Policy/Program Memorandum No. 140


Date of Issue:: May 17, 2007
Effective: Until revoked or modified
Subject: INCORPORATING METHODS OF APPLIED BEHAVIOUR ANALYSIS (ABA) INTO PROGRAMS FOR STUDENTS WITH AUTISM SPECTRUM DISORDERS (ASD)

Application: Directors of Education
Secretary Treasurers and Supervisory Officers of School Authorities
Director of the Provincial Schools Branch
Superintendents of Schools
Superintendent of Centre Jules-Léger
Principals of Elementary Schools
Principals of Secondary Schools
Principals of Provincial and Demonstration Schools
Principals of Section 68 Schools


Purpose

The purpose of this memorandum is to provide direction to school boards1 to support their use of applied behaviour analysis (ABA) as an effective instructional approach in the education of many students with autism spectrum disorders (ASD).2 This memorandum establishes a policy framework to support incorporation of ABA methods into school boards’ practices. The use of ABA instructional approaches may also be effective for students with other special education needs.

This memorandum has been informed by recommendations of the Report of the Minister's Autism Spectrum Disorders Reference Group.3 This group was established in 2006 at the joint invitation of the Minister of Education and the Minister of Children and Youth Services to provide both ministers with advice on effective, evidence-based educational practices to meet the wide range of needs of students with ASD.

This memorandum is intended to strengthen collaborative working relationships between parents,4 schools, and the community. This collaboration is essential for supporting positive learning for students with ASD. An example of such collaboration is the development of an Individual Education Plan (IEP) for a student.

The direction provided in this memorandum builds on suggestions for successful practice provided in the Ministry of Education’s documents entitled Special Education: A Guide for Educators, 2001 and Individual Education Plans: Standards for Development, Program Planning, andImplementation, 2000, and is consistent with the Ontario curriculum as a basis for programs for students with ASD.

Background

This direction is also consistent with suggestions for successful practice provided in the following documents published by the Ministry of Education:

  • Special Education Transformation: The Report of the Co-Chairs With the Recommendations of the Working Table on Special Education, 2006
  • Education for All: The Report of the Expert Panel on Literacy and Numeracy Instruction for Students With Special Education Needs, Kindergarten to Grade 6, 2005
  • Planning Entry to School: A Resource Guide, 2005
  • The Individual Education Plan (IEP): A Resource Guide, 2004
  • Transition Planning: A Resource Guide, 2002
  • The Ontario Curriculum Unit Planner: Special Education Companion, 2002

School board staff should consult the above documents for more detailed information.

The Ministry of Children and Youth Services (MCYS) document entitled Autism Intervention Program: Program Guidelines, 2006 provides additional information. In particular, the sections on Transition Planning and Sharing Information may provide useful information. The MCYS document entitled

A Shared Responsibility: Ontario's Policy Framework for Child and Youth Mental Health, 2006 provides additional information. Copies of these documents are available online (see page 7) or through the local MCYS office.

This memorandum is also informed by the recommendations in the Report of the Interim Parent Involvement Advisory Board, which was released in July 2006.

Applied Behaviour Analysis

Applied behaviour analysis (ABA)5 uses methods based on scientific principles of learning and behaviour to build useful repertoires of behaviour and reduce problematic ones. In this approach, the behaviour(s) to be changed are clearly defined and recorded. The antecedents of the undesirable behaviour(s) are analysed, as are the reinforcers that might be maintaining the undesirable behaviour(s) or that might be used to help develop adaptive behaviours.

Interventions based on behavioural principles are designed to develop appropriate behaviours. Progress is assessed and the program is altered if necessary (adapted from Perry and Condillac 2003). ABA can be used with students of every age. It can be applied in a variety of situations, and it can be used for very limited and specific purposes, such as the development or reduction of single behaviours. ABA can also be used for broader purposes, such as the development or reduction of sets of behaviour (for example, to improve relaxation skills, to teach more effective social skills, or to enhance community living skills). ABA can be used for students with ASD, and it can be used for students who have varying degrees of intensity of ASD along a learning continuum.

ABA methods can support students with ASD in a number of ways. For example, ABA methods can help a student to:

  • develop positive behaviours (e.g., improve the ability to stay on task, improve social interaction);
  • learn new skills (e.g., comprehensive skills, including language skills, social skills, motor skills, academic skills);
  • transfer a positive behaviour or response from one situation to another (e.g., from completing assignments in a special education class to maintaining the same performance in a regular class).

ABA methods can also be used to limit the conditions under which problematic behaviours occur – for example, to modify the learning environment so that students are less likely to injure themselves.

Educators must measure an individual student's progress in the above areas by collecting and analysing data on an ongoing basis. Educators must use the data collected to determine the effectiveness of the program and to alter the program as necessary to maintain or increase a student's success. Progress should be measured in accordance with the assessment methods used in the student's program.

Requirements

1. School boards must offer students with ASD special education programs and services, including, where appropriate, special education programs using ABA methods.

Under Regulation 181/98, principals are required to ensure that an IEP is developed for each exceptional student within thirty school days of the start of the student's placement. School boards also have the discretion to develop an IEP for students who have not been formally identified as exceptional. Students with ASD have a wide range of educational needs. Principals are required to ensure that ABA methods are incorporated into the IEPs of students with ASD, where appropriate.

Principals must ensure that relevant school board personnel6 and community personnel7 who have previously worked and/or are currently working with a student with an ASD are invited to provide input and participate in the IEP process. These personnel are able to bring other perspectives and recommendations regarding special education programs and services for students with ASD. In particular, the assessment information gathered from these personnel can benefit the IEP team in planning accurate and comprehensive interventions for the student and promote a common approach to enhance student success.

ABA Methods in Programs for Students With ASD
Given the range of needs for students with ASD, the principal must ensure that staff developing a student's IEP consider special education program and service options that will best take into account the student's individual strengths and areas of need in the demonstration of learning. The program selected must be based on relevant assessment information that identifies the student's skills and needs, instructional level, and learning style/modalities, and must incorporate relevant ABA methods, where appropriate. Use of functional behavioural assessment8 may also help to identify a student's strengths, needs, and learning environment.

When an alternative program is determined to be appropriate for a particular student with an ASD, it should, wherever possible, incorporate methods of ABA and be provided in conjunction with a program that includes accommodations as well as modified learning expectations as necessary. Alternative program areas for a student with an ASD could include, for example, behavioural, self-management, social, and communication skills.

When a student with an ASD requires accommodations and/or modified expectations, assessment and evaluation of student learning will be consistent with the strategies outlined in the student's IEP.

The principal must ensure that instructional modifications/strategies are uniquely suited to each student's learning strengths and needs. The ministry plans to publish a resource guide entitled Effective Education Practices for Students With Autism Spectrum Disorders that will provide more detailed information on strategies.9

Principles of ABA Programming

The following principles underlie ABA programming that is provided to students with ASD, where appropriate:

  • The program must be individualized. Each student's specific profile and pattern of strengths and needs must be analysed to determine concrete learning objectives and teaching methods. No single curriculum or teaching strategy is appropriate for all students with ASD. Some students may require more intensive programming. Although students' programs must be individualized, the various supports may be provided to students either individually or in group situations.
  • Positive reinforcement must be utilized. Positive reinforcement techniques are often helpful to motivate students with ASD.
  • Data must be collected and analysed. Reliable data must be collected and analysed on an ongoing basis to measure student progress in the acquisition of new behaviours and skills, and to identify skills or behaviours that need to be taught.
  • Transfer, or generalization, of skills should be emphasized. Each student should be taught to transfer skills acquired in one context to different contexts or settings. For example, a student should be encouraged to apply a newly acquired positive behaviour in a wide variety of environments, and to learn to use a wide variety of related or similar behaviours in a variety of contexts. The ultimate goal is to enable the student to develop increasing independence.

2. School board staff must plan for the transition between various activities and settings involving students with ASD.

Transition planning is an important process for all students, but especially for students with ASD. Principals are required to ensure that a plan for transition is in place for students with ASD. Transitions may include: entry to school; transition between activities and settings or classrooms; transitions between grades; moving from school to school or from an outside agency to a school; transition from elementary to secondary school; transition from secondary school to postsecondary destinations and/or the workplace.

Transition into school is of particular importance for students with ASD. Relevant ABA methods must be used to support transition, where appropriate. Students enter school from a range of settings, including the home and child-care or pre-school programs. It is essential that school board staff work with parents and community agencies to plan for a successful transition. Where a student is currently working with a community service professional, that professional should be involved with the transition process.

Monitoring And Reporting of Implementation

School boards are encouraged to make use of a growing body of knowledge about educational practices that are effective for students with ASD. Relevant research on ASD will be posted on the ministry's website to provide information on instructional practices for students with ASD.

School boards should develop a plan to implement the policy in this memorandum, and should consult with their Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) regarding the implementation. School boards should also consult their SEAC regarding the monitoring of the implementation of this memorandum, at least on an annual basis.

The ministry will integrate monitoring of implementation of this memorandum into existing reporting mechanisms. The Minister's Advisory Council on Special Education, as well as members of the Ministers' Autism Spectrum Disorders Reference Group who wish to be involved, will be consulted twice a year regarding the implementation of ABA methods by school boards.

For further information, please contact the local regional office of the Ministry of Education.

Reference Cited

Perry, A., and R. Condillac. 2003. Evidence-Based Practices for Children and Adolescents With Autism Spectrum Disorders: Review of the Literature and Practice Guide. Toronto: Children's Mental Health Ontario.

Resources

Web Links for Selected Ontario Government Publications

Ministry of Education

Education for All: The Report of the Expert Panel on Literacy and Numeracy Instruction for Students With Special Education Needs, Kindergarten to Grade 6, 2005.

Individual Education Plans: Standards for Development, Program Planning, and Implementation, 2000.

The Individual Education Plan (IEP): A Resource Guide, 2004.

The Ontario Curriculum Unit Planner: Special Education Companion, 2002.

Planning Entry to School: A Resource Guide, 2005.

Special Education: A Guide for Educators, 2001.

Transition Planning: A Resource Guide, 2002.

Ministry of Children and Youth Services

Autism Intervention Program: Program Guidelines, 2006.

A Shared Responsibility: Ontario's Policy Framework for Child and Youth Mental Health, 2006.

Additional Resources

Alberto, P. A., and A. C. Troutman. 2006. Applied Behaviour Analysis for Teachers. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall.

Committee on Educational Interventions for Children With Autism, National Research Council. 2001. Educating Children With Autism. Washington, DC: National Academy Press.

Cooper, J. O., T. E. Heron, and W. L. Heward. 2006. Applied Behavior Analysis. 2nd ed. Columbus, OH : Prentice Hall.

Heflin, L. J., and D. F. Alaimo. 2007. Students With Autism Spectrum Disorders: Effective Instructional Practices. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall.

Simpson, R. L. 2004. Autism Spectrum Disorders: Interventions and Treatments for Children and Youth. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin Press.



1. In this document, school board(s) and board(s) refer to district school boards and school authorities.
2. The term autism spectrum disorders (ASD) describes "a subset of the Pervasive Developmental Disorders (PDDs) currently outlined in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM–IV). These disorders share three common areas of concern: qualitative impairments in social skills; qualitative impairments in verbal and non-verbal communication; restricted and repetitive interests or behaviours. When using the term ASD, most professionals are referring to the subset of PDDs that includes Autistic Disorder (usually referred to as Autism), PDD-NOS (not otherwise specified) and Asperger's Disorder." From Making a Difference for Students With Autism Spectrum Disorders in Ontario Schools: From Evidence to Action, Report of the Ministers' Autism Spectrum Disorders Reference Group to the Minister of Education and Minister of Children and Youth Services, February 2007, p. 63.
3. Ibid.
4. In this document, parents refers to parent(s) and guardian(s).
5. Adapted from Making a Difference for Students With Autism Spectrum Disorders in Ontario Schools: From Evidence to Action, Report of the Ministers' Autism Spectrum Disorders Reference Group to the Minister of Education and Minister of Children and Youth Services, February 2007, p. 62.
6. School board personnel may include, but are not limited to, the following: principals and vice-principals; teachers; counsellors; teachers' assistants; resource teachers; educational consultants; psycho-educational consultants; Provincial School or Demonstration School personnel.
7. Community personnel may include, but are not limited to, the following: occupational therapists; physiotherapists; other medical professionals; child and youth workers; social workers; psychologists; service providers from appropriate community agencies; autism program providers.
8. Functional behavioural assessment is a systematic process used by teachers, parents, caregivers, and other professionals to: enhance students' strengths; describe problematic and challenging behaviour; identify environmental factors and setting events that have a problematic influence on behaviour or that increase the probability that the challenging behaviour will occur; and determine what factors may cause a student to maintain a challenging behaviour, and design effective and efficient behaviour support plans to reduce or eliminate the challenging behaviour.
9. Additional resources can be found in the Resources section at the end of this memorandum.

Politique/Programmes Note n° 140

Date d'émission : Le 17 mai 2007
En vigueur : Jusqu'à abrogation ou modification
Objet : INCORPORATION DES MÉTHODES D'ANALYSE COMPORTEMENTALE APPLIQUÉE (ACA) DANS LES PROGRAMMES DES ÉLÈVES ATTEINTS DE TROUBLES DU SPECTRE AUTISTIQUE (TSA)

À l'attention des : Directrices et directeurs de l'éducation
Secrétaires-trésorières, secrétaires-trésoriers, agentes et agents de supervision des administrations scolaires
Directrice de la Direction des écoles provinciales
Surintendantes et surintendants des écoles
Surintendante du Centre Jules-Léger
Directrices et directeurs des écoles élémentaires
Directrices et directeurs des écoles secondaires
Directrices et directeurs des écoles provinciales et d'application
Directrices et directeurs des écoles régies par l'article 68


Objet

Cette note a pour but d'aider les conseils scolaires1 à utiliser l'analyse comportementale appliquée (ACA) comme approche pédagogique efficace dans l'enseignement aux nombreux élèves atteints de troubles du spectre autistique (TSA)2. Elle établit un cadre politique qui appuie l'intégration des méthodes d'ACA dans les pratiques des conseils scolaires. Les approches pédagogiques fondées sur l'ACA peuvent aussi être efficaces chez d'autres élèves ayant d'autres besoins particuliers.

Cette note repose sur les recommandations contenues dans le Rapport du Groupe de référence des Ministres en matière de troubles du spectre autistique3. Ce groupe a été établi en 2006 à la demande de la ministre de l'Éducation et de la ministre des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse afin de leur conseiller des pratiques pédagogiques efficaces fondées sur des preuves qui permettraient de répondre à un vaste éventail de besoins d'élèves atteints de TSA.

L'intention de cette note est de renforcer les relations de collaboration entre les parents4, les écoles et la communauté, collaboration essentielle pour promouvoir l'apprentissage des élèves atteints de TSA. Un exemple de cette collaboration est l'élaboration du plan d'enseignement individualisé (PEI) d'une ou d'un élève.

Contexte

L'orientation présentée ici s'inspire des pratiques réussies suggérées dans les documents du ministère de l'Éducation intitulés Éducation de l'enfance en difficulté : Guide pour les éducatrices et les éducateurs – 2001 et Plan d'enseignement individualisé : Normes pour l'élaboration, la planification des programmes et la mise en œuvre – 2000 et sont conformes au curriculum de l'Ontario sur lequel reposent les programmes pour les élèves atteints de TSA.

Elles concordent également avec les pratiques réussies suggérées dans les documents suivants du ministère de l'Éducation :

  • Transformation de l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté : Rapport des coprésidentes avec les recommandations de la Table de concertation sur l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté, 2006
  • L'éducation pour tous : Rapport de la Table ronde des experts pour l'enseignement en matière de littératie et de numératie pour les élèves ayant des besoins particuliers de la maternelle à la 6e année, 2005
  • Guide de planification de l'entrée à l'école, 2005
  • Plan d'enseignement individualisé (PEI), Guide, 2004
  • Guide sur la planification de la transition, 2002
  • Document de l'enfance en difficulté, Planificateur d'unités d'apprentissage, 2002

Le personnel des conseils scolaires devrait consulter ces documents pour obtenir des renseignements détaillés.

Des documents du ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse (MSEJ) offrent d'autres informations : Programme d'intervention en autisme : Lignes directrices relatives au programme, 2006, en particulier les sections sur la planification de la transition et la communication des renseignements, et Une responsabilité partagée : Cadre stratégique ontarien des services de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes, 2006. On peut se les procurer en ligne (voir page 7) ou au bureau local du MSEJ.

Cette note tient également compte des recommandations du Rapport du Conseil consultatif provisoire de la participation des parents publié en juillet 2006.

Analyse comportementale appliquée

L'analyse comportementale appliquée 5 utilise des méthodes fondées sur des principes scientifiques de l'apprentissage et du comportement pour établir des répertoires utiles de comportements et réduire ceux qui posent un problème. Dans cette approche, le ou les comportements à changer sont clairement définis et consignés. Leurs antécédents sont analysés, comme renforcements susceptibles de faire durer les comportements indésirables ou qui pourraient servir à développer des comportements adaptatifs.

Les interventions fondées sur les principes comportementaux visent à développer des comportements appropriés. Les progrès sont évalués et le programme est modifié au besoin (adapté de Perry et Condillac, 2003). L'ACA peut être employée avec des élèves de tous âges, s'appliquer à diverses situations et dans des buts très limités et précis, comme le développement ou la réduction d'un comportement à la fois. Elle peut aussi servir dans des buts plus généraux, comme le développement ou la réduction d'une série de comportements (par exemple, pour accroître les habiletés de relaxation, pour enseigner des habiletés sociales plus efficaces ou pour accroître les habiletés à la vie dans la communauté). Elle peut être employée dans un continuum d'apprentissage avec des élèves atteints de TSA et d'autres ayant des degrés divers de TSA.

Les méthodes d'ACA peuvent aider de plusieurs façons les élèves atteints de TSA. Par exemple :

  • à développer des comportements positifs (par exemple, améliorer la capacité de se concentrer sur une tâche, améliorer l'interaction sociale);
  • à apprendre de nouvelles habiletés (par exemple, des habiletés de compréhension, y compris des habiletés linguistiques, sociales, motrices, académiques);
  • à transférer un comportement positif ou une réponse positive d'une situation à une autre (par exemple, de l'accomplissement de travaux dans une classe d'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté au maintien du même rendement dans une classe ordinaire).

Les méthodes d'ACA peuvent aussi être utilisées pour limiter les conditions dans lesquelles les comportements problématiques se produisent; par exemple, pour modifier l'environnement d'apprentissage de sorte que les élèves risquent moins de se blesser.

Les enseignants doivent mesurer les progrès individuels de l'élève dans les domaines ci-dessous en recueillant et en analysant des données sur une base continue. Ils doivent utiliser les données recueillies pour déterminer l'efficacité du programme et le modifier au besoin afin de maintenir ou d'améliorer le rendement de l'élève. Il faudrait mesurer les progrès conformément aux méthodes d'évaluation utilisées dans le programme de l'élève.

Exigences

1. Les conseils scolaires doivent offrir aux élèves atteints de TSA des programmes et services d'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté, y compris au besoin, des programmes d'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté employant des méthodes d'ACA.

Selon le Règlement 181/98, la direction des écoles est tenue de veiller à ce qu'un PEI soit élaboré pour chaque élève en difficulté dans un délai de trente jours de classe à partir du début de son placement, mais les conseils scolaires ont aussi toute discrétion pour élaborer un PEI pour les élèves qui n'ont pas officiellement été désignés comme des élèves en difficulté. Les élèves atteints de TSA ont un vaste éventail de besoins en matière d'éducation. La direction des écoles doit veiller à ce que des méthodes d'ACA soient intégrées au besoin dans les PEI de ces élèves.

La direction des écoles doit veiller à ce que le personnel pertinent du conseil scolaire6 et de la communauté7 qui a déjà travaillé ou travaille avec un élève atteint de TSA soit invité à donner son avis et à participer au processus d'élaboration du PEI. Ces personnes peuvent apporter d'autres perspectives et des recommandations concernant les programmes et services d'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté visant les élèves atteints de TSA. En particulier, les renseignements sur l'évaluation obtenus de ces personnes peuvent aider l'équipe du PEI à planifier des interventions précises et générales et à promouvoir l'adoption d'une approche commune pour accroître le succès de l'élève.

Méthodes d'ACA dans les programmes pour élèves atteints de TSA

Étant donné la gamme des besoins des élèves atteints de TSA, la direction des écoles doit veiller à ce que le personnel responsable de l'élaboration du PEI envisage les options des programmes et services d'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté qui tiendront le mieux compte des points forts de l'élève et des domaines où il faut améliorer l'apprentissage. Le programme choisi doit reposer sur des renseignements d'évaluation pertinents qui indiquent les habiletés et les besoins de l'élève, son niveau d'enseignement, son style d'apprentissage, et inclure au besoin les méthodes pertinentes d'ACA. L'évaluation du comportement fonctionnel8 peut aussi aider à identifier les points forts, les besoins et l'environnement d'apprentissage d'un élève.

Lorsqu'on détermine qu'un programme ayant des attentes différentes convient à une ou un élève donné atteint d'un TSA, dans la mesure du possible, il faudrait intégrer des méthodes d'ACA et offrir ce programme parallèlement à un programme qui inclut des adaptations et, si nécessaire, des attentes d'apprentissage modifiées. Des volets du programme ayant des attentes différentes pourraient inclure par exemple des habiletés comportementales, l'auto-gestion, des habiletés sociales et des habiletés de communication.

Lorsqu'une ou un élève atteint de TSA a besoin d'adaptations ou d'attentes modifiées, l'évaluation de l'élève et de son apprentissage concordera avec les stratégies décrites dans son PEI.

La direction de l'école doit veiller à ce que les modifications de l'enseignement et les stratégies pédagogiques soient adaptées aux points forts et aux besoins de chaque élève en matière d'apprentissage. Le Ministère prévoit de publier un guide intitulé Pratiques pédagogiques efficaces pour les élèves atteints de troubles du spectre autistiques qui fournira des renseignements détaillées sur des stratégies 9.

Principes de la programmation avec l'ACA

Les principes suivants sous-tendent la programmation avec l'ACA offerte aux élèves atteints de TSA :

  • Le programme doit être individualisé. Il faut analyser le profil de chaque élève ainsi que ses points forts et ses besoins afin de déterminer des objectifs d'apprentissage concrets et des méthodes d'enseignement. Il n'existe pas de curriculum ni de stratégie pédagogique unique qui convienne à tous les élèves atteints de TSA. Certains peuvent avoir besoin d'une programmation plus intensive. Quoique les programmes doivent être individualisés, les divers soutiens peuvent être offerts individuellement ou en groupes.
  • Il faut employer le renforcement positif. Les techniques de renforcement positif sont souvent utiles pour motiver les élèves atteints de TSA.
  • Il faut recueillir et analyser des données. Il faut recueillir et analyser sur une base continue des données fiables afin de mesurer les progrès de l'élève dans l'acquisition de nouveaux comportements et de nouvelles habiletés, et afin de déterminer les habiletés ou comportements que l'on doit enseigner.
  • Il faudrait insister sur le transfert ou la généralisation des habiletés. Il faudrait enseigner à chaque élève à transférer les habiletés acquises d'un contexte à un autre ou dans diverses situations. Par exemple, il faudrait l'encourager à appliquer un nouveau comportement positif dans divers environnements et lui apprendre à utiliser une grande variété de comportements connexes ou semblables dans divers contextes. Le but ultime est de permettre à l'élève de développer de plus en plus d'indépendance.

2. Le personnel du conseil scolaire doit planifier la transition entre diverses activités et divers cadres qui impliquent des élèves atteints de TSA.

La planification de la transition est un processus important pour tous les élèves, mais surtout pour ceux atteints de TSA. La direction d'école doit s'assurer qu'il existe un plan de transition pour les élèves atteints de TSA. Les transitions peuvent inclure l'entrée à l'école, la transition entre des activités et entre divers contextes ou salles de classe, les transitions entre les années d'études, le déménagement d'une école à une autre ou d'un organisme externe à une école, la transition de l'école élémentaire à l'école secondaire, la transition de l'école secondaire à un établissement postsecondaire ou au lieu de travail.

La transition à l'école revêt une importance particulière pour les élèves atteints de TSA. Il faut au besoin utiliser les méthodes pertinentes d'ACA afin d'appuyer la transition. Les élèves entrent à l'école provenant de divers milieux, comme le domicile, une garderie ou des programmes préscolaires. Il est essentiel que le personnel du conseil scolaire travaille avec les parents et les organismes communautaires pour planifier une transition réussie. Quand une ou un élève travaille avec une professionnelle ou un professionnel d'un service communautaire, cette personne devrait participer au processus de transition.

Suivi et rapport sur la mise en œuvre

On encourage les conseils scolaires à utiliser l'ensemble croissant de connaissances sur les pratiques éducationnelles efficaces pour les élèves atteints de TSA. Des études pertinentes sur les TSA seront affichées sur le site Web du Ministère afin de fournir des renseignements sur les pratiques pédagogiques pour ces élèves.

Les conseils scolaires devraient élaborer un plan de mise en œuvre de la politique et consulter leur Comité consultatif de l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté au sujet de la mise en œuvre. Ils devraient aussi consulter, au moins une fois par an, ce comité sur le suivi de cette mise en œuvre.

Le Ministère intégrera le suivi de la mise en œuvre de cette note dans les mécanismes prévus pour le rapport. Le Conseil consultatif de la ministre sur l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté ainsi que les membres du Groupe de référence des Ministres en matière de troubles du spectre autistique qui désirent être impliqués seront consultés deux fois par an sur la mise en œuvre des méthodes d'ACA par les conseils scolaires.

Pour d'autres renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional du ministère de l'Éducation.

Référence citée

Perry, A., et R. Condillac. 2003. Evidence-Based Practices for Children and Adolescents With Autism Spectrum Disorders: Review of the Literature and Practice Guide. Toronto, Children's Mental Health Ontario.

Ressources

Liens en ligne avec des publications sélectionnées du gouvernement de l'Ontario

Ministère de l'Éducation

Document de l'enfance en difficulté, Planificateur d'unités d'apprentissage, 2002

Éducation de l'enfance en difficulté : Guide pour les éducatrices et les éducateurs, 2001

Guide de planification de l'entrée à l'école, 2005

Guide sur la planification de la transition, 2002

L'éducation pour tous : Rapport de la Table ronde des experts pour l'enseignement en matière de littératie et de numératie pour les élèves ayant des besoins particuliers de la maternelle à la 6e année, 2005

Plan d'enseignement individualisé (PEI), Guide, 2004

Plan d'enseignement individualisé – Normes pour l'élaboration, la planification des programmes et la mise en œuvre, 2000

Ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse

Programme d'intervention en autisme : Lignes directrices relatives au programme, 2006

Une responsabilité partagée : Cadre stratégique ontarien des services de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes, 2006

Autre site

Site Web de la société canadienne de l'autisme

Autres ressources bibliographiques

Alberto P. A., et A. C. Troutman. 2006. Applied Behaviour Analysis for Teachers. Upper Saddle River (New Jersey), Pearson Prentice Hall.

Committee on Educational Interventions for Children With Autism, National Research Council. 2001. Educating Children With Autism. Washington (D.C.), National Academy Press.

Cooper, J. O., T. E. Heron, et W. L. Heward. 2006. Applied Behavior Analysis. 2e éd. Columbus (Ohio), Prentice Hall.

Heflin, L. J., et D. F. Alaimo. 2007. Students With Autism Spectrum Disorders: Effective Instructional Practices. Upper Saddle River (New Jersey), Pearson Prentice Hall.

Simpson R. L. 2004. Autism Spectrum Disorders: Interventions and Treatments for Children and Youth. Thousand Oaks (Californie), Corwin Press.



1. Dans ce document, les termes conseil(s) scolaire(s) et conseil(s) font référence aux conseils scolaires de district et aux administrations scolaires.
2. Le terme trouble du spectre autistique (TSA) décrit « une catégorie de troubles envahissants du développement (TED) définie dans le Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM-IV). Ces troubles ont trois caractéristiques communes : altérations qualitatives des interactions sociales; altérations qualitatives des communications verbales et non verbales; intérêts ou comportements limités et répétitifs. Lorsqu'ils utilisent l'expression TSA, la plupart des professionnels font référence à la catégorie de TED qui comprend les troubles autistiques (souvent désigné par autisme), les troubles envahissants du développement non spécifiés (TED-NS) et le syndrome d'Asperger. » (Extrait de Faire la différence pour les élèves atteints de troubles du spectre autistique dans les écoles de l'Ontario : De la recherche à l'action. Rapport du Groupe de référence des Ministres en matière de troubles du spectre autistique à l'intention de la Ministre de l'Éducation et de la Ministre des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse, février 2007, p. 66.)
3. Ibid.
4. Dans ce document, le terme parents fait référence aux parents et aux tuteurs.
5. Adaptation de Faire la différence pour les élèves atteints de troubles du spectre autistique dans les écoles de l'Ontario : De la recherche à l'action. Rapport du Groupe de référence des Ministres en matière de troubles du spectre autistique à l'intention de la Ministre de l'Éducation et de la Ministre des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse, février 2007, p. 62.
6. Le personnel du conseil scolaire peut inclure entre autres la directrice ou le directeur, la directrice adjointe ou le directeur adjoint, le personnel enseignant, des orienteurs, les aides-enseignantes et aides-enseignants, les enseignantes-ressources et enseignants-ressources, les conseillères et les conseillers pédagogiques, les psycho-éducatrices et les psycho-éducateurs, le personnel des écoles provinciales ou d'application.
7. Le personnel de la communauté peut inclure entre autres, des ergothérapeutes, des physiothérapeutes, d'autres professionnels de la santé, des travailleuses et travailleurs auprès des enfants et des jeunes, des travailleuses sociales et travailleurs sociaux, des psychologues, des fournisseurs de services d'organismes communautaires appropriés et des fournisseurs de programmes concernant l'autisme.
8. L'évaluation du comportement fonctionnel est un processus systématique par lequel le personnel enseignant, les parents, les personnes qui offrent des soins et d'autres professionnels augmentent les points forts d'un élève, décrivent le comportement problématique et difficile, déterminent les facteurs environnementaux et les événements qui ont une influence problématique sur le comportement ou qui augmentent la probabilité que le comportement difficile se produise, déterminent les facteurs qui peuvent entraîner un élève à conserver un comportement difficile, et conçoivent des plans efficaces et efficients de soutien du comportement afin de réduire ou d'éliminer le comportement difficile.
9. D'autres ressources se trouvent dans la section Ressources en fin de la note de politique.