Policy/Program Memorandum No. 147



Date of Issue: May 21, 2008 Effective: June 30, 2008
Until revoked or modified
Subject: APPLICATIONS FOR LETTERS OF PERMISSION
Application: Directors of Education
Secretary Treasurers and Supervisory Officers of School Authorities
Reference: Ontario Regulation 142/08, “Letters of Permission”

Introduction

A new regulation on Letters of Permission, made under the Education Act, will come into force on June 30, 2008. This regulation – Ontario Regulation 142/08, "Letters of Permission" – will replace Ontario Regulation 183/97, "Letters of Permission". Ontario Regulation 142/08 includes the revised requirements for school boards1 regarding applications for Letters of Permission.

The purpose of this memorandum is to provide boards with information on requirements for submitting an application, a description of the application process, and the application form.

Legislative Authority

Section 8 of the Education Act provides that the Minister of Education may grant a Letter of Permission to a school board authorizing the board to employ an individual who is not a member of the Ontario College of Teachers – that is, an individual who is not a teacher – to teach in an elementary or a secondary school for a period not exceeding one year, if the Minister is satisfied that no teacher is available.

The Minister has delegated authority to grant Letters of Permission to the regional managers of the regional offices of the ministry.

Ontario Regulation 142/08 sets out the criteria governing the granting of a Letter of Permission, as well as the application requirements and process. The regulation can be found on the Ontario government website, at www.e-laws.gov.on.ca.

Requirements For School Boards

School boards must make every effort to hire individuals who are members of the Ontario College of Teachers for board teaching positions. Such efforts include reviewing the board list of occasional teachers for potential candidates for vacant positions.

The following requirements apply to school boards that submit applications for Letters of Permission on or after June 30, 2008.

Application Process for a Letter of Permission

To request a Letter of Permission, the director of education or secretary of the board or the supervisory officer of a school authority must submit a completed Application for a Letter of Permission to the appropriate regional office of the ministry.

A school board cannot submit an application until at least the seventh day after the closing date of a competition for a teaching position.

Every application must include a signed declaration from the director of education or secretary of the board or the supervisory officer of the school authority stating that the requirements of the regulation have been met. This declaration must also include confirmation that no teacher applied for the position for which the Letter of Permission is being requested, or, if a teacher did apply, he or she did not accept the position.

Fulfilment of Advertising Requirements

When applying for a Letter of Permission, school boards are required to demonstrate that they have made every effort to reach the largest possible audience of teachers across the province by publicly advertising the vacant teaching position for which the Letter of Permission is being requested.

On the application form, school boards must declare that they have advertised at least once the position for which the Letter of Permission is being requested. This advertisement must have been made public in one of the following ways:

  • The advertisement must have been published in a daily newspaper that has provincial circulation in Ontario (e.g., The Globe and Mail, The National Post, Le Droit) for at least three days, and at least one of those days must have been "within the five days before the closing date of the competition for the position".
  • The advertisement must have been published on a publicly accessible website that is approved by the Minister (that is, www.educationcanada.com, www.applytoeducation.com, www.jobsineducation.com, or www.workopolis.com) for at least ten days, and it must not have been removed before the closing date of the competition for the position.

School boards must declare that every day that the advertisement was publicly available was "within the 30 days before the closing date of the competition for the position". The advertisement must also have included the following information:

  • the closing date of the competition for the position
  • details of the position, including the division and the grade to be taught
  • the course title and course code for secondary school credit courses
  • the duration of employment

In addition, school boards must be able to provide evidence that they have complied with this requirement, if asked to do so by the ministry.

Background Checks

School boards are required to confirm that they have made every effort to ensure student safety. On the application form, they must declare that they have conducted a check of the professional references of the individual they propose to hire under the Letter of Permission, and they must declare that they have collected "a personal criminal history" of this individual, as defined in Ontario Regulation 521/01, "Collection of Personal Information", made under the Education Act.

On the application form, school boards also must declare that the individual they propose to hire meets the following requirements:

  • He or she is eighteen years of age or older, and holds an Ontario Secondary School Diploma, a Secondary School Graduation Diploma, or a Secondary School Honour Graduation Diploma, or the equivalent.
  • He or she is not and has never been a member of the Ontario College of Teachers.
  • He or she has given the board a written statement that any teaching certificate or licence granted to him or her by another jurisdiction is not cancelled, revoked, or suspended for any reason other than for failure to pay fees or levies to the governing body.

Starting Date and Duration of Employment

School boards must ensure that the anticipated starting date for employment in the position for which they are requesting a Letter of Permission is no later than thirty days after the closing date of the competition for the position. If a Letter of Permission is granted, it is effective as of the starting date of employment in the position.

School boards must also ensure that the duration of employment in a position for which they are requesting a Letter of Permission does not exceed the limit of one year (that is, twelve months) that is set out in the Education Act. Subject to this limit, the ministry may grant a Letter of Permission for a period that extends beyond the end of a school year if the course taught by the individual hired does not conform to the regular school-year calendar.

Board Review Of Letters Of Permission

Letters of Permission are granted only when a teacher is not available, so it is important that boards regularly review their usage of Letters of Permission. School board staffing committees (or the equivalent) are requested to review and discuss at least once a year the data on Letters of Permission provided by the ministry.

Ministry Contact

School board officials who have questions about the revised Letter of Permission application process should direct them to their local ministry regional office.


1. In this memorandum, school board(s) and board(s) refer to district school boards and school authorities.

Letter of Permission Application Form (PDF, 48 KB)

Politique/Programmes Note n° 147


Date d'émission : Le 21 mai 2008
En vigueur : À compter du 30 juin 2008 et jusqu'à abrogation ou modification
Objet : DEMANDES DE PERMISSIONS INTÉRIMAIRES
À l'attention de : Directrices et directeurs de l'éducation
Secrétaires-trésorières, secrétaires-trésoriers, agentes et agents de supervision des administrations scolaires
Référence : Règlement de l'Ontario n° 142/08 – Permissions intérimaires

Introduction

Un nouveau règlement relatif aux permissions intérimaires, pris en application de la Loi sur l'éducation, entrera en vigueur le 30 juin 2008. Ce Règlement de l'Ontario nº 142/08 – Permissions intérimaires, remplace le Règlement de l'Ontario nº 183/97 – Permissions intérimaires et énonce de nouvelles exigences concernant les demandes de permissions intérimaires auxquelles les conseils scolaires1 doivent satisfaire.

La présente note de service vise à informer les conseils sur les exigences relatives à la présentation d'une demande, sur le processus de demande et sur le formulaire de demande.

Autorisation législative

L'article 8 de la Loi sur l'éducation prévoit que le ministre de l'Éducation peut accorder une permission intérimaire à un conseil l'autorisant à employer une personne qui n'est pas membre de l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario – c'est-à-dire une personne qui n'est pas enseignante ou enseignant – afin d'enseigner dans une école élémentaire ou secondaire pour une période qui ne peut excéder une année, lorsque le ministre est convaincu qu'aucune enseignante ou aucun enseignant n'est disponible.

Le ministre a délégué l'autorité d'accorder des permissions intérimaires aux chefs régionaux des bureaux régionaux du Ministère.

Le Règlement de l'Ontario nº 142/08 énonce les critères relatifs à l'octroi d'une permission intérimaire, ainsi que les exigences de la demande et le processus. On peut consulter le règlement sur le site Web du gouvernement de l'Ontario à www.e-laws.gov.on.ca.

Exigences pour les conseils scolaires

Les conseils scolaires doivent faire tous leurs efforts pour embaucher des membres de l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario pour les postes d'enseignantes et d'enseignants. Cela comprend notamment l'examen de leur liste d'enseignantes suppléantes et d'enseignants suppléants pour d'éventuels candidats aux postes vacants.

Les exigences décrites ci-dessous s'appliquent aux conseils scolaires qui présentent une demande de permission intérimaire à partir du 30 juin 2008.

Processus de demande d'une permission intérimaire

Pour demander une permission intérimaire, la directrice ou le directeur de l'éducation, la secrétaire ou le secrétaire du conseil ou l'agente ou l'agent de supervision d'une administration scolaire doit soumettre une demande de permission intérimaire dûment remplie au bureau régional concerné du Ministère.

Un conseil scolaire peut présenter une demande au plus tôt sept jours après la date de clôture du concours pour un poste d'enseignante ou d'enseignant.

Chaque demande doit comprendre une déclaration signée de la directrice ou du directeur de l'éducation, de la secrétaire ou du secrétaire du conseil ou de l'agente ou de l'agent de supervision de l'adminis­tration scolaire affirmant que les exigences du règlement ont été respectées. Cette déclaration doit aussi inclure la confirmation qu'aucune enseignante ou aucun enseignant n'a posé sa candidature pour le poste qui fait l'objet de la demande de permission intérimaire ou n'a accepté le poste si elle ou il a posé sa candidature.

Satisfaction des exigences en matière de publicité

Lorsqu'ils présentent une demande de permission intérimaire, les conseils scolaires doivent démontrer qu'ils ont fait tous leurs efforts pour atteindre le plus grand nombre possible d'enseignantes et d'enseignants dans la province en plaçant des annonces publiques pour le poste vacant faisant l'objet d'une telle demande.

Sur le formulaire de demande, les conseils scolaires doivent déclarer qu'ils ont placé au moins une fois une annonce pour le poste d'enseignant faisant l'objet de la demande. Il doit s'agir d'une annonce rendue publique d'une des façons suivantes :

  • l'annonce doit avoir été publiée dans un quotidien diffusé dans l'ensemble de l'Ontario (p. ex., The Globe and Mail, The National Post, Le Droit) « pendant au moins trois jours dont au moins un des cinq jours qui précèdent la date de clôture du concours ouvert pour le poste en question »;
  • l'annonce doit avoir été affichée sur un site Web public, approuvé par le ministre (c'est-à-dire www.educationcanada.com, www.applytoeducation.com, www.jobsineducation.com ou www.workopolis.com), pendant au moins dix jours et doit n'avoir pas été retirée avant la date de clôture du concours.

Les conseils scolaires doivent déclarer que chaque jour de la parution de l'annonce se situait dans la période « des 30 jours précédant la date de clôture du concours ». L'annonce doit aussi comprendre les renseignements suivants :

  • la date de clôture du concours pour le poste;
  • les précisions concernant le poste, y compris le cycle et l'année d'études;
  • le nom et le code du cours dans le cas de cours du secondaire donnant droit à un crédit;
  • la durée de l'emploi.

De plus, si le Ministère en fait la demande, les conseils scolaires doivent être en mesure de fournir la preuve qu'ils se sont conformés à cette exigence.

Vérification des antécédents

Les conseils scolaires doivent confirmer qu'ils ont fait tous leurs efforts pour assurer la sécurité des élèves. Sur le formulaire de demande, ils doivent déclarer qu'ils ont effectué une vérification des références professionnelles de la personne qu'ils ont l'intention d'employer en vertu de la permission intérimaire, et ils doivent déclarer qu'ils ont recueilli les « antécédents criminels » de cette personne, selon le Règlement de l'Ontario nº521/01 – Collecte de renseignements personnels, pris en application de la Loi sur l'éducation.

Sur le formulaire de demande, les conseils scolaires doivent aussi déclarer que la personne qu'ils se proposent d'employer satisfait aux exigences suivantes :

  • elle est âgée d'au moins 18 ans et est titulaire du diplôme d'études secondaires de l'Ontario, du diplôme d'études secondaires, du diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures ou d'un diplôme équivalent;
  • elle n'est pas et n'a jamais été membre de l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario;
  • elle a fourni au conseil une déclaration écrite selon laquelle tout brevet d'enseignement ou autre permis d'enseigner que lui a accordé une autorité législative n'est ni annulé, ni révoqué, ni suspendu pour un motif autre que le non-versement des droits ou des cotisations au corps dirigeant.

Date de début et durée de l'emploi

Les conseils scolaires doivent s'assurer que la date du début de l'emploi dans le poste visé par la demande de permission intérimaire survient au plus tard 30 jours après la date de clôture du concours ouvert pour le poste en question. Une permission intérimaire accordée entre en vigueur à la date du début de l'emploi.

Les conseils scolaires doivent aussi veiller à ce que la durée de cet emploi n'excède pas une année (c'est-à-dire 12 mois), au sens de la Loi sur l'éducation. Sous réserve de cette limite, le Ministère peut accorder une permission intérimaire dépassant la date de la fin de l'année scolaire si le cours enseigné par la personne embauchée ne correspond pas au calendrier habituel de l'année scolaire.

Examen par le conseil des permissions intérimaires

Les permissions intérimaires sont accordées lorsqu'une enseignante ou un enseignant n'est pas disponible. Il est donc important que les conseils examinent périodiquement leur utilisation des permissions intérimaires. Les comités de dotation des conseils scolaires (ou leur équivalent) doivent examiner au moins une fois par an les données concernant les permissions accordées par le Ministère.

Personne-ressource du ministère

Les représentantes et représentants des conseils scolaires qui ont des questions au sujet de la révision du processus de demande des permissions intérimaires doivent les adresser à leur bureau régional du Ministère.


1. Dans la présente note de service, les termes conseil(s) scolaire(s) et conseil(s) signifient les conseils scolaires de district et les administrations scolaires.

Formulaire de demande d'une permission intérimaire (PDF, 48 KB)