieux scolaires ou dans le cadre d'activités scolaires, et pour exiger des conseils scolaires qu'ils se conforment à la politique.

RAISON D'ÊTRE D'UNE POLITIQUE CONCERNANT LES ALIMENTS ET LES BOISSONS DANS LES ÉCOLES

L'établissement d'une politique concernant les aliments et les boissons dans les écoles contribue à améliorer les résultats d'apprentissage et la santé de tous les élèves. D'après les recherches, « la santé et la réussite scolaire sont étroitement liées; les écoles ne peuvent pas remplir leur mission éducative principale si les élèves ne sont pas en bonne santé2 » et « des habitudes alimentaires saines durant l'enfance et l'adolescence favorisent une santé, une croissance et un développement intellectuel optimaux3 ».

Le milieu scolaire influe profondément sur les comportements des élèves, leurs préférences et leur attitude. Des études montrent aussi que, lorsque l'on met tous les jours à la disposition des élèves des aliments et des boissons ne présentant pas les qualités nutritives adéquates et qu'on en fait la promotion, même à côté d'aliments et de boissons plus sains, il devient de plus en plus difficile pour les élèves d'avoir une alimentation saine4.

La mise en œuvre d'une politique concernant les aliments et les boissons dans les écoles financées par les fonds publics en Ontario contribuera à réduire le risque pour les élèves d'avoir des maladies chroniques graves comme des maladies cardiaques, le diabète de type 2 et certains types de cancer.

La politique concernant les aliments et les boissons représente une approche globale de la vente d'aliments et de boissons dans les écoles de toute la province. La mise en œuvre de cette politique constitue une autre étape importante pour aider les écoles de l'Ontario à être plus saines5. Elle renforce aussi les connaissances, les compétences et les comportements développés dans diverses matières et disciplines du curriculum de l'Ontario qui portent sur une saine alimentation.

NORMES D'ALIMENTATION

Les normes d'alimentation intègrent les principes d'alimentation saine du Guide alimentaire canadien et ont pour but de voir à ce que les aliments et les boissons en vente dans les écoles contribuent à la croissance et au développement sains des élèves. Ces normes pour les aliments et les boissons sont indiquées dans les deux rubriques suivantes :

Normes d'alimentation concernant les aliments. Les aliments ont été divisés en Légumes et fruits, Produits céréaliers, Lait et substituts, et Viandes et substituts, selon le Guide alimentaire canadien. Il y a aussi Plats composés, pour les produits qui contiennent plus d'un ingrédient de base (p. ex. pizza, pâtes alimentaires, soupe, salade, sandwichs) et Ingrédients divers, pour les ingrédients que l'on utilise en faible quantité (p. ex. condiments, sauces, trempettes, huiles, assaisonnements) et pour les confiseries dont la vente n'est pas permise (p. ex. bonbons, chocolats).

Normes d'alimentation concernant les boissons.Ces normes sont présentées séparément pour les écoles élémentaires et pour les écoles secondaires.

Ces deux rubriques donnent un aperçu des critères nutritionnels6 auxquels doivent répondre les aliments et les boissons pour être vendus dans les écoles. Ces critères sont présentés dans les catégories suivantes :

Vendre le plus (≥ 80 % des choix). Les produits classés sous cette catégorie sont les choix les plus sains et contiennent généralement un pourcentage plus élevé d'éléments nutritifs de base et une plus faible quantité de matières grasses, de sucre ou de sodium. Ces produits doivent constituer au moins 80 % de tous les choix d'aliments7 à vendre, quels que soient l'endroit, le programme et l'occasion. Cette exigence s'applique aussi aux choix de boissons8.

Vendre moins (≤ 20 % des choix). Les produits classés sous cette catégorie risquent d'avoir une teneur en matières grasses, en sucre ou en sodium légèrement supérieure à celle des produits classés Vendre le plus. Leur présence ne doit pas dépasser 20 % de tous les choix d'aliments à vendre, quels que soient l'endroit, le programme ou l'occasion. Cette exigence s'applique aussi aux choix de boissons.

Vente non permise. Les produits classés sous cette catégorie contiennent généralement peu ou pas d'éléments nutritifs de base ou contiennent de grandes quantités de matières grasses, de sucre ou de sodium (p. ex. friture et tout aliment frit, confiseries). Les aliments et les boissons classés sous cette catégorie ne peuvent pas être vendus dans les écoles.

Souvent, le type d'aliment (p. ex. pain, viande, fromage) ou de boisson peut appartenir aux trois catégories ci-dessus, dépendant de sa valeur nutritionnelle. Pour savoir si un produit particulier peut être vendu dans les écoles, il faut lire les informations fournies sur l'étiquette, surtout le tableau de la valeur nutritive et la liste des ingrédients du produit, puis comparer ces informations avec les critères nutritionnels.

Les aliments devraient toujours êtres préparés d'une manière saine, c'est-à-dire cuits avec peu ou pas d'ajout de matières grasses ni de sodium, comme par exemple cuits au four, au barbecue, au four à micro-ondes, à la vapeur, sautés, braisés, bouillis, grillés, rôtis ou pochés.

EXCEPTION FAITE DES JOURNÉES SPÉCIALES

La directrice ou le directeur d'école peut désigner au maximum dix journées spéciales durant l'année scolaire (ou moins selon la décision du conseil scolaire) pendant lesquelles les aliments et boissons vendus à l'école pourraient ne pas satisfaire aux normes d'alimentation présentées dans cette note. La directrice ou le directeur d'école doit consulter le conseil d'école avant de désigner une journée d'école comme journée spéciale. On encourage les directrices et directeurs d'école à consulter leurs élèves avant de prendre une décision à ce sujet.

Quoi qu'il en soit, durant ces journées spéciales, on encourage les écoles à vendre des aliments et des boissons respectant les normes d'alimentation définies dans cette note.

AUTRES EXIGENCES

Les exigences qui suivent doivent aussi être respectées :

  • Les conseils scolaires doivent se conformer au Règlement de l'Ontario 200/08, sur les « normes relatives aux gras trans », et à tout autre règlement applicable pris en vertu de la Loi sur l'Éducation.
  • Les directrices et les directeurs d'école doivent prendre en considération les stratégies élaborées par leur conseil scolaire en application de la politique établie en matière d'anaphylaxie afin de réduire le risque d'exposition à des allergènes alimentaires pouvant causer des réactions anaphylactiques.
  • Les aliments et les boissons doivent être préparés, servis et entreposés conformément au Règlement 562 modifié régissant les services d'alimentation, pris en vertu de la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé.
  • Les conseils scolaires doivent s'assurer que les élèves ont accès à de l'eau potable durant la journée d'école.
  • Il faut prendre en considération la diversité des élèves et du personnel afin d'accommoder leurs besoins religieux ou culturels.

PRATIQUES À ENVISAGER

Les conseils scolaires et les écoles devraient tenir compte des suggestions suivantes en ce qui concerne la vente ou la fourniture d'aliments ou de boissons à l'école :

  • Offrir, là où c'est possible et quand cela est possible, des aliments et boissons produits en Ontario.
  • Faire preuve de conscience écologique (p. ex. réduire les déchets alimentaires, réutiliser les contenants, recycler les restes de nourriture).
  • Éviter d'offrir de la nourriture ou des boissons à titre de récompense ou de mesure d'encouragement pour bonne conduite, réussite scolaire ou participation.

MISE EN ŒUVRE ET SUIVI

Toutes les politiques ou lignes directrices actuellement mises en vigueur par les conseils scolaires concernant les aliments et boissons en vente dans les écoles doivent être conformes à cette note. Le ministère reconnaît qu'il peut y avoir des différences en matière d'approche et de mise en œuvre à l'échelon local. On encourage les conseils scolaires et les écoles à continuer à collaborer avec les élèves, les parents, le personnel des écoles, la communauté, les professionnels de santé publique et les services de restauration afin de voir au déploiement de stratégies adéquates pour mettre en œuvre cette note.

On encourage les conseils scolaires à consulter leur conseil de santé pour appliquer ces normes d'alimentation. En vertu des Normes de santé publique de l'Ontario (2008), les conseils de santé ont pour mandat de collaborer avec les conseils scolaires et les écoles à la promotion d'une alimentation saine dans les écoles.

Les conseils scolaires sont responsables d'assurer le suivi de la mise en œuvre de cette note.

Vers la fin de l'année scolaire 2010-2011, les conseils scolaires seront tenus d'attester qu'ils seront en pleine conformité avec la politique concernant les aliments et les boissons dans les écoles le 1er septembre 2011.

Pour en savoir plus sur le soutien disponible en vue de la mise en œuvre, voir www.ontario.ca/ecolessaines.

1. Dans cette note, les termes « conseil scolaire » et « conseil » font référence aux conseils scolaires de district.

2. M. M. Storey, M. S. Nanney, et M. B. Schwartz, « Schools and Obesity Prevention: Creating School Environments and Policies to Promote Healthy Eating and Physical Activity », The Milbank Quarterly, 87(1), 2009, p. 72. [traduction libre.]

3. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Guidelines for School Health Programs to Promote Lifelong Healthy Eating, MMWR 1996; 45 (No. RR-9), p. 1. [traduction libre.]

4. Les diététistes du Canada. Recommandations concernant l'alimentation et la nutrition dans les écoles, à l'intention du ministère de l'Éducation de l'Ontario, au sujet des collations et boissons vendues dans les distributeurs automatiques, publié en page 3 de la note Politique/Programmes nº 135 du ministère de l'Éducation de l'Ontario intitulée Des boissons et des aliments sains dans les distributeurs automatiques des écoles élémentaires, 20 octobre 2004.

5. Pour en savoir plus, voir Fondements d'une école saine.

6. Les critères nutritionnels sont fondés sur des études scientifiques, sur le Guide d'étiquetage et de publicité sur les aliments de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, sur un balayage intergouvernemental de la documentation existante et sur des études de marché portant sur les produits alimentaires et les boissons disponibles.

7. Exemples de choix d'aliments : un muffin au son constitue un choix et un muffin à la banane un autre choix; une pomme constitue un choix et une orange un autre choix.

8. Exemples de choix de boissons : du lait ordinaire constitue un choix et du lait au chocolat un autre choix; un jus d'orange constitue un choix et un jus de pomme un autre choix.

Annexe : Normes d'alimentation pour les écoles de l'Ontario