French-Language Education in Ontario

What is French-language education in Ontario?

In Ontario, four school systems are publicly funded: the French public system, the French Catholic system, the English public system and the English Catholic system.

There are twelve French-language school boards in Ontario, with more than 450 French-language schools.

In these schools the curriculum is taught exclusively in French, with the exception of English language courses. French-language schools in Ontario have a mandate to protect, enhance and transmit the French language and culture.

French-language education serves students whose parents are “French-language rights-holders", according to section 23 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Francophone students are achieving above the provincial standard in reading, writing and math.

Learn more about the requirements and options for English students studying French as a Second Language.